We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and beat up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old and beat up”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

There is no other way to describe it, it is old and beat up. I read that it will close this year for remodeling, but it is about two years too late. Most people here have written about the rooms...I agree. Flimsy sheets, towels and plastic cups. There is limited Wi-Fi in only one place in the main lodge. But the restaurant is worse! No menu service, just the fried glop they put out on a buffet. Everything is deep fat fried! Even the veggies. We paid about $20 more a night for a suite in Savannah and got a king bed, lots of nice pillows, fluffy towles, real glasses by the bathroom sink, lots of soap selections in the tub/shower, a small kitchenette and a free breakfast. $20 a night can't make that much difference, but it sure did. Unicoi may be quieter than Helen, but it sure is not worth the price. I'll pass next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    175
    131
    70
    33
See reviews for
244
130
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I hadn't been to Unicoi Lodge in 25 years, and much to my amazement, nothing had changed. That was good news for the park itself, the beautiful surroundings, and the abundance of walking/hiking/biking trails. But the lodge itself and the rooms was severly in need of a make-over. Not that I was there for the tv, but a 19" crt-style (boxy) was ridiculous. The bathroom was cramped and looked as if the sink and toilet had to be angled to fit into the small space. All the appointments in the room were well worn. Fortunately, when I asked about the condition of the rooms upon checking out, I was told the lodge will be closed in Dec '12 for 6-9 months for a complete renovation. Perhaps it would be better to wait if you are scheduling a visit or look into renting one of the cabins or barrels.

Room Tip: Look into renting a cabin or one of the barrels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyTravel4_2_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Rooms were clean and quiet but overpriced. Much better than hotels in Helen if you want quiet. Hiking was fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollegeMom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

*****Remember this is a State Park not the Ritz*********
Very nice stay. Cabins are so supper quiet and peaceful. Will be back again. Our Cabin had just been re-done and was great. No TV, No cell phone signal, No phone in cabin = awsome! Parking is right next to these cabins unlike the barrel style ones.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GaTraveler0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is going to be a somewhat complicated affair. There are different aspects of this facility that must be considered.

My wife and I spent one night (two days) as the end cap of a week celebrating her 50th birthday. I will lodge room, the lodge itself and the restaurant. We stayed in a loft unit as our daughter was with us. We had two meals at the restaurant and we were in the lodge itself a good bit.

About our lodge room.....

Pros:
1. The room (as well as the whole place) was clean and tidy.
2. It was roomy downstairs and in the loft.
3. It was thoughtfully appointed with small touches.
4. It was comfortable including the pillows and mattresses.
5. The views and surroundings are fantastic. In each building there is a large common room that has a TV and a fireplace. Great for groups.

Cons:
1. The room has an under windows heating/air unit for each room that looks like it was installed in the 1970's. The "off" button did not work. It took us about 8 hours to get it properly regulated where we were comfortable. We cannot fathom why a facility that promotes energy conservation so much would be using these units. Their energy bill must be off the charts.
2. The cable TV would regularly suffer from interference and once winked out completely for about 30 minutes. We weren't there for the TV anyway.
3. The whole place is a little thread worn. It would not take much to correct this as it is fundamentally sound.

About the restaurant....

Pros:
1. The food is good. All of it. They had Fried Georgia Mountain Trout the night we were there and it was the best we have ever had. Everything else was very good.
2. The staff was great. They remembered us from dinner to breakfast and placed us at the same table.
3. The dinner was pricey but well worth it. Breakfast is what you would expect to pay.

Cons: None

About the Lodge....

The Lodge space is large and roomy. There are common spaces with fireplaces for relaxation and conversation. The entire staff is great. The gift shop is fantastic. We spent about an hour there. Parking is fine but getting from parking to the rooms can be a bit of a walk.

In two days we did Anna Ruby Falls, Unicoi State Park's Bottom Lake Trail, the Unicoi Gap portion of the Appalachian Trail and Helen, GA. Overall, we would not hesitate recommending this property to friends and family as long as they are aware of the above. We will certainly visit again. Next time we will try the cottages just to mix things up if we can. They have minimum stay requirements.
About the lodge....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Valinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I went here for a family reunion and we were worried this wouldn't be very nice. But it was perfectly fine. We stayed in lodge A which had a big central room with chairs and a fireplace to sit by. It had a very clean room, with beds that were perfectly comfortable. The shower was very nice, plenty of hot water and pressure. Towels were a bit small and rough. Nice view of the trees.
We ate the breakfast buffet which had a wide selection of foods. The dinner buffet wasn't as good, most food was slightly greasy, had a large salad bar. Not much for healthy or dieters.
Overall we really enjoyed our time and would stay here again as it's a good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband, myself, and our two adult children stayed in one of the barrel cottages for a few days. We wish we had known it would be such a long walk to and from the parking area. We had foolishly assumed we could park by the cottage. People with small children, those with disabilities, and the elderly should be warned. All other pack light and bring a flashlight. The way down is lit but not perfectly.

The cottage was small but not too small, and the kitchen was well equipped. There were plenty of towels. The view from the little porch was of the lake and very pleasant. It was fun having a fireplace but the wind made branches scrape against the metal chimney all night which made quite a racket.

I wish I could say that the place was spotless, but it wasn't. It wasn't horrid, and our bed seemed clean enough (although one person complained their bed was not clean), but one of the extra blankets was dirty and encrusted with what looked like bits of candy. Actually, none of the blankets was spotless. They ought to check these things and take care of them.

The heat works. :)

The bathroom is really small, and there is nowhere to put anything. We had to set aside a kitchen chair to keep toiletries and such. It gave things sort of a college dorm vibe. I'm not a big fan of college dorms.

We did try eating at the Lodge which has a buffet advertising trout. I swear those fish had been left by fishermen sometime around the turn of the century. Dry. Tasteless. Sad little fish. The other choices were limited and uninspired. There was an array of desserts, which was the best part of the meal. One person complained that the cake was stale and hard, though. Not cheap either.

But you come for the setting, and it is very pretty there. It's always great being so close to hiking trails and that was definitely the best part of this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shea1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
902 reviews
0.9 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Property: Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545-2326
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing