We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Helen B&B and Inns
Hanahan, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The first room we got smelled so bad of smoke and mildew my sinus' ached. The bathroom door would not open and the door to the patio was also stuck. One of the pillows on the bed was so flat it appeared missing. The second room they "tried " to put us in smelled worse then the first.
The only positive thing I can say is that they did cancel our reservations with no charge. Had they not cancelled them, I was prepared to vomit on the reception desk where the guy was busy killing ants with his fingers! Best thing that could happen to this place is that it be torn down!

Room Tip: The Hampton Inn right around the corner was only slightly more but 100 million times nicer. It had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onesuperb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    14
    5
    59
See reviews for
22
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We waited almost an hour for our food. The server was great and kept apologizing. The food was mediocre and all five of us ended up sick and it was the only meal we had had together all weekend so we know EXACTLY what made us sick that night!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonquil2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We did t stay here, but stopped in for dinner. The service is friendly if a little chaotic, but the food is really delicious. Not many beers to choose from, but what we had was great and fresh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaysChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

This place is so rotten we should have turned around and walked out upon our arrival. When we first arrived we walked into the office which STUNK of smoke. We walked into our room and the smell of something was disgusting. The carpet was dank, the bathroom tub was stained with something and the door to the bathroom looked as though rats had knawed at it. I regret not walking out and throwing the key into the river. My child and I ended up with the stomach flu after staying here, coincidence? I think not. This place needs to be torn down and turned into a cheap parking lot. FIRST CLASS DIVE.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cs1186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

A motel..in the 'best' sense. Wanted a small, motel experience to stay at over Thanksgiving while visiting family who where camping. I think camping would have been a comparable experience but it is what you pay for.

Got a room on the river with a nice swing outside overlooking the water. It was what we needed. Nothing more and nothing less. Chose the place because they took small dogs. The room was old, rundown, and in need of capital improvements. Very 70's look. Bathroom was the worst of the room. But workable. Just needs some maintenance. Price was okay. They worked with me and made it tolerable for the time of year and the quality.

Location is okay. Its on the edge of the mainstreet town. So you have to walk a few blocks to the shops, restaurants, etc.

The motel restaurant was a hoot. Very 'german' style pub with a chain smoking bartendress. Very funny. At least the beer was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This place is very old and rundown. Mold in the bathroom. Bathroom tile coming up. Paint peeling off the wall. The smell was unbelievable. Insectacide smell was so strong that I was convinced that no bugs could survive. We were worried about ourselves surviving. The smell in the bathroom was even stronger. I'm not sure what it was, but I think it was disinfectant. The smell was so bad that using the facility actually improved the odor. I paid almost $150.00 dollars for one night. They should have paid me to stay there. It is the worst hotel/motel that I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the chains. There is a Ramada, a Quality Inn, and a Hampton Inn in Helen. Go with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwspray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were looking for a cheap, clean place to stay, and that's we got. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom was fully stocked with towels, soap etc. Walls are a bit thin though. We went for breakfast somewhere else since the "Continental Breakfast" was a box of Corn Flakes and Danish.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DBJHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 19 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#11 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel

Property: Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel
Address: 8949 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2325
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofbrau Riverfront Hotel And International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing