We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and sufficient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Martinez, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice and sufficient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our stay was nice, but after reading reviews I thought the place was going to be a dump. Not so. Rooms only have doubles, bathroom is small in comparison to a Hampton, but it was sufficient. Yes, I agree that it could use upgrading to be In line With a Hampton. The grounds are spacious with nice outdoor swings and sitting decks. They offer a buffet for breakfast and supper (12.95) each day. Wifi, cable tv,all rooms with a view.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    166
    123
    65
    32
See reviews for
224
123
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our stay at the lodge was very brief, just a couple of nights when en route to North Carolina. We decided on Unicoi as we'd never stayed in a state park lodge before and the Georgia State Parks website did a good job in promoting it.
First impressions weren't good. We were allocated a room next to a communal meeting place/seating area and some very noisy vending machines so asked to be moved. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating, and were moved to a top floor room in what appeared to be a newer block, although it must be said all of the accommodation blocks had the unappealing detention centre/ outdated hall of residence look about them. The bathroom was of poor motel quality with threadbare towels and tired looking shower cubicle, sink and toilet. As we were here in winter we'd expected some form of heating to be available, but whatever there was, was totally inadequate in heating the room. We had to request additional blankets from housekeeping for the second night after having slept in our outdoor clothes (jeans, jumpers) overnight.
I believe the lodge is going to be closing at the end of this year's summer season to allow for refurbishment at last. Hopefully it will come back better than ever as the park and the surrounding area are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - hold off visiting until after the refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Pueblo, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

There is no other way to describe it, it is old and beat up. I read that it will close this year for remodeling, but it is about two years too late. Most people here have written about the rooms...I agree. Flimsy sheets, towels and plastic cups. There is limited Wi-Fi in only one place in the main lodge. But the restaurant is worse! No menu service, just the fried glop they put out on a buffet. Everything is deep fat fried! Even the veggies. We paid about $20 more a night for a suite in Savannah and got a king bed, lots of nice pillows, fluffy towles, real glasses by the bathroom sink, lots of soap selections in the tub/shower, a small kitchenette and a free breakfast. $20 a night can't make that much difference, but it sure did. Unicoi may be quieter than Helen, but it sure is not worth the price. I'll pass next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I hadn't been to Unicoi Lodge in 25 years, and much to my amazement, nothing had changed. That was good news for the park itself, the beautiful surroundings, and the abundance of walking/hiking/biking trails. But the lodge itself and the rooms was severly in need of a make-over. Not that I was there for the tv, but a 19" crt-style (boxy) was ridiculous. The bathroom was cramped and looked as if the sink and toilet had to be angled to fit into the small space. All the appointments in the room were well worn. Fortunately, when I asked about the condition of the rooms upon checking out, I was told the lodge will be closed in Dec '12 for 6-9 months for a complete renovation. Perhaps it would be better to wait if you are scheduling a visit or look into renting one of the cabins or barrels.

Room Tip: Look into renting a cabin or one of the barrels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyTravel4_2_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Rooms were clean and quiet but overpriced. Much better than hotels in Helen if you want quiet. Hiking was fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CollegeMom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

*****Remember this is a State Park not the Ritz*********
Very nice stay. Cabins are so supper quiet and peaceful. Will be back again. Our Cabin had just been re-done and was great. No TV, No cell phone signal, No phone in cabin = awsome! Parking is right next to these cabins unlike the barrel style ones.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaTraveler0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is going to be a somewhat complicated affair. There are different aspects of this facility that must be considered.

My wife and I spent one night (two days) as the end cap of a week celebrating her 50th birthday. I will lodge room, the lodge itself and the restaurant. We stayed in a loft unit as our daughter was with us. We had two meals at the restaurant and we were in the lodge itself a good bit.

About our lodge room.....

Pros:
1. The room (as well as the whole place) was clean and tidy.
2. It was roomy downstairs and in the loft.
3. It was thoughtfully appointed with small touches.
4. It was comfortable including the pillows and mattresses.
5. The views and surroundings are fantastic. In each building there is a large common room that has a TV and a fireplace. Great for groups.

Cons:
1. The room has an under windows heating/air unit for each room that looks like it was installed in the 1970's. The "off" button did not work. It took us about 8 hours to get it properly regulated where we were comfortable. We cannot fathom why a facility that promotes energy conservation so much would be using these units. Their energy bill must be off the charts.
2. The cable TV would regularly suffer from interference and once winked out completely for about 30 minutes. We weren't there for the TV anyway.
3. The whole place is a little thread worn. It would not take much to correct this as it is fundamentally sound.

About the restaurant....

Pros:
1. The food is good. All of it. They had Fried Georgia Mountain Trout the night we were there and it was the best we have ever had. Everything else was very good.
2. The staff was great. They remembered us from dinner to breakfast and placed us at the same table.
3. The dinner was pricey but well worth it. Breakfast is what you would expect to pay.

Cons: None

About the Lodge....

The Lodge space is large and roomy. There are common spaces with fireplaces for relaxation and conversation. The entire staff is great. The gift shop is fantastic. We spent about an hour there. Parking is fine but getting from parking to the rooms can be a bit of a walk.

In two days we did Anna Ruby Falls, Unicoi State Park's Bottom Lake Trail, the Unicoi Gap portion of the Appalachian Trail and Helen, GA. Overall, we would not hesitate recommending this property to friends and family as long as they are aware of the above. We will certainly visit again. Next time we will try the cottages just to mix things up if we can. They have minimum stay requirements.
About the lodge....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Valinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.9 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 19 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.0 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Property: Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545-2326
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing