We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recomended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Since we only had two days in Helen, we arrived at the hotel right at check in time. We wanted to spend the afternoon hiking. We were told that are room wasn't ready and to come back in an hour. We are hotel owners ourselves so we were patient. We went and had lunch and came back. They told us it would be another hour before we could check in. so we waited. Three hours later it was 6:30pm and we still were not allowed in our room. When we started to get annoyed we were told by the desk clerk. "you don't know how hard I have it here, nobody speaks english and they don't care who waits." It turns out our room was the last one on their list and they would not clean a room for a check in first. This ruined our stay since the next day it rained and we could not go hiking. We spent half of our vacation waiting for our room to be ready. I would not recomend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank columbustap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 683 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

I didn't know what to expect. When you book a room in Helen you may not get a clean room. The check in was fast and easy with very pleasant staff.When we opened the door to our room we were very surprised.It had been totally updated and was very clean and spacious. The carpet and upholstery looked new. The bathroom fixtures and surfaces were clean and newly updated.We had a nice walk into town and Margaritas on the river had a band. We will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

If you are not careful, Helen, Georgia hotels can house some nasty surprises both in condition and pricing. The Best Western is an older facility, but has been completely redone and is in excellent condition. Location is great, being close to most of the activity. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Pricing is always a little higher during Oktoberfest, but that is to be expected. Some of the other name hotels were quite a bit more expensive and had poor ratings from Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentucky1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We traveled to Helen, Ga to experience Oktoberfest and selected the Best Western as the hotel for our small group. What a great choice!!! The service was beyond compare and the staff was extraordinarily friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs. The Group Sales manager, Carol, bent over backwards to make our trip special and even took us on a 4 hour tour of the area with stops at local attractions such as the Habersham winery, historic Nora Mills Granary, Babyland Hospital (home of cabbage patch dolls), Old Saute store and Fred's famous fried peanuts. Our rooms were well appointed, immaculate and spacious with an amazingly comfortable bed, refrigerator, microwave and even a sofa. Breakfast consisted of waffles, egg and sausage biscuits, toast, pastries, grits, oatmeal, and fruit and was well presented and constantly refreshed and cleaned throughout the time we were seated in the dining room. We were located only three blocks from the Oktoberfest Hall and downtown. Thus, relative proximity to shops, resturants, and entertainment were excellent. I will definately book this hotel again. The staff is amazing and it is an excellent value for the price!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBug157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I agree that when staying in Helen, you never know what you're going to get. Our most recent stay was for 3 nights. The Best Western was clean, and comfortable. Great pillows and bedding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast consisted of cereals, yogurt, breads, danish, waffles, sausage biscuits or croissants (all pre-packaged), juices, milk assorted teas and coffee. It was fine for a quick bite before we got busy with our day and saved us money. The pool was clean and maintained. Good for those travelling with children.
We booked another stay for Octoberfest.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denisejones716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

You never know when booking a hotel in Helen, Ga what it would be like. It was just what we needed. The rooms have been renovated with new beds & bath and was very clean. Ours had frig, Microwave and small balcony. Perfect for us. Across street from nice park on the river. Buffet was nice. Great rate. This is the 5th hotel I've stayed at in Helen and this was by far the best and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatbirdBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed here in April 2009 and the place is really nice!!! The staff was as friendly as can be and the rooms are updated, clean, and comfy!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
0.6 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#7 of 18 in Helen
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Helen

Address: 8220 S Main St, Helen, GA 30545-3649 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Subaites by Wyndham, Helen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#5 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range: $78 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alpine Helen Georgia, this hotel is walking distance to downtown Helen, Cool river tubing, the Alpine Amusement Water Park and many restaurants, Like right next to Big Daddy's Restaurant. It is 10 minutes from picturesque Anna Ruby Falls and Unicoi State Park. Short walk to the several Mini golf courses and a short drive to Innsbruck Golf Course. Each of our 65 guest rooms are non-smoking and feature a microwave, mini-refrigerator, flat-screen HDTV, free WiFi, safe, sitting area, work space, iron and ironing board, as well as a coffee/tea maker. Special guests rooms features available in select rooms include a fireplace, jetted hot tub, mountain views, and a private balcony. A 24-hour reception with a Business desk, ATM and small Snack shop is available for added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen Hotel Helen
Best Western Plus Riverpark Inn And Conference Center Alpine Helen
Best Western Helen
Helen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing