We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Trip to Helen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Family Trip to Helen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have been to Helen many times, and recently we have begun staying at Riverbend Cabins with our family. The accommodations are really convenient to downtown Helen. The location on the river makes a great play space for us. The grandkids had the "best ever" time playing in the river.
The manager was very accommodating to any of our needs.
We recommend it to anyone, and we will be returning ourselves.

Room Tip: We like the cabins on the river for our large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    292
    61
    56
    66
See reviews for
336
707
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The cabin was exactly as the photos on their site. Friendly staff, manager was very helpful and nice. Cabin was clean, and everything worked. Great river view from the deck. Walking distance to the main downtown shopping and dining area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavonia, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Riverbend last week and loved every minute. Mark, the owner, goes out of his way to make sure that you are taken care of in every way. Love the new changes he is making. He has excellent taste. This was our 44th Anniversary and what a beautiful peaceful place to spend it. We could have stayed longer if time would allow. The sound of the river lulls you to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were very excited about our stay especially about reading the wonderful reviews. Our room must still be in the remodeling process. Some of the boards were not put down properly so they moved when you walked. Trim was also missing around the base board which looked nasty. The bed was comfortable but the sheets would not stay on. At check out we were charged more than the booking rate. When I ask about the difference I was told it was taxed. Upon review of my online receipt we had already been charged tax. If this place is #1 for Helen I would really hate to see the ones at the bottom of the list.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

And Riverbend is no exception. My wife asked for a military discount since I am retired military, and the owner showed her an even cheaper way to go. Now that's service. The building is old, and does need some work, but it appears they are working to fix things. The owner is real receptive to criticism, using it to plan where he needs to invest next. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean, and the location is perfect.

I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Very pleasant accommodations right on the river. The owner/host was most gracious and helpful. He is updating everything and his choices are great. My bed was so comfy and clean. Riverbend is close to everything - in walking distance to the center of town. We had a great time just sitting by the river before dinner.

Room Tip: only saw two rooms but they were both clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at Riverbend Motel. It was conveniently located in the heart of Helen with a lovely view of the river. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly-- the owner told us to leave our car in the motel parking lot even after we had checked out so that we wouldn't have to pay anywhere else to park. He was very kind and showed a desire to make our stay the best possible! We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Helen during our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cloham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.2 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Property: Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Address: 134 River St, Helen, GA 30545-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#2 Business Hotel in Helen
#2 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverbend Motel & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently downtown. Flat screen TV, PILLOWTOP king OR 2 queen size beds. Each room has a micro/frig, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, HBO and wireless internet. Located on the Chattahoochee River. Picnic tables, BBQ grills. Free local calls. Our beautiful cabins sit along the Chattahoochee River. Each cabin has a cozy loft bedroom, full kitchen and living room equipped with a fireplace, BIG FLAT SCREEN TV & HBO. Some cabins are equipped with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riverbend Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Motel And Cabins
Riverbend Motel & Cabins Hotel Helen
Chalet Kristy Helen
Chalet Kristy Hotel Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing