We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“my 50 birthday getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my 50 birthday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

me (terri) and my friend kim went to helen for my 50 birthday getaway. we had a blast. the riverbend is a great place to stay. it is so close to all the shops. we walk everywhere and feel safe doing it. the rooms are so comfortable. i love the beds. mark the owner is always so friendly and helpful to make sure we have a enjoyable stay. we stay at the riverbend every time we go to helen. i wouldnt stay anywhere else. it is on the river and has swings to relax in listening to the sound of the river, i cant wait to go back in may.

Room Tip: close to the sound of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for returning to the River bend Motel for your 50th birthday! We’re delighted you chose to celebrate your special day with us and appreciate your comments about Helen's best kept secret! I hope that we’ll have the pleasure of having you as our guests again soon
Thank you Mark Merchant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    283
    55
    51
    60
See reviews for
328
689
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just returned from Helen,Ga. Our stay was great. Riverbend is a wonderful motel where the staff is very friendly and was there to meet all our needs. Had a beautiful river view.and great trout fishing. The rooms were very nice and clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We slept like babies. This will be the only place we stay when we return to Helen. Absolutely loved it. I would recommend the Riverbend to anyone looking for a great family atmosphere and peaceful and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the tremendous review of our facility, you have brought to light some of the many features we love about riverbend, and why the RIVERBEND is such a special place to stay, we look forward to providing you with many positive experoences in the coming years Once again Thank you (General Manager Mark M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my wife soon will be making a trip to Helen. There are several people I have talked that stayed with ya' ll. everyone has really praised your place and told me how friendly and helpful management was to make their stay wonderful. One of the person is my sister in law Kim Stargell. I know she has good taste and she really praises Riverbend. When we decide to come I definitely will be making reservations with you.!!! Kenny McElroy, Greenwood,SC

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the excellent review! It really means a lot to hear from our guests and we appreciate it even more when those great experiences are shared with the rest of the world! I hope that we’ll have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon. Thank you
General Manager Mark Merchant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just spent the best 2 night you can spend at any motel. Riverbend is great for anyone who want to get away for any occassion. Convenient location on the river,very clean. It the best place for trout fishing and if you need a good night rest, the beds are the best. Great place for the entire family.I highly recommend Riverbend Motel. It was exactly as advertised. Mark you are the greatest host.

Alonza and Anne Johnson
We will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
It’s always great to hear from our guests! Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed account of your stay with us and fellow travelers. Your praise and feedback have been shared with the rest of our team and plans are to make sure every guest is happy staying with us. I hope that we’ll have the pleasure to have back soon. Mark Merchant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

For an inexpensive weekend retreat I chose to take my girlfriend to the quaint township of Helen Ga. After days of researching cabins, hotels, and b&b's I decided to play it by ear. After arriving I remebered looking at Riverbend hotel online. We saw the vacancy sign from main st and decided to give it a shot. The women at the desk welcomed us like regulars and was extremely polite and curtious. The rate was extremely fair for the accomadations , and being by the river is a def bonus! Its an older hotel, so know that going in, but you will not regret it at all!! The bed was awsome... not the usal back pain i suffer this morning. Im by the river right now as i write this. I have nothing but possitive thoughts on riverbend motel and will def stay here again!!!Also, you can walk to everything in helen in a flash!!

Helpful?
Thank youngcat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
charleston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights in april for some rest and some trout fishing.
1st time at riverbend and was not disappointed, got a good deal on tripadvisor.
clean and close to downtown
Mark at the office is great and very helpful
The fishing is right out the door some good holes real close
Would not stay anywhere else in Helen again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the River bend motel and cabins and for taking the time to write a great review! I hope to do more better and make your stay is 100% satisfaction while you are here at river bend and we’ll have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon. Mark Merchant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I had reservations (due to the glowing reviews) but did not stay because we both use walkers and cannot navigate stairs. I had neglected to assure the rooms were ground level. We were very impressed with the motel however. It was exactly as advertised. It is on the river and we could see decks overlooking the water. It is a beautiful and peaceful place, very close to the center of Helen. The parking lot was almost full of guest vehicles; surprising since this was a off-season weekday. Mark, the General Manager, was very understanding and gracious. He came to our car, cancelled our reservation without penalty and found us a very nice room at the Quality Inn. I recommend this motel highly. No one could be treated better than we were.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaDon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
It's always great to hear from our guests, your praise and feedback have been shared with the rest of our team, Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write this review. I hope that we'll have the pleasure to serve you soon in future.General Manager Mark M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
0.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 20 in Helen
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 20 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#8 of 20 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 20 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Property: Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Address: 134 River St, Helen, GA 30545-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#2 Business Hotel in Helen
#2 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverbend Motel & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently downtown. Flat screen TV, PILLOWTOP king OR 2 queen size beds. Each room has a micro/frig, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, HBO and wireless internet. Located on the Chattahoochee River. Picnic tables, BBQ grills. Free local calls. Our beautiful cabins sit along the Chattahoochee River. Each cabin has a cozy loft bedroom, full kitchen and living room equipped with a fireplace, BIG FLAT SCREEN TV & HBO. Some cabins are equipped with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riverbend Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Motel And Cabins
Riverbend Motel & Cabins Hotel Helen
Chalet Kristy Helen
Chalet Kristy Hotel Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing