We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wine, nice shop.”

Habersham Vineyards & Winery
Ranked #7 of 37 things to do in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Habersham Winery has been producing award winning Georgia wines since 1983 and is one of Georgia's oldest and largest wineries.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wine, nice shop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

While sweet wines are not my thing, and many of their wines were on the sweeter side, I did discover their Creekstone line of wines which are aged i oak. I was particularly pleased by the Creekstone American Reserve Chardonnay, and the Creekstone Caberet Sauvignon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    87
    36
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Adorable gift shop and winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed tasting the wines here and chatting with the friendly staff. They have tastes of wine plus some nibbles. The gift shop carries fun, funny, useful gifts. Definitely worth a visit! Drop by the antiques shop which shares a parking lot with htem.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 82Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Manager at Habersham Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so glad your enjoyed your visit! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No hospitality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Walked into the "winery" which is really a tchotchke shop with a random bar in the middle. No one said anything to us when we walked in. We basically had to say um hi we are we are here for a wine tasting? You do not get the glass after you sample. Half the wine on the tasting are not made by them which were the only good ones on the menu. Bar tenders/employees were not helpful or friendly at all. They just sort of poured and walked away. Only reason I didn't give this a terrible review is cause they had the best crackers/cookies for palate cleansing

Helpful?
1 Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Manager at Habersham Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are disappointed to hear that we did meet your expectations. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you! I would like to invite you for a Private Behind the Scenes Tour and Tasting to let you experience the real Habersham Winery. We have been in business for 30 years, are one of the largest and oldest wineries in Georgia, and make all of the wines on our wine list. We have 3 lines of wine available on our wine list: Habersham Estate, Creekstone and Southern Harvest. Perhaps that was the confusion about it not being our wine. All of these wines are made in our winery by our UC Davis trained winemaker. All of the grapes are Georgia grown grapes with the majority being grown in our own vineyards. Because we do have a large facility, we are able to have an extensive gift shop where we sell a variety of wine related items as well as home décor and gifts. We are well known for our true Southern Hospitality which I regret you did not experience on your visit. Please take me up on my offer of a tour and tasting and give me the chance to share our gracious hospitality and award winning wines with you. I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Wine Tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff at Habersham Winery were extremely nice and friendly. They offer very good sized samples of four wines of your choice at no charge. They provide little crackers to cleanse your pallet between different wines. The best part is that after you've found the wine that you like best-you can purchase a bottle which they will open, and can drink it on the patio. This was a God send for the men in our group, as the women shopped for antiques next door while the guys polished off a pretty good bottle of red. After we left here we tried the Sautee Winery down the road-and our experience was the exact opposite of Habersham. They charge for a miniscule taste and were extremely snotty to boot. Stay away from Sautee Winery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Manager at Habersham Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Southern charm yet sophisticated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great trip to the Habersham winery! Nice drive, courteous staff, wonderful assortment at the wine tasting. Lots of home decor items that are unique, from elegant to simply southern. Enjoyed the day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mytripz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Manager at Habersham Vineyards & Winery, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your visit! We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habersham Vineyards & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Habersham Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing