We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just looking at it it takes your breath away..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heidi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heidi Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Rome Ga
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just looking at it it takes your breath away..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Heidi Motel is an excellent choice, starting with the location nestled atop of a hill giving the effect of being in a mountain retreat in Germany.Being on the side of a hill the traffic noise level is very low, with the National Forest behind it lets you get back to nature enjoy seeing wildlife of all types. The rooms have all been recently remodeled new carpet, paint, and decor. They are very clean and spacious. The staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable easy to talk to and they have compassion for the guest. It is owner operated, the young couple are great seems to always have a genuine smile on their face.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms allow a better view of the beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlmatrix69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We do our best to not have that Hotel/Motel feel but more of the family operated German B&b feel and are working on getting a full breakfast from one of the local resturants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    92
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
81
170
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Heidi Motel was a terrific. The room smelled so fresh and clean, really a pleasant surrpise as most hotels smell musty. It was newly remodeled and very clean. They even wash the comforters after every guest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The motel is located within walking distance of the shops and restaraunts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We do our best to have clean bedding and rooms because i wouldnt want my family or freinds staying in a place that was dirty. Sorry it took so long washing your bedding, we were down 2 dryers and got behind. Thank you for your bussiness and kind words and hope to see you all in the future. We have and still in the process of decorating each room so that each room has its own German feel and cannot wait to share them with you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked a room with a jacuzzi and called the day ahead to confirm our reservations. When we got there, they didn't have any rooms with jacuzzi that worked so demoted us to a regular room. Very disappointing since that is the main thing we requested. They also made everyone pay with cash only which is very suspicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are very sorry you had this experience at our motel. We work very hard to satisfy everyone during their stay. If we had your contact number we could have advised you in advance. We have now made it a requirement of our staff to ensure that a contact phone number is taken for all rentals.
We reserve the right to change rental assignments without prior notice or liability in the event that a particular motel room becomes unavailable, particularly when it is beyond our control, as was the case this time. When comparable accommodations are not available, the renter will have the option of selecting from available motel rooms at the published rate or receiving a complete refund. Rooms may be paid for with a VISA, Master Card or Travelers Check. WHEN USING CASH WE REQUIRE A VALID CREDIT CARD ON FILE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The fact that the Heidi Motel is right in the center of town makes it easy to walk anywhere you need to go. The room we stayed in had been remodeled and was nice and clean. The mattress wasn't the greatest quality, but was comfortable and not too wore out. With a combination of the location, price, and cleanliness this place offers a value that can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thatguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We cannot wait to share all the new changes we have done to the property and rooms to give it a more German feel and we want to thank you for your bussiness. I am sorry the mattress was not to your liking, we are in the process of looking into better ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed many times in Helen but have really not been particularly pleased with the lodging choices whether trying chains or B&Bs. This time we were surprised and delighted with the Heidi Motel. Although an older property, it was one of the cleanest and most comfortable places we have stayed at in a tourist town noted for high prices and questionable rooms. Chad and his wife are a young couple who have really worked on providing a good affordable package - the standard room we had was spotless, the carpet new and fresh, the bed comfortable, the flat screen TV super and best of all, even with a lot of traffic in town - quiet. We will always choose this location whenever we are back to Helen.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way - we always like end rooms but didn't really seem to matter since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PITennisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We do our best to have a clean affordable room for our guest and with your help we hope to continue to do so. Thank you for you business and kind words and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is like home away from home. Tucked away on the hillside gives a great view of the city. Great location to walk to stores for personal items, groceries, and dinning and downtown Helen. Tucked away on the hill gives you the privacy that feels like a getaway but yet activity is just a walk down the hill. The rooms are cozy and modern. The hospitality made my stay memorable. I can't wait to return to Helen to stay at such a comfy place that feels like home.

Room Tip: I like the upper floor or the Lighthouse for a better view. You can see the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. It is our goal to have clean comfortable room with great service. It has been a blessing that we get to meet good people like you., like its says on our web site come a stanger leave a friend that is our goal for you to leave and tell people that you have a friend in Helen, GA that ownes a motel. Thank you for your business and kind words and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for our first time. The rates were great, rooms were clean and spacious. The view was nice from the swing located on the property. Our stay was quite and the service was great. The owners were so friendly our whole stay. We were able to see the honeymoon suite and we will be staying in that next time we visit. I also like the fact that it is family and locally owned. You can walk to Helen from the hotel. I will tell my family and friends about this hotel and advise them to stay there. I am so glad that this family decided to reopen this hotel. They have done a great job with the remodeling. We live close and helen is our little place to get away for a weekend trip and Heidi Motel is our home away from home now. Try it for yourself.

Room Tip: I would stay in any of the rooms that they have. We were on the second floor just as you came up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaBubblegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks you for taking the time to send in this review. My family and I are glad we got to meet you and your family and are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting your freinds and family know about us and thank you for your bussiness and kind words and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Motel

Property: Heidi Motel
Address: 8820 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2335 (Formerly Heidi Motel & Windmill Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heidi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidi motel is located in down town and is one of the most Photographed building in Helen, GA and is one of the landmarks to the town and also are currently the only Motel in this area that you can actually stay in a windmill. We do not do a Breakfast due to the fact that we are across from Bettys country store and 2 buildings down from Hoffers Bakery which we recommend to all our guest to go for a great German breakfast and lunch. We have no pool due to the fact that we are so close to the river and that there are 2 water parks in town. We are American owned and operated and live on site. We work very hard to make your stay great and really appreciate your business. Thanks Chad Jackson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Heidi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi Motel & Windmill Hotel Helen
Heidi Motel And Windmill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing