We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ice Cream and Great Gifts”

Homemade Ice Cream, Gifts & More
Ranked #4 of 6 Dessert in Helen
Description: phone: 404-771-5409
Restaurant details
Description: phone: 404-771-5409
Thomson, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream and Great Gifts”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really good Ice Cream and a cute place to shop for that someone you just aren't sure what to get. it is located right in the heart of all the shops and restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Locals Love it too”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We work close by and I love their ice-cream. We stop in at least once a week and try the different flavors. Im partial to Snickers and when the chocolate gets first made, Tim, my boss, loves the mint chocolate chip. Its all good though. And prices are too bad either!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat2008PC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“In one Word, "Yummy"”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A perfect treat after dinner while strolling Main Street of Helen Georgia. We tried several flavors and chose the Wanut ice cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brrliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hard to Get”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited Helen during the offseason (JAN 13) and had repeatedly attempted to visit this store during our visit. We were excited about the great reviews, but everytime we visited, during normal operating hours, it was always closed. When we finally caught the employees in, the ice cream didn't match our expectations or the difficultly of getting some.

The local bunnies were great to see and I had to literally pull my children out of the area. I would recommend visiting this store for a quick break and ice cream for families with small children.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesanderson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathy l, Owner at Homemade Ice Cream, Gifts & More, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
So sorry for the inconvenience and hope you give us a chance to redeem ourselves. We were in the process of building out, and moving to, our new location at 8635 N. Main St. Helen, GA 30545 when you were attempting to visit us. We figured the winter was the best time to move an ice cream store, and we actually opened the new location March 1, 2013.

Unfortunately, because ice cream is a volume business, the winter does not bring as many visitors to Helen, and we are only open on weekends, from January through March.

We are open during the week now, but hours vary depending on weather and crowd. We have an employee in at 1 pm weekdays, and my son and I are in on Saturdays noon til at least 8, and Sundays noon til 6. We try our best to accomodate everyone, we have to work cost effectively.

Again, we hope you give us a another chance. Thanks, Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graniteville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy Ice Cream, and Bunnies!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My fiancee and I stumbled upon this cute place while walking around Helen. Gave it a shot. Very good, very homemade ice cream. Ate outside and noticed a yard full of cute bunnies right outside! Enchanting little hidden spot. Don't miss it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homemade Ice Cream, Gifts & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing