We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will continue to come back every year!”
Review of Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Helen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Our family and friends book an annual trip during Octoberfest and have done so for over twenty years. For the greater part of those twenty years, we have stayed, as a group, at the Castle Inn renting multiple rooms. We decided to join the tradition about ten years ago. We ALWAYS stay at the Castle Inn, when we come to Helen.

Our experience with the Castle Inn, is never questionable. We have stayed in the rooms on the side, which overlook the beautiful river. We have stayed on the back side with a balcony, the front side with a balcony (fun to people watch and overlooks Downtown), we have also had the luxury of staying in their suite (full kitchen, dishwasher, microwave, stove). Our favorite is of course the suite! Each room is cozy and clean, the beds are comfortable, and is equipped with coffee maker, coffee, toiletries, plenty of towels, washcloths, clean linens, extra pillows and blankets. Each room has nicely updated decor and large flat screen TV's. There is reserved parking and coded private entry to guests only. We have never had any issues with check-in, even during their busiest time of year.

Castle Inn was very accommodating to us. They went the extra mile to call us prior to our most recent visit to be sure we would have complete access to everything we needed. Every single morning we were greeted with the nicest people/housekeeping and they never questioned or hesitated to provide us with anything we have needed (extra or standard). If you are missing anything, just ask them, they will bend over backwards to get it for you.

We used to come when it was managed by A-1 vacation rentals, and now by Deb and Royce. I feel like our most recent visit we made new friends with the new managers. They were very personable and accommodating to whatever we needed. We will definitely be going back every year (twice a year now if we can). They truly are the sweetest and most genuine people that would have done anything to make our stay enjoyable (as they did).

In our opinion, the Castle Inn has everything at your fingertips! This place is the hot spot to people watch, see the mountains, enjoy the river, go site seeing, shop, eat, drink, or relax after all of the festivities. The best part is their location, in the heart of downtown Helen.

We book a year in advance to stay at the Castle Inn during Octoberfest and will also book during the annual hot air balloon race if possible. Staying at the Castle Inn is a tradition for us and we look forward to it every year!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Infinity5274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family and my two sisters families traveled 10 hours to Helen GA. We arrived at 8:00 that night which did not seem to be too late. Unfortunately, the hotel office was locked with no one in site. There was a phone number but it went to an answering machine. After 15 messages and our scrambling for 3 hours to try and reach someone, we found another place to stay. I have never been in that situation and will never be again. The owner even told someone at a nearby shop that she was expecting us - and still she left and was not answering the phone. There were shady people around the place and not somewhere you want to be after 10:00. We had young children with us and had to drag them around to find another hotel - we all were tired and miserable. There is no excuse for this - ever. The staff and owner of the castle inn should be ashamed. If you are traveling to the castle inn you would have better luck planning to stay in your car.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pecan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited Helen GA April 4th through April 6, 2013, We stayed at the Castle Inn it was a wonderful place and the staff was great and they treated us like we had been friends for a long time, we stayed in room 210 with a balcony. The room was nice and clean and cozy a great location. We had a wonderful time. Thank you for treating us real special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank double_s-cheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place to stay...Comfy, Clean and Cozy...Great location with the Best shopping ...Restaurants/bars with great bartenders and atmosphere...Train museum and funnel cakes...Pet a bear or take a horse drawn carriage ride...sit along the water way or hang out on the balcony and look over the town and the view of the mountains...The staff at the Castle Inn is "Top Notch" friendly and caring...will be back real soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lorenajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a 12 hour drive from illinois, i figured this cute mountain town with the name castle inn would be a great place to stay the night.Well was i wrong. The check in was two blocks away. The room was on a noisy street above a bar, and all i can say is out dated. There are very nice chain hotels in that town, that would be a better choice. The town is nice, the mountains are to die for. But dont stay at the castle inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Twozresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Castle Inn is located on the Chattahoochee River in Down town Helen, Georgia's Alpine Village.
The locatiion is wonderful.
The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.
The Castle decor takes you back to the "old country". The rooms are pleasant and comfortable.
A PLEASURABLE experience. Near restaurants, shopping and actiivties.
Thanks, Deb and Royce, Managers

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of Down Town Helen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We checked in for a weekend get-a-way to the Castle Inn. I read another reviewer and Im not sure what they are talking about with the "weird check in". The check in was on-site and we just walked upstairs to our room. We had wonderful views of downtown and it was fun people watching! We were literally right downtown and could walk to everything...which came in handy after one too many "das boot" beers ;) Everything was clean and nice. Everything was just as expected and the rates were great. We took advantage of the third free night so our whole trip came to less than $250. They don't over-do it on the amenities, but I have stayed in several other places around town and Castle Inn is def the cleanest by far, has the best views and best value for your money. I found it to be perfectly clean and exactly right for our much needed romantic break. My hubby had called ahead and had flowers and a cheese & fruit basket with a bottle of chilled wine waiting in the room. What a nice surprise!! I would suggest the wine tastings at Habersham winery and we really enjoyed our dinner at Nachoochee grill. We drove out to the Mark of the Potter and it was worth the trip (about 15 minutes). Very cool seeing the fish and waterfall. We loved it and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#7 of 19 in Helen
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 8580 Main St, PO box 209, Helen, GA 30545
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Helen
Price Range: $89 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian style building with magnificent views! This Hotel is located in the heart of Alpine Helen on the banks of the Chattahoochee River with fantastic views of the mountains. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms after a full day of; trout fishing on the Chattahoochee River, the action packed family fun of Helen's Main Street attractions, or endless hours of browsing and shopping the most unique shops in the Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing