We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is more than disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Valley Inn - Helen
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Reviewed August 4, 2014

August 2nd we decided to go to Helen for the night, it took us forever to find a hotel room but we did at alpine valley in which we thought looked nice on the website but once we got there we seen how bad looks can be deceiving! First off there were Cobb webs everywhere with flies in them, then we proceeded to find stains on our sheets, filthy stained carpet, a broken dresser, writing all over the doors and walls, a live cockroach in the bathroom, not to mention a huge hole in the side of the bath tub which had a glob of plaster just slapped on it ;not even covering the hole! I honestly felt like I was going to catch bed bugs, lice, or a disease if we stayed! The room had definatley not been cleaned for awhile. Needless to say we did not stay and demanded our money back but the woman refused and kept trying to give us another nasty room! I advise nobody I mean no one stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leahnicolewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had a reservation for July 4th. Turns out the reservation was fior the Alpine Village not Alpine Valley but the desk clerk was more than happy to take our money and not tell us we were at the wrong location. We had been tubing in Ellijay and were ready for a shower but when we entered the room we decided to turn on the AC, open the windows and go to dinner so the room could air out. It had a terrible odor, like burnt something.
When we came back, it still smelled but we were very tired. After looking at the bathroom we dicided NOT to use the shower. There was a microwave and mini fridge but they did not work. The light over the sink in the bathroom did not work, either.
When we pulled back the bedspread we dicided we better slkeep in our clothes. It was icky and uncomfortable. In stead of having a fun day in Helen the next day, we had to drive home to Atlanta to shower and sleep. Extremely disapointing.

Room Tip: best tip: don't get a room here, at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Checked in late this evening after tubing. Shower liner had mold on it, saw SEVERAL roaches and also fleas. Found other people's clothing in room. Checked out w/in hours! Will NEVER stay here again!!!!!! And yes, they were alive roaches!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I don't mind old furniture, and the mattresses were great! Everything just needed a good cleaning. I've never seen so much bird poo on the outside stair walls and rails. The carpet was torn and could cause someone to trip when carrying luggage up those nasty stairs. There was broken plaster or white flaky mess underneath the sink. But, the shower was clean and fine. The room was quiet, even though the motel was full. Just cleaning EVERYTHING would be a huge improvement.

Room Tip: Bring blankets to use on the beds after you remove the spreads. The spreads obviously hadn't bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoundSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

No one seems to take care of this place. The outside stairs has parts of the stair broken off in seveal places, which looks like its been that way for a while. The carpet in the room was so stained and gross looking. There was hair on our towels. The room smelt musty. Our Jacuzzi was broke, as it didn't work. The man at checkin stated it was the best room in the house! I would hate to see the other rooms!! I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. They don't care to take care of it and have let it run down.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBlackwell74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, rooms are decorated from back in the 70s. I think the same furniture is still in it from when they first opened. Literally. Cute and descent. I would stay there again. Great location, in walking distance from restaurants and the bars.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank PAIGEA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Alpine Inn is the most affordable accomodation in an otherwise over priced and over hyped community. Helen, Georgia is no Tyrolian village, but it is probably a pretty good escape for frustrated Georgian city dwellers. The Alpine's rooms were spacious, the mattresses comfortable and the breakfast, outstanding. Why would you stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.3 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#16 of 18 in Helen
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#12 of 18 in Helen
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Valley Inn - Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Valley Inn - Helen

Address: 749 Brucken Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range: $61 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Valley Inn - Helen 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Valley Inn - Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing