We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calhoun GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This was at least the 3rd time we have stayed here and this was the best experience ever. We were granted an early check in and the front desk was so accommodating. The coffee, tea, cocoa and cookies are a family's dream. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are so glad that y'all had a good time and hope to see you all real soon. It really means alot to all of our staff to know just how much you enjoyed your stay. I will share this with everyone and thanks again.
Hope to see you soon!!!

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    180
    49
    19
    12
See reviews for
255
266
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

For seven years I have been staying here for the SEVR which is the first weekend of June and starts on the Thursday before. I will continue to come back year after year. The staff has been more than accommodating for the 200 motorcyclist which where stay there, riding the great roads of N. Georgia and surround states and partying through out the night (this week is not for the faint of heart) Thank you Country Inn & Suites, Helen, GA for making it another great year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Charles D,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us!!! We all look forward to seeing the Victory Rally group each and every year. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!. You guys have got to come back sooner. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For over 20 years, a big group of our friends have been having a get-together in Helen, GA, in the North Georgia Mountains. We have always stayed at the Lodge in Unicoi State Park, but this year they were supposed to be closed for renovations (they later changed their minds), so we found an alternate hotel. Our stay was nothing less than stellar, marred only by finding out one friend's brother had passed away (not at this hotel).

From when we arrived, the check in was friendly and smiling. Our room was spacious, clean, and just plain nice. The only thing that would have made it better was for the hotel to be pet-friendly. The beds were comfortable, although I felt the pillows lacked: one was not enough, two were too many. They should also offer feather pillows. Also: the windows open!!!

We were given the big meeting room to spend time together, and it worked out great (especially since it rained all weekend and we spent a lot of time there). We set up one end with a television and DVD so the kids could watch cartoons or play games, and we sat at tables at the other end, which made it possible for folks to use laptops, do crafts (one friend was knitting, another drawing, etc.), and play lots of board games, or just sit. We were allowed to take our breakfast from the breakfast bar into this room and eat together. There was a small but very solid breakfast bar, with waffles, juice, bread for toast, oatmeal one morning, grits the next (on the grits day they provided instant oatmeal), several kinds of cereal, and some fruit, and coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. Cookies and coffee were provided all day long, and there was a lovely fireplace and sofas in the lobby where you could also sit, and there was even a bookcase with a variety of books.

In addition, we could enjoy an indoor pool, hot tub, and exercise room, and the wifi was flawless, unlike the Unicoi Lodge's spotty service (a 3G connection was faster and more reliable last year). The hotel is in walking distance of most of the Helen restaurants.

We are ditching the Lodge and coming back to Country Inn & Suites next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the main street. The rooms in the back face a bar and if you have the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadowLass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear ShadowLass38,

On behalf of our hotel staff, I just wanted to let you know how delighted we were to receive your king words of praise. We are all looking forward to your group coming back next year. Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
We strive to make each and every guests night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we all look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
225 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We traveled with my parents to this hotel for an overnight stay. We were given adjoining rooms as I requested. Both rooms were equipped with microwave, fridge, great tv, great AC (THANK YOU!!!). The main bathroom light was out in my bathroom, but it wasn't a problem because the counter above the microwave & fridge easily served as a vanity. It had great lighting, perfect amount of space for all we needed. All of this to say...if you have 2+ people trying to get ready to head out on the town...you have plenty of mirror/vanity space! The kids enjoyed the pool and I liked sitting in the hot tub which really was VERY warm (THANK YOU, again!). It took us a little bit to find where to turn the hot tub on. They could probably use a sign above the switch which is simply a light switch. Breakfast was good. Plenty of drink options, waffles, biscuits (very good), gravy, sausage, eggs, a few mini donuts and danish-type items, breads and bagels, cold cereals, oatmeal...I'm sure I'm forgetting something. The breakfast attendant was VERY conscientious and kept things clean as soon as someone left. All staff we encountered treated us as if we were the most important guest. Very impressed. We did find a few hairs in our room, but I would say they are from the cleaning lady after seeing her the next morning. No complaints regarding cleanliness from our room otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MREA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry for the rain- hopefully this wet weather will hurry up and move on out.
We all look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When we travel, we try to find a Country Inn & Suites, because their reputation is good, breakfast is included, and they generally keep a clean hotel. This hotel in Helen, was easy to find, extremely accommodating, had great coffee free in the lobby, and the most comfortable hotel beds we've slept in! The pool and sauna were very clean and nice as well. The only reason this did not receive a higher rating - first, breakfast on the first day was terrific - all fresh and hot, but on day two, you could tell the food was just warmed up leftovers. It was not satisfying at all! The other down side was the gym - the treadmill did not work. Do I get an "A" for effort, even trying? The refrigerator also was not very cold and we could not find a dial to lower the temp. However, on these last two items, we could have complained and possibly had them fixed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Love that this hotel is smoke free, however, all the smokers go to the front porch so if you are going to your car or entering the hotel, you have to walk through a fog of smoke to get through. Overall, highly satisfied with the stay and would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Elaine-
Thank you for letting us know the concerns that you experienced during your stay. I am writting to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.
I have and will continue to work on the issues that you have mentioned.
We are so glad that you had a great time at our hotel other than the items that you mentioned. We all hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We came down to Helen for a week night to see family that lived nearby and this was an excellent choice of place to stay. The staff was incredibly friendly and the room was very nice. My boys loved swimming in the indoor pool and the surroundings were very nice. The breakfast was excellent and the cookies are a very nice touch. If we make our way back to Helen for a quick trip or extended stay, we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcoolman1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to make every guest feel like family. We all hope to see y'all again in the future.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I liked everything about this hotel. The room was clean, the bed was ultra-comfortable, there was a new flat screen TV, a fridge and microwave, lightning fast internet connection. Virtually every hotel chain provides some sort of complimentary breakfast. The breakfast here was outstanding though. Fresh grits, yummy. Hot entree, milk choices, fresh fruit, great coffee. It would be hard to improve on these offerings. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnHelen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. Miss Carolyn does a wonderful job with the breakfast. We all hope to see you again real soon.

Sincerely-
Dana W. Bates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.5 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.2 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Address: 877 Edelweiss Strasse, Helen, GA 30545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#1 Business Hotel in Helen
#1 Family Hotel in Helen
#1 Green Hotel in Helen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want the best? Then stay with the best. Thank you for viewing our beautiful Country Inn & Suites of Helen, Georgia. We are in the North Georgia Mountains and centered in the Bavarian Town of Helen, Georgia. We are located in the center of downtown Helen. Walking distance to the shops, putt putt golf, tubing, Bigg Daddy's, the Hayloft...and the Helen Festhall. Our hotel is ready and willing to accommodate groups, families, honeymooners, senior travelers on a road trip....we are here to make sure what ever the reason you are here in Helen, we are here to accommodate YOU! We have a variety of room types such as a standard king or double queen, suites are both king and double queen, our fireplace rooms are very cozy during the fall and winter months, add some romance to your trip and check out our Jacuzzi rooms, we also have a handicap accessible room as well. Our loving rooms each include...micro/frig, coffee maker and iron/ironing board. Take a dip in our indoor heated pool or hot tub. Are you watching your figure....enjoy a good workout in a fitness room. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot cocoa and cookies in the lobby. Enjoy reading...check out our library, everything from children's books to novels. Let's not forget the FREE full hot breakfast... biscuits, sausage gravy, fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, juice, coffee, milk...you never know what Ms. Shari is going to fix for breakfast. Excellent customer service agents here to assist you in anything you need. Our staff is proud to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Helen
Country Inn & Suites Helen Hotel Helen
Country Inn Helen
Helen Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing