We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was the best hotel in town. Clean, friendly staff and a great breakfast. The best grits I have ever had and I am a southern girl. The lobby was nice with a fireplace and coffee and cookies available all the time. Large bath towels and comfy beds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teapartygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 793 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Before I wright my review I would like to say that I would stay at this Hotel every time I go to Helen. The people at the front desk and breakfast area were very helpful. The Hotel is close to the town and they have nice size rooms and the most wonderful hot breakfast and an indoor pool and hot tub. I loved rocking in the chairs on the front porch and they have cookies and hot apples cider when you check in. We ran up to our room and I thought that they needed a little paint above the air conditioner and later that night I saw it was mold and I didn't check out the bed either before we left to go to town and the bed and pillows were hard. Next time I go I will be sure to ask for a room with no mold and a soft bed and pillows and I'm sure they will make us happy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happylady10062013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you so much for writing about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that y'all enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing the issue about the a/c to my attention. Josh, our maintenance employee has taken care of this issue and we are going through all of our rooms to insure this situation is resolved. We do hope to see y'all real soon.

Sincerely
Dana W. Bates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent! Judy was wonderful (front desk). As was the lady in the dining area. Room very clean (as was the entire hotel) breakfast was outstanding. It was quiet even though they were full. Loved the front porch rocking chairs. The sheets could have been a little softer but the pillows made up for that little issue

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnstormchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Judy is just thrilled that you mentioned her name and this has given me an opportunity to recognize her. We hope to see y'all real soon!!!

Sincerely
Dana W. Bates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent one night at this very nice hotel when we visited Helen, GA during the annual Oktoberfest. Arriving around noon, I expected to not be able to check in. However, Judy not only let us check in early, but upgraded our room from a standard queen to a king with a whirlpool tub at no extra cost. Judy went out of her way to be accommodating and helpful providing us with helpful maps and coupons. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for my future stays and for others.

Room Tip: One block from the Festhall. Easy walk there and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lakelady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I have shared your compliments with Judy. She was so happy that you mentioned her name and she has been awarded from our Hotel as well as our Corporate Office. We hope to see you when you guys come back this way.

Sincerely
Dana W. Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Room was clean and spacious. Assortment of pillows. Had frig, microwave, and free breakfast. Price was great. Had cookies out at all times. Staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was heated but not enough although the room was nicely warm. Whirlpool was warm, but not hot enough, and the bubbles just simply bubbled -- no muscle massaging whirls going on, and the pool could use a paint job. Overall, very satisifed with room, staff, breakfast, price and location, and would stay here again. Located on the main highway (convenient). The festival was scheduled for the following weekend and this hotel is ideally located.

Room Tip: My sister insisted on staying away from ice machines and elevators and staying on the top floor (thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After comparing different hotels in the area, this had to be a must-stay for a night in Helen. We wanted a one night stay so we could enjoy the music and beer at the FestHall within walking distance. This has become a once a year tradition, and a clean room with top notch staff, would put the icing on the cake. Most hotels in the area have really bad reviews. Poor staffing, insects and mold, are just poor excuses for a poorly run business. Country Inn and Suites is truely one place we did not encounter any of this. A friendly desk staff had our room ready to go, even when we were a few hours early for check in. A clean elevator ride to the 3rd floor, and a very nice and clean room. Our room had everything, microwave, coffee maker,frig, wifi, flat screen.. had it all ! A hot breakast was also a extremely welcome. A BIG Thank You to the Staff of Country Inn and Sutes. You all are great...please keep up the great work. It shows as being ranked No. 1 in Helen !

Room Tip: A room in the front, will insure a quiet night sleep from the Bar Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnbiker4300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. All of us at Country Inn and Suites want each and everyone to feel like family. This has given me the opportunity to recognize each and everyone of our staff. We hope to see y'all next year!!!

Sincerely
Dana W. Bates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great service and great stay in Helen Georgia. We were in town for one night only, but the staff at check in, Judy, treated us like we were honored guests. She made sure we knew were the festhall was and that we had everything we needed. She was very warm and just made us feel at home. The room itself was great. Very clean, spacious, and came with everything we needed; even a fireplace! The location was great too. It was in walking distance from the festhall, but far enough so that we didn't hear a sound at night.

Room Tip: The air conditioner actually worked very well. Most hotels seem to cap the air level, but this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmspezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It truly means the world to all of us that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning Judy's name this gave me an opportunity to recognize her for a great job. When you get back this way we would love to have y'all stay with us again.

Sincerely
Dana W. Bates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#11 of 19 in Helen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen

Address: 877 Edelweiss Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helen
#1 Green Hotel in Helen
#1 Family Hotel in Helen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range: $91 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want the best? Then stay with the best. Thank you for viewing our beautiful Country Inn & Suites of Helen, Georgia. We are in the North Georgia Mountains and centered in the Bavarian Town of Helen, Georgia. We are located in the center of downtown Helen. Walking distance to the shops, putt putt golf, tubing, Bigg Daddy's, the Hayloft...and the Helen Festhall. Our hotel is ready and willing to accommodate groups, families, honeymooners, senior travelers on a road trip....we are here to make sure what ever the reason you are here in Helen, we are here to accommodate YOU! We have a variety of room types such as a standard king or double queen, suites are both king and double queen, our fireplace rooms are very cozy during the fall and winter months, add some romance to your trip and check out our Jacuzzi rooms, we also have a handicap accessible room as well. Our loving rooms each include...micro/frig, coffee maker and iron/ironing board. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool or hot tub. Are you watching your figure....enjoy a good workout in a fitness room. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and cookies in the lobby. Enjoy reading...check out our library, everything from children's books to novels. Let's not forget the FREE full hot breakfast... biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, juice, coffee, milk...you never know what Ms. Shari is going to fix for breakfast. Excellent customer service agents here to assist you in anything you need. Our staff is proud to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Helen
Country Inn & Suites Helen Hotel Helen
Country Inn Helen
Helen Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing