We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2013 Christmas vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Heidi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heidi Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Woodruff, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2013 Christmas vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice ambience, room clean and staff friendly. BUT…the rate of 59.00 for double queen room…only got that rate one of the three nights we stayed…I understand one of the nights was Christmas day but in regard to the following things listed, that doesn’t fly…the other things:

•No phone in the room
•No ice maker or snack/drink machines on property
•No frig or microwave in the room

As for the phone, I talked to management and was told to have phones in the rooms would cost $100.00/room…I find that hard to believe but that is what I was told…what if someone was having a heart attack or such in a room and a cell phone wasn’t available, run down to the desk…really?

As for the frig in the room...only if I paid extra for one less queen bed in the "Windmill".

These are regular conveniences that come with chain motels for the prices I was charged, thus In the future we will stay elsewhere when we visit Heidi.

Room Tip: Go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are working hard to make many improvements, while keeping our unique Alpine look. We strive for comfort, convenience, and friendliness. We do appreciate your business durning a very special holiday. We always have someone available to address any needs or issues you may have. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    92
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
81
170
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The room was clean and freshly painted. The bed was outrageously comfortable. The room had a nice view which was a bonus. You could leave your car and walk to town. The owners were really nice. It was also nice that it was across the street from the grocery store.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preppytrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your business and your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We paid just under $60 for an extremely clean room with a comfortable King bed, nice pillows, flat screen TV, and room smelled great, not musty like so many cheaper hotel rooms. The furnishings are sparse but that is to be expected, and Chad showed us the more expensive rooms with fireplaces and jacuzzi, they are very nice. Easy walking distance to Helen. Not on the river, but close enough. We loved the German deli/bakery that was very close, had an amazing lunch there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your business and your kind words. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went for a quick "getaway" to unwind before Christmas. Hiked during the day, quiet stay in Helen at night. The location of the Heidi Motel is great. Walking distance to everything. The grocery store is across the street and several restaurants within a 5 minute walk.

The room was exceptionally clean. The carpet appeared new. The comforter/quilt was in excellent shape and appeared new as well. The room was your basic motel style, but again ... clean!

I have over 50 nights in Marriott's this year, but had no problem staying here. The motel provided everything I could ask for and an exceptional price!! Glad I stayed local and avoided the chain hotels in Helen.

Room Tip: My only suggestion ... request a second floor room. I could hear every footstep in the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank iflyaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and in Helen. We appreciate your business and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were stayed at the Heidi Motel for one night around Christmas time. We really enjoyed the short walk it took to get everything Helen had to offer. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the pillows were quite large. Some of the downsides were how bare and basic the rooms were, pillows were too big, and how outdated the room seemed to be. We thought there were a few little things that could be added/changed to make it more aesthetically pleasing. That being said, we were not disappointed at all especially considering the price. We would stay here again without much hesitation.

Room Tip: Try to grab #23 if you are trying to have your love renewed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are working hard on many improvements that help keep our unique Alpine feel, while ensuring our guest are comfortable. We appreciate your business and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We came to Helen for a quick weekend trip. I researched the lodging options, and decided to go small, rather than stay in one of the chain motels. I'm so glad we did, for several reasons. The windmill caught my attention, and I love the authentic Alpine look of the motel. When I checked online for rates, I was shocked to find such a low rate, just a few days before Christmas. I was honestly a bit worried about the quality of the room, because it was so inexpensive, but I was pleasantly surprised by what I found when we arrived. The room is very comfortable, and extremely clean. The beds are comfortable, and there are extra pillows on both queen beds. Granted, if you're looking for "fancy", this may not be the place for you, but if you're looking for quaint, and a place with personality, you hit the jackpot. The only criticism I have is that there isn't a phone in the room, but we have cell phones, so that really wasn't a big deal. There also isn't an iron and ironing board in each room, but the owner Chad loaned me one, and told me that they are working on putting one in each room. Again, not a big deal, as there was an iron available for use. The location of the motel is great - close enough for this out-of-shape Mama and her family to walk to just about everywhere. Betty's Country Store is right across the street, and has all of the snacks and drinks you may need. The owners were very nice, obviously taking pride in making this little gem better and better. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We are a family of four, with two boys, aged 8 and 11. We stayed in a double queen room, and had ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cropnmom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your business and your kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We only spent one night but the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel owner, Chad, was great and was able to recommend a great place for both dinner and breakfast the next morning. Lovely view from the motel as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Helen. We hope to see you again soon. Have a safe and happy holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Motel

Property: Heidi Motel
Address: 8820 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2335 (Formerly Heidi Motel & Windmill Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heidi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidi motel is located in down town and is one of the most Photographed building in Helen, GA and is one of the landmarks to the town and also are currently the only Motel in this area that you can actually stay in a windmill. We do not do a Breakfast due to the fact that we are across from Bettys country store and 2 buildings down from Hoffers Bakery which we recommend to all our guest to go for a great German breakfast and lunch. We have no pool due to the fact that we are so close to the river and that there are 2 water parks in town. We are American owned and operated and live on site. We work very hard to make your stay great and really appreciate your business. Thanks Chad Jackson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Heidi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi Motel & Windmill Hotel Helen
Heidi Motel And Windmill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing