We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful mountain setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful mountain setting!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly staff.
Hiking trails, both long and short, leave directly from the parking area, one even going to downtown Helen, GA
Anna Ruby Falls is only about a 3 mile drive from the Lodge--don't miss is!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGAT1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    169
    125
    65
    32
See reviews for
228
125
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great quiet place for a get away. The rooms are clean & simple and the breakfast buffet is very good. If you are looking for night life this is not the place. Go to Unicoi for peace and quiet. There are numerous attractions nearby and downtown Helen is within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skifuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The area around the lodge is beautiful and it is peaceful outside. The room itself was okay except we were put in the last room on the first floor and heard everyone come in and out all day and night. There was some kind of loud mechanical sound going off every hour day and night also. The shower stayed on while the tub ran which did not set well with my wife.

The room is comfortable enough but we would have loved a queen size bed instead of double beds which would have provided more room. We will look at a cottage / cabin next time. The staff was very nice and we would stay again with a groupon or some other discount.

Room Tip: Nothing near the entrance / exit door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My fiance and I are total nature buffs. We recently took a roadtrip from Ohio to Florida and made a day long stop in Helen to enjoy Unicoi State Park and spend the night in the lodge there. We arrived, and had used groupon to purchase the room. The room was just okay and if you're planning on finding any restraunts within a 10 mile radius that isn't totally turkish, german, or overpriced...good luck. After eating, we decided to go take pictures and hike around the water fall, Ruby Falls. It's a three dollar per person fee..which isn't a big deal. But when you go to the lift gate to pay- no one was working. We went to the visitor center to pay someone there..no one was there. We called back to lodge who recommended we check out the falls and the host literally said "Huh..well usually if they decide to leave early they tell us but I guess not today. I don't know what to tell you." Unprofessional. SOOO- we decide to go relax back at the hotel. Hard beds, and the smallest tv I've ever seen at a hotel. Luckily they have a game room...which consists of one ping pong table..which was taken by a family of 4. Two at the ping pong table..the other two playing on the floor at a coffee table. They do however offer broken board games if you ask for them at the front desk (jenga and checkers with missing pieces). We finally checked out the next morning and was charged 9.95 just to park in the parking lot there. Don't waste your time at Unicoi. It was a joke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had a Living Social deal for Unicoi Lodge in Unicoi State Park near the 'alpine' village of Helen, Georgia. A short drive from Atlanta leads to a gorgeous rural and mountain setting. The lodge nestled in the large state park is welcoming and homey. My double bed room had a nice seating area with two comfy chairs and a table near a large window onlooking a heavily wooded area so lots of privacy and opportunity to watch birds and squirrels. There was a chest with drawers for longer stays and an adequate work table. Though I didn't use it, WiFi is available. The bathroom was large enough for my needs and had a hair dryer. The room had an iron and board, in room coffee maker and large open closet area for luggage and hanging clothes. I was in Building A and it was small enough to seem cozy but had breezeways connecting A to the rest of the buildings. A large stone gas fireplace (fires are lit October through April 1st) with plush seating, table with chairs and large TV were in the area just outside my room. This would be great for large family reunions or groups traveling together. Ice and vending was just down the hall with recycling for cans. A large balcony at the back of the building is just off the common area complete with massive rustic adirondack chairs and a table. Had the weather been warmer, I would have spent a great deal of time on this balcony even in the evening to listen to the frogs chirping in the trees. The lodge has lots of large windows so guests can look out at nature. The plaza in the center of the lodge buildings has numerous gliders, chairs and benches, all providing a view of the surrounding mountains. Parking from our building was a short and easy walk but there is a loading zone with 15 minute covered parking adjacent to the building. Numerous trails surround the lodge and Federal park, Anna Ruby Falls, is contained within Unicoi though it requires a separate admission fee. It's well worth the fee and the 0.4 mile slightly elevated hike up the path to see the falls - quite beautiful. Unicoi Park itself is a favorite destination for my family and has camping and picnic facilities along with bathrooms in several locations. Only one mile away is the alpine village of Helen. While many of the shops in Helen are seasonal, many were open early and the village can be easily explored in an hour or two. There is a Dutch owned import shop with many Dutch items in the center of town and several other interesting shops containing hand made and imported items. You can walk to all shops and restaurants though parking ($3 - $5 at most lots) is charged within in the city. A mile out of Helen in the other direction is Nacoochee Valley and Sautee Village. Habersham Wineries is here with a large assortment of locally produced wine and wine tasting. A great antique shop is also there in a beautiful old historic house. Just across the street on the river is an original grist mill, Nora Mills, which offers a great selection of on site ground meal, grits, oats and porridge along with a wide assortment of locally produced relishes, jams and honey. A new coffee roaster is just beside the mill with a large assortment of coffee. Zipline tours, horseback riding, hiking and mini golf are all available. And beginning September through end of October, Helen hosts Octoberfest complete with polka bands, leiderhosen clad musicians, traditional German dance, lots of schnitzel and beer. A short drive out of Helen leads to other small North Georgia mountain towns and it's only a couple of hours to Cherokee North Carolina and Harrah's Casino. I've visited both Helen and Unicoi State Park many times, but because Unicoi Lodge usually sells out during leaf season, I have never had a chance to visit there. With a friendly and helpful staff, well maintained and clean accommodations, a cozy, family feel of the lodge and being surrounded by nature, I will definitely return. Awesome destination for a quick weekend getaway to recharge internal batteries and get back to basics. The lodge is equally suited to families, large family gatherings, couples looking for a romantic escape, friends or even for the solo traveler. Business travelers can also benefit as the conference center has many business related, as well as cultural, amenities. And staying here at the lodge helps support our great natural resources, our treasured state parks.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 2 in A lodge - easy access to several exterior doors, communal area with fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexcyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here in-between North GA hikes. I should preface the rest of this review by noting that we used a $39 Living Social deal; if we'd paid more, we would have been unhappy. As it was, we felt we got a decent room.

From check-in to check-out, the staff were unfailingly nice. We had a nice view, and though the beds were small, the one we slept in was pretty comfortable. As others have mentioned, the heater was loud, but it managed to keep the room at a reasonable temperature without constantly running. The bathroom left something to be desired: the door wouldn't open all the way because of some major unevenness in the floor, and the tub and sink were a little grimy (nothing terrible).

I can't speak to the food, because we're vegetarians and were skeptical about the offerings there. We ate elsewhere.

The location is the main benefit of this lodge. If you like Helen, the shops and restaurants in town aren't that far away. If you like hiking, particularly some more remote trails you might not ordinarily make time for in a day (or weekend) trip from Atlanta, there are some great trails nearby. The Unicoi Lodge is nothing fancy, but it's a perfectly nice place to sleep between hikes, leaf-peeping, or sight-seeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was very impressed, being it is a state park. The room was nice and clean. It had two sinks...one in the bathroom and one just outside of the bathroom which was great if someone is using the bathroom and you need the sink. You don't see THAT in many hotels. The lodge is just beautiful inside with 3 floors. We had the breakfast buffet which was delicious, with plenty of choices. Everyone was friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.9 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.9 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Property: Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545-2326
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing