We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further!!!”
Review of Heidi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heidi Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no further!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for a basic place to stay with reasonable rates then look no further. This family owned business is quaint and convenient to down town. The rooms appear to have been recently remodeled and were very clean. The staff was friendly and eager to assist with any information or question we had concerning our visit. As far as I am concerned we have no need to look anywhere else for our future visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We take pride in making sure each of our guests have a memorable “getaway” while still being walking distance from all the unique shops and restaurants that Helen is so well known for. The Heidi Motel is independently owned and operated, not a chain motel. This is one of the reasons we pride ourselves in making sure each of our guests feels welcome! Any guest’s needs that may arise our handled in a friendly, helpful and very prompt manner. Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    92
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
82
172
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Soddy-Daisy, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in the windmill, Jacuzzi room. Room is large, very clean, and comfortable. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Great location to the town, everything in easy walking distance. Had a very nice getaway staying at the Heidi. Very nice room/motel for the $$ Will definitely be back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank You for posting your review! It’s wonderful words like these from our guests, that remind us how much our guests enjoy their time with us. We are family owned and operated, and enjoy our guests happiness almost as much as they do! We are always working on and looking into ways to help ensure each guest feel’s the same way you do. This winter we plan on doing a remodel on most of the rooms during our “off-season” so that even our “frequent flyers” will be pleasantly surprised by the changes! We aim to help and keep our guests pleased in any way we can. If we can do anything to help make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know! We look forward to your return visits, this year and the many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made reservations for a room in the windmill at Heidi Motel for Father's Day. The place was quaint and convenient to the tourist attractions. While the place was clean, it does need updating. The furnishing look like they have not been updated since the 1970s. And if you stay in the room at the top of the stairs, be careful of sitting in the "chair". The cushions sag to the ground so you'll have trouble getting out of the chair! While the A/C worked, every time it cycled on it sound like a freight train coming through the room. As a result we did not get much sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ga_flatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
“THANKS ” for posting your review! We appreciate guests letting us know when there are issues so that we can resolve them quickly. We are saddened to hear that you were not able to get a good night’s sleep while staying with us, but thanks to your comments we have made a few changes. Each bed and box-spring in any of our single bedded rooms (both Queen and King) has been replaced with brand new more comfortable ones. We have already received many positive compliments on the change, that it’s a regular conversation topic during check outs each morning. we look forward to hearing the response from those. We have had each of our AC units professionally serviced to deal with any problems or issues (including noise) recently. If during your travels you pass thru Helen again, we would love to have you stay with us and enjoy a much deserved good night’s sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location motel dated back to the 1970's been renovsted by a young couple that grew up there years ago. Very easy to work with the king suite is very nice for the money.Not as fancy ad the new motels but charming .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and thank you for your business and kind words and hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladson, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We checked in on a Saturday and stayed for 5 days..originally planned for 6 days but I received an e-mail for a job interview. The room was very clean (even all the corners in the room and bathroom--spotless). The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay even better. The room was cleaned to perfection daily. We definitely will stay here on our next trip and will certainly tell all our friends to stay here as well.

Dave and Joannie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveT712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and thank you for your business and kind words and hope to see you in the future. Good luck with the new job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've been to Helen for this VW/Audi event and stayed other places "closer to the action". This time around my SO joined me, so having a place within walking distance of the restaurants and events without having to deal with the late night shenanigans was more a priority. Owners are great and personable. Room was clean and up to date. The location is perfect. Across the street a grocery to stock the room and restaurants within a short walk. We were able to walk to the events and enjoy ourselves then return to our quiet hill top motel room. Will probably be booking a room at the Heidi for SoWo 2014.
Would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room but other than that no complaints.
Do wish I had booked the windmill suite...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and thank you for your business and kind words and hope to see you SOWO 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelzer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, but will ask for a room on the lower level next time. Getting too old to walk up the steps. (LOL) The owners are very nice and friendly. They are working to get the place updated with microwaves and other items for comfort. It's close enough to walk to town. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up the steps - I liked the windmill room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Thanks for noticing all the improvements that we are making. Thank you so much for your business and kind words and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Motel

Property: Heidi Motel
Address: 8820 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2335 (Formerly Heidi Motel & Windmill Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heidi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidi motel is located in down town and is one of the most Photographed building in Helen, GA and is one of the landmarks to the town and also are currently the only Motel in this area that you can actually stay in a windmill. We do not do a Breakfast due to the fact that we are across from Bettys country store and 2 buildings down from Hoffers Bakery which we recommend to all our guest to go for a great German breakfast and lunch. We have no pool due to the fact that we are so close to the river and that there are 2 water parks in town. We are American owned and operated and live on site. We work very hard to make your stay great and really appreciate your business. Thanks Chad Jackson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Heidi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi Motel & Windmill Hotel Helen
Heidi Motel And Windmill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing