We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a disappointment....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlemagne's Kingdom - CLOSED

Charlemagne's Kingdom
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment....”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would be remiss if I didn't acknowledge the craftsmanship involved in the creation of this exhibit, but the entrance fee seems steep for what you get....the map was difficult to follow and you are basically left on your own to find your way around the exhibit. A voluntary donation may be a better approach as several people walked up and left when they saw the fee that was being charged...it is all a matter of perspective. If you are a train lover, probably worth every cent...if you are just curious about new things, probably not worth the price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    51
    17
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dothan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting if you like model trains”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The older couple is interesting to talk to and the exhibit is extensive. You really need to like model trains to appreciate the display.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DothanEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cool place”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was one of the draws to Helen, Georgia when my husband and I went to visit last weekend. It was quite cool and it was interesting . My husband is a big model train and train layout enthusist and he was really noticing the details. You can tell the owners spent a lot of time and really loved his Kingdom. It was kind of odd that there was no rhyme or reason to the layout (old buildings, UFO's, etc.). It was a nice place to visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cga70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A MUST see for any train lover!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A wonderful model railroad display of an Alpine Village in Germany handmade by the owner and his wife over a 20 year time period!! Lots of attention to details in the layout. The owner and his wife run the place and are delightful to talk with while your children play and shop in the toy store attached to the museum. Enjoy!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fun for All Ages”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

During a weekend trip to Helen, for Oktoberfest, we stopped by this nice attraction. The owner will welcome you as you walk into his Train Shop. In a friendly way, he explained his attraction and all of his trains. Very Nice ! I had mentioned that I had visited Germany, and found out I was quite close to his home town. I had told him that me and my girlfriend would like to go back to Germany and see it all from the North to the South. His clever reply was for only $5.00 per person we could do that now ! LOLOL. I recommend this especially with young ones. See if you can count how many Volkswagens you see. Try to find the Dragon. Alot to see and admire the craftsmanship. Highly recommend especially during a cold or rainy day !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnbiker4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing