We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpine Crest Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Reviewed November 30, 2010

When I checked in, the couple running the place looked nice and helpful and thought this will be fine. Got to the room which was large with a kitchen and 2 bed/bath and saw red towels. Now who uses red towels for rentals??! You can't tell if they are clean. The sheets and pillows were stained. I did not want to sit on the furniture nor walk on the nasty carpet. As previously noted by others, the place really needs spruced up. The kitchen was a nice size and the unit was plenty big along with two decent size bathrooms. As far as staying there again, let's just say and big NO! The indoor pool was nothing that I wanted to swim in and having folks tubing all over the area..it did not give you much time to relax hearing kids yelling and playing. Not the owners fault, but I kinda like to enjoy a bit of privacy and relax. If I wanted a bunch of noise, I would have stayed in town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank legs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 81 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

It was adequate at best. The mattress was terrible and the heat did not work. When it is in the upper 30's at night, a little heat would be nice. The units are outdated and show their wear. The location was great though. But, the indoor pool was constantly occupied by locals and not really a place I wanted to spend much time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozColander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The resort itself needs some paint and new carpets but the rental had a great layout and wonderful views. It was close to several beautiful parks and waterfalls, walking distance (though a steep trail) to downtown Helen, and the waterslide is also a river tubing stop off. The area is great for nature-lovers, fishing and those that appreciate German-style kitsch!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yes_weRthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We loved Octoberfest which started the week we were in Helen. This was trip #5 for my husband and I. We had previously stayed at the Helendorf Inn with our 2 sons. This was our 1st experience with Alpine Crest Resort. It was comparable to the Helendorf as far as furnishings and cleanliness. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are booked there again for this September 2010 Octoberfest. Once again, we will be bringing friends and are looking forward to our stay. Hopefully it will not be RAINING this year. Due to the inclement weather we could not enjoy any of the outdoor ammenities but the bedrooms and living/dining areas were so nice. The kitchen provided the "at home" necessities for cooking and dining in. Our guys watched football while we girls shopped the stores in the rain. Parking underneath your unit was so nice. It over compensated for the stairs we had to climb to get to the unit. We were in the DRY!

Of note... we are owners of a timeshare in Panama City, FL. and with Wyndham Resorts. This was an exchange through RCI. We were very pleased with everything.

Thank you to your staff for a wonderful time had by all.
The Lee & Ethridge Families

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BAMABEAROdenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

After reading some of the reviews I wasn't sure what we would find, but we were very happy with the resort. If I had to pick something to complain about it would be that there were no kleenex and only 1 coffee filter.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unni36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Alpine Crest Resort is nestled in the beautiful mountains of Helen, Georgia. Reading some of the reviews here made me a little nervous at first, but I’m relieved to say that the resort turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Like most of the other hotels and shops in Helen, the Alpine Crest is designed in the Bavarian/South German style. It sort of reminded me of a Gingerbread House. Our unit was on the top floor, and included our own covered parking space beneath. The inside had a warm log-cabin feel to it. Although our unit was described as a one-bedroom, it had a loft upstairs with an extra bed and bathroom with garden tub. We also had a full kitchen, fireplace, and a good-sized balcony facing a quiet wooded area. One of the best things about the Alpine Crest Resort is its location. We visited during Helen’s popular Oktoberfest celebration, and while we were within walking distance to the downtown action, we were just far enough off the main drag to not be bothered by the festivities once back in our room. As for the room, it’s true that the Alpine Crest has probably seen better days. The carpet was a little worn and some of the faucets dripped, but these are minor things that can sometimes be typical of older properties. We never got the feeling that we were “roughing it” and certainly there was nothing about the resort that spoiled our stay. In fact, we plan on returning for a weekend in the spring. The Alpine Crest Resorts is a perfect choice for anyone who can relax in a cozy atmosphere, overlook a few flaws, and just wants to enjoy the lovely scenery of the mountains in the cute town of Helen.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I went here and stayed with my husband and 4 kids and we had a blast. The place is a BIT outdated...but its livable and had some really great ammenities. The coolest water slides, indoor pool and hot tub, lake to fish in, tennis courts, playground, quick walk into Helen without having to get out and pay and park, paddle boats to go out on lake, and so much more. We grilled out and played football right outside our condo a couple of different nights. About the only real problem we had was they didnt pick up the trash on a daily basis like they said they would. It took them about 4 days to get it from the day we got there so it piled up quick and sharing with the other units, its was kinda gross. But I would definately go back. I think the reviews on here scared us a bit, but all in all we came out with a positive review.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jbull226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Helen, GA
1.2 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Crest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Crest Resort

Address: 232 Carrie Cox Dr, Helen, GA 30545
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range: $206 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Crest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Crest Hotel Helen
Alpine Crest Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing