We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Helen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very interesting hotel. Very convenient to downtown Helen. We had a river view room and it was nice to watch people tubing down the river.

Cons:
There is no on-site mgmt. You have to check in and out down the street
No internet
The balcony was covered in spider webs. Not good
No dvd player

But I would still stay here again. The atmosphere was exceptional

Room Tip: Get river view. Check in across from days inn at a1 vacation rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Noisy - if you want sleep don't stay here. No ice in the ice machine. Bathroom counter too small to put anything on but a toothbrush. This place was just old and run down and too much money for what little you get.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noway1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for the Memorial Day weekend in 2011. It's really a quaint little place that sits in the heart of Helen, GA. providing easy access to EVERYTHING in town. While the rooms in the rear of the hotel do have a view of the "Hooch" river from the small yet cozy balcony, you get to see a lot more of the parking lot than anything else (which for us also included a drunk who decided to urinate and was subsequently doused with water by the Troll Tavern staff during the process....that was FUNNY!); 15 spaces are provided for hotel guests included with the room fee with a larger one behind it for over-flow. The views from the front are much better as they sit right over the VERY busy main street so there's lots to see (people, street performers, etc.) while your relaxing.

Be advised that there are no refrigerators in the rooms so you will need to have a cooler with you of your wanting keep anything cold during your stay. Also, the beds are a bit hard so if you like a soft mattress your not gonna be happy with it. If you like watching TV while your on vacation you will like the flat-screens that are provided, they are nice.

The Troll Tavern and Restaurant is located right below the hotel as it's part of the same building. It was a little "lively" during our stay but the noise wasn't too bad.

Overall, we'll probably stay here again in the future but if your looking for a quite little get-a-way, this isn't going to work for you. If you like a little "city life" albeit small....you'll like this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jade330i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Just finished up our stay at the Castle Inn. We had the best time and the staff was awesome. I read these other reviews, but they cant be talking about the staff that i encounter, because they were all great with every wish we had they would and did take care of. I know i cant speak for everyone, but this place was great in the peak of their season and i know that is a lot of work during October Fest. Not to mention this place is in the heart of the festival. I couldn't ask for a better room, it was huge, clean as well as very nicely decorated. I already booked for next October and expect nothing less than an awesome trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kanch056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

You won't find a better place in Helen to stay. We stayed in the Castle Inn overlooking the river. So romantic! Everything was within walking distance. The manager has chilled wine and a cheese tray waiting on us for our special weekend! I can't wait to return to this beautiful town. A visit to Habersham WInery is a MUST! They have a wonderful peach wine and free tastings! Thank you so much and we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KellyAikenSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here New Year's Eve and we loved it. The Castle Inn is located perfectly in downtown Helen. The room was large and well decorated in deep rich colors. The bed was nice and comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous. My favorite was the balcony though-large with a table and chairs with the river as a backdrop. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bethpeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

You need to know right off that this is not a typical hotel with a lobby, on-site manager etc. and you also have to walk up two flights to get to the rooms. We didn't mind either since we knew in advance. On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location in Helen. Everything is literally right there at your doorstep. The parking right behind the Inn was convenient too. The price was also great at $89 since we went Labor Day Weekend and the other hotels were charging at least double. The Castle Inn would definitely benefit from better housekeeping and could take a broom to those balconies, but it was adequately furnished and comfortable enough. We were on the backside of the Inn and had no issue with noise like the other reviewers. We would probably stay there again if in Helen.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HD214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Helen, GA
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 8580 Main St, PO box 209, Helen, GA 30545
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Helen
Price Range: $89 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian style building with magnificent views! This Hotel is located in the heart of Alpine Helen on the banks of the Chattahoochee River with fantastic views of the mountains. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms after a full day of; trout fishing on the Chattahoochee River, the action packed family fun of Helen's Main Street attractions, or endless hours of browsing and shopping the most unique shops in the Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing