We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Tennessee
1 review
“great place to stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Helen Ga, We stayed at the River Bend Motel were the stay was great. The owner was very helpful with resturants to eat at very concerned about our stay and comfort while at his motel. The rooms are clean the beds are very comfortable the staff is friendly and was always ready to help with any thing we needed. The location is the best in Helen walking distant to everything,next to river very relaxing atomsphere. Would recommend this place to friends and family and would stay again if I go back to Helen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503robertw503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel, we constantly strive to give each guest the best possible experience we can, and appreciate when we get feedback such as yours, I hope you had a wonderful time in helen and hope to see you soon.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    293
    61
    57
    67
See reviews for
337
709
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were at the River Bend Motel from 3/27/13-3/29/13 and it was great. The room was very clean and had everything you could need, including a mini-fridge and microwave. Mark, the owner, was very helpful with restaurants and things to do. They are dog friendly, (with a normal pet fee) and we will bring ours next time we go there.
Kevin Smith

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel, We contantly strive to provide a beautiful experience to every guest who walks through the door and thanks to people like yourselves who take the time to review our hotel, I hope that we'll have pleasure to serve you soon again in future. Thank you General Manager (Mark.M)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I have been visiting the beautiful little town of Helen for the past 5-6 years. We visit at least 4-5 times a year. We have always stayed at Riverbend Motel (used to be Chalet Kristy ) We have no reason to stay anywhere else, when we already know this hotel is the best.
Mark (owner) has always been friendly and makes sure that everything is just right for your vacation, not like the other motels where you never see a owner or a manager, along with the rest of the staff, always making sure that you are happy and comfortable. The rooms are always very very clean and the beds are very very comfortable.This quaint motel is sitting right on the river complete with swings to sit and drink your favorite beverage while listening to the river flow :))) The Riverbend is just a short walking distance to almost everything that Helen has to offer. We will never stay anywhere else and I can guarantee if you stay here one time then you will have no reason to stay at any other hotel in Helen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessmanagerAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the tremendous review of our facility, you have brought to light some of the many features we love about riverbend, and GUEST like you and many others makes RIVERBEND such a special place to stay, we look forward to providing you with many positive experIences in the coming years Once again Thank you GOD BLESS AMERICA (General Manager) Mark M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the River Bend Motel in Helen in mid March. We had a great expereince. The managers were very accomidateing and called an hour or so after check in toe make sure we where happy. When I mentioned that my wife walks with a cane and that I did not want the 2nd floor room he gave us a room close to the pesedtrian ramp and even gave me a specil area to park so she did not have to walk to far. The rooms are older but are in great shape and obvioucley cared for and cleaned. We could not find find any problems. The properety is righ on the river where it bends to head into Helen. It is far enough away that it would be quiet but close enogh to walk to town. The manager had a number of food recommendations and was spot on with each. In the summer with the tubing and river right there it must been real nice. I can imagine that Helen will get real busy and crowded on spring, summer and fall weekends. We would highly reccomend this hotel and staff. great work!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello,
It's always great to hear from our guest, your praise and feedback have been shared with rest of the team, thank you so much for taking your valueble time to write this review
I hope that we'll have the pleasure to serve you soon in future (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Always stay at this hotel when visiting Helen and stay in last couple weeks was no exception. Location cannot be beat, right on river and walking distance to entire Helen proper. The owner, Mark, is always friendly and very accommodating to any guest needs. Have stayed here for Oktoberfest for last 11-12 years and being able to walk everywhere and not have to fight traffic in vehicle is awesome. No reason to consider anywhere else.

Terry B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBrig64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello TBrigg64, I would like to thank you for posting such a touching comments regarding your stay at riverbend,and I am so pleased by your pleasant recommendation of our property, It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you in future stay.Thank you General Manager (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I would highly recommend travelers to stay at the Riverbend. It is right on the water, close enough to walk to just about anywhere, and you will never find anyone more accommodating than Mark and his wife. They are lovely, caring, generous to a fault, and provide a free breakfast as well. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and everything you could want for a stay is provided in your room. You really only need a toothbrush and a change of clothing.

On a personal note, I asked Mark if there was a DVD that I could rent. He said no, but offered to move me to a room that had one built into the TV. I thought that was nice, but said no thanks. Mark went out and purchased a DVD player and installed it so that my girls could watch DVD's they brought from home. (Generous to a fault.) I don't know of any other hotel in the country who would do that.

Oh, and one more thing, it has the lowest price in town. Trust me. Trust the Riverbend. We have enjoyed our stays about 8 times now. In a would that is low on courtesy and service, they know what courtesy and service is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Daine.R,I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time share your positive experience with us, your comments are apprecite I hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,General Manager (Mark)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our first stay won't be our last! Mark did everything an owner could be expected to do -- then exceeded that!! Our room was so nice that I thought it was newly remodeled. It wasn't. It is just that well maintained. The bed covers are sent out to be cleaned and pressed between guests. Our room was cleaned each day. And the beds! My husband had had back surgery -- 5, in fact -- and slept all night for the first time in years. Anyone who reports a bad experience here either did not ask for assistance or just can't be pleased. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyndi_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at Riverbend Motel & Cabins, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Wow,Miss Nelson.Thanks so much for the great review. This is what it's about us;I am glad that you stay with us and enjoyed our comfortable beds,I appreciate your business and your assessment.come again soon to see new changes in the rooms coming soon.
Thank you General Manager (Mark.M)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.2 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Property: Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Address: 134 River St, Helen, GA 30545-3118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#2 Family Hotel in Helen
#2 Business Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverbend Motel & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently downtown. Flat screen TV, PILLOWTOP king OR 2 queen size beds. Each room has a micro/frig, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, HBO and wireless internet. Located on the Chattahoochee River. Picnic tables, BBQ grills. Free local calls. Our beautiful cabins sit along the Chattahoochee River. Each cabin has a cozy loft bedroom, full kitchen and living room equipped with a fireplace, BIG FLAT SCREEN TV & HBO. Some cabins are equipped with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Riverbend Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Motel And Cabins
Riverbend Motel & Cabins Hotel Helen
Chalet Kristy Helen
Chalet Kristy Hotel Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing