We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay in Helen, Georgia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great stay in Helen, Georgia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations on every level and I don't have anything but positive comments to write, but we did go when the hotel was very quiet (as US kids have gone back to school). On arrival, we were a little annoyed with ourselves for booking a hotel without a balcony (but this was our mistake) as the weather was great and it is always nice to have outdoor space when you have three children sleeping in the room. I approached the subject with the reception staff and discovered that none of the rooms have balconies which is a real shame, but they did offer to move us to a different room which provided us with a lounge space - perfect! It was a delightful room with plenty of space for five of us. Fantastic customer service as we were over the moon with the upgrade. We will definitely stay with Comfort suites again purely on this basis!

The breakfast was more than substantial and something for everyone. The gentleman running the breakfast room was jolly and polite and running around keeping everything moving.

The kids loved the free cookies in reception and I always love having coffee on tap. A really nice touch for a relatively inexpensive stay.

This hotel has a rustic and charming feel to it and is only a short walk into the main town. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If travelling with children then I would recommend spending a little bit more and opting for a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJP697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us here on TripAdvisor. we are glad to hear that the hotel has exceeded your expectations. This means a lot to hear it from our guests as this means that we are on the right track in regards to our goals here at the Country Inn And Suites in Helen Ga. We all look forward to seeing you all again in the future and hope you choose us as your hotel of choice when visiting the town of Helen.

Sincerely,
Johnathon Banford
Night Auditor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    175
    49
    18
    13
See reviews for
245
262
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Some friends and I stayed here for a one night stay since we were doing a wine tour. This hotel was perfect! The location was great! I took others advise and asked to stay at the front of the hotel due to noise complaints from those who stay in the back of the hotel. The staff was wonderful. We got there around 9:30 am and they got us right into our room for early check in. We did not have any problems with noise and our room was nice and clean. Breakfast was so nice to have waiting when we got up in the morning. This hotel was very reasonably priced for where it was located and the fact the price included a warm breakfast. I would stay here again for my next trip to Helen!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TR102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel, Staff and breakfast. we are always striving to meet and exceed our guests expectations of us, and to hear this means we are on the right track. We hope to see you all in the future and make us your hotel of choice when visiting the town of Helen.

Sincerely,
Johnathon Banford
Night Auditor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

This hotel was one of the best things in Helen GA. It's clean, staff is friendly and helpful. The city of Helen, however, is a disappointment. The Bavarian architecture is good but the shops are tourist traps. "Local arts and crafts" were all made in China! All are cluttered.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet, and there is an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masuperior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us here on TripAdvisor. We are all so grateful to hear that you enjoyed you stay here at the Country Inn And Suites here in Helen Ga. we are always glad to hear that the Hotel was cleaned and met our guests expectations of it. We all hope to see you again in the future. We all look forward to providing the same great service as you did during your last stay with us.


Sincerely,
Johnathon Banford
Night Auditor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Family overnight trip to Helen. Room was clean and adequate but not at the level I would expect for the price paid but maybe that is due to the location. All amenities were good just not great. Would stay again but negotiate for a better rate if possible.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us here on TripAdvisor. All of us here at the Country Inn and Suites are terribly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet and exceed your expectations. We are always striving to meet or exceed the guests expectations of us. We would like to discuss your stay further with us to hear what we may improve on and what was unsatisfactory during your stay. Please feel free to contact our General Manager Dana Bates at any time at the hotel. Our telephone number is 706-878-9000. Again we are sorry about your experience and hope that in the future you will choose us as the hotel to stay in Helen, Ga.


Sincerely,
Johnathon Banford
Night Auitor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel was located in walking distance of the main strip. Room and hotel was clean, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large with a large vanity. The staff was super pleasant everyday there, including the breakfast staff (which was high stress considering the number of demanding people attending breakfast). Only negative was temperature in the pool area, it was hot with high humidity. Over all was very good; I will stay at this hotel again. Very nice!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Stacy
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Country Inn and Suites. All of our staff are thrilled that y’all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting me know about the pool issue. We have already contacted our pool maintenance provider and he has come out and fixed this issue. I am very sorry this occurred during your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the staff; this gives me an opportunity to award everyone as well as our home office. We look forward to seeing y’all in the future.

Sincerely
Dana W. Bates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

From the moment we walked in the door we felt that the staff was glad we came. The room was comfortable and clean. The free breakfast was very good and the breakfast staff EAGER to please. We will stay at this Hotel if we return in the future

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear James
All of us at Country Inn and Suites really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we always want everyone to feel like family coming back home. Thank you for mentioning all of our staff. This gives me an opportunity to recognize them as the Manager as well as through our home office. We look forward to seeing you guys in the future.

Sincerely
Dana W. Bates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The place was clean and we could walk to everything which was a plus. There were a lot of motorcycles but I think there always is. The breakfast was good. There was always fruit and cookies in the lobby which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Hotel and Town of Helen. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Johnathon Banford
Night Auditor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.5 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.2 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Address: 877 Edelweiss Strasse, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helen
#1 Business Hotel in Helen
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#1 Family Hotel in Helen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want the best? Then stay with the best. Thank you for viewing our beautiful Country Inn & Suites of Helen, Georgia. We are in the North Georgia Mountains and centered in the Bavarian Town of Helen, Georgia. We are located in the center of downtown Helen. Walking distance to the shops, putt putt golf, tubing, Bigg Daddy's, the Hayloft...and the Helen Festhall. Our hotel is ready and willing to accommodate groups, families, honeymooners, senior travelers on a road trip....we are here to make sure what ever the reason you are here in Helen, we are here to accommodate YOU! We have a variety of room types such as a standard king or double queen, suites are both king and double queen, our fireplace rooms are very cozy during the fall and winter months, add some romance to your trip and check out our Jacuzzi rooms, we also have a handicap accessible room as well. Our loving rooms each include...micro/frig, coffee maker and iron/ironing board. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool or hot tub. Are you watching your figure....enjoy a good workout in a fitness room. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and cookies in the lobby. Enjoy reading...check out our library, everything from children's books to novels. Let's not forget the FREE full hot breakfast... biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, juice, coffee, milk...you never know what Ms. Shari is going to fix for breakfast. Excellent customer service agents here to assist you in anything you need. Our staff is proud to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Helen
Country Inn & Suites Helen Hotel Helen
Country Inn Helen
Helen Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing