We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed one night at the lodge. It is kind of old and worn, but felt comfortable. Upon arrival, the room smelled a little musty or something, so we opened the windows, aired it out and it was fine. We decided to eat at the restaurant on the property. It was a buffet and was great. The fried shrimp and roast beef were just right. Folks were friendly and helpful. All in all, it is dated and the outside areas need repair, but it was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweetyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 595 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

The property needs to be refurbished. The rooms were clean and the beds were OK, but the room A/C heat pump was so noisy that it had to be turned off during the night; and as a result, the room got very cold. The doors to the hallway were peeling their paint, and the carpets in the conference center meeting rooms were threadbare and frayed. For the price of the room, it is not a good bargain.

The lodge restaurant used to be a very good southern country buffet. The one night I ate there the food was overcooked and dry. Definitely many steps down hill from what it used to be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DUTCH_Van_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is my first trip to helen, & we are staying in the honeymoon retreat cabin at unicoi state park. It is only a couple miles from downtown helen, but at the same time the cabin is very secluded and private. Nice front porch, big king bed, full kitchen, jacuzzi spa next to the bed. There is a wood burning stove here & they center put some pieces of firewood outside if you want to have a fire. Very cute, clean, comfortable, affordable cabin. Would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: The honeymoon retreat cabin is super nice! I highly recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigereyes3047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the park lodge this past weekend during our mountain fall trip our way to Asheville, NC. True, it isn't fancy . . . but for the price, who cares? It was clean and tidy. The rooms had basically just the basics . . . beds, shower, sink, climate control. BUT, unlike some rustic mountain retreats, it did have a TV with cable! Also, we did eat at the buffet. Again, not fancy but reasonably priced. The catch of the day - Georgia mountain trout - was fresh and delicious (though, in fairness, I must say it was served with the head on. Yikes.) All in all, as a Georgia resident, I was impressed and appreciative that my state tax dollars are wisely spent here to make our stay affordable. We are excited to return after the upgrades is completed next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank augustabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our family rented a barrel cabin this weekend. The cabin was not fancy but was efficient and made great use of the space of the rental. The only negative aspect was the cabins were unable to be drove to. You must walk down steps to the cabins. This is very inconvient when carrying items for a family weekend. This would not be handicap accessible or small child friendly. The hiking trails were well maintained. The lodge staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed kayaking on Lake Unicoi. Restful and very convienent to Helen, GA.

Room Tip: If renting the barrel cabins-choose the lower numbers (Ex. A or B 1). All the cabins must be walked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The lodge was very nice. It was in a beautiful setting in the Georgia mountains. Clean. Buffet style dinner was good and had a nice variety of meats and salad and desserts. Peaceful setting amidst the beautiful forest and lakes. Located near a variety of things to see e.g. Anna Ruby Falls and the picturesque bavarian themed town of Helen. Leaves were turning when we were there. It was a beautiful sight and very relaxing

Room Tip: Get a room in the back. Quiet and nice view of forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We rented a double room in the lodge for three nights. The room had two double beds, a chair, desk, and an old CRT TV that had lousy reception. The room size was small but sufficient. The bathroom was small - about 5 x 8' with a tub/shower. The decor was early 70's and was pretty worn, but it appeared to be clean. We got a special price in the low $80's plus tax, which included a free breakfast. We also located a 10% discount coupon for dinner online.

Room Tip: Until the rooms are refurbished do not pay full price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjackso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
976 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545-2326
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range: $86 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing