We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We called in on a Saturday morning while driving up and was greeted very friendly over the phone and in person. The rates were incredible and so were the rooms and views we will definitely be back. The Inn is close to everything and we liked the fact we could walk the town and be back at our room momentarily to relax before going out again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaPchs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
“Vielen Dank”, thank you very much for you kind words and this wonderful review. We are so glad that you took advantage of the Helendorf’s central location and can’t wait to see you back again. Be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program to be launched in Spring 2015.
Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    184
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
189
242
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

First time staying here was in November 2013, spur of the moment trip to Helen. At first call, was told there were no rooms, the lady placed me on a brief hold and voila'! she had a room for us! We LOVED it. Excited to hear it is updated! The view was a amazing! The leaves had fallen and of course it was too cold for tubers, but the view of the river was gorgeous. The staff was very friendly, the beds were comfy, the location was top notch! So much so that since we were planning our anniversary trip we decided to try the Helendorf again! So excited to learn of the changes to the rooms and can no wait to enjoy an evening on the balcony! Counting down the days!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheadlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
“Kommen Sie gut auf Rücken!” Well, come on back! It is always nice to here that our guests have had such a good time and I appreciate your review of the Helendorf. Our renovations of the riverfront balcony rooms are nearly complete and I can’t wait to hear what you think of our new improvements. Don’t forget to signup for our eNewsletter with events and discounts throughout the year.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Was such a nice surprise to see new furniture and a big flat screen tv in the rooms. we stay here for a weekend every Spring and were getting tired of the dark wood and red carpeting. Really looks great. People at the front desk were friiendly and very helpful. Only one negative. Housekeeping knocked on the door about 10 am the morning after we checked in and we were in the room. They never attempted to come back.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 210happytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
“Willkommen zurück!” Welcome back! It is always nice to here that our guests have returned and we especially appreciate a review from a Trip Advisor Senior Contributor. Thank you for your recognition of our continued improvements and we will work to reinforce our housekeeping procedures so that they are more attentive. Make sure you signed up for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program to be launched in Spring 2015.
We know we will see you again soon!
Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had stayed at the Helendorf Inn in Helen, GA two years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. When we made the reservation this year they gave us a room with a balcony overlooking the Chattahoochee River. The room we had was just renovated with new furniture, bathroom, carpet, etc. Everything was awesome. We sat out on the balcony until midnight. Awesome time!

Room Tip: Second floor balcony on the river. Awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNBIkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
“Vielen Dank”, thank you very much for this wonderful review and welcome back! You’re right, our renovation of our riverfront balcony rooms is almost complete and I am exceedingly happy that you have had a chance to visit us again to see all the changes. Be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program to be launched in Spring 2015. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Nice hotel, clean rooms, nice & helpful desk staff. VERY comfortable bed. Within walking distance of just about anything in town. Riverfront balcony was nice. Cooktop & oven in room but no pots, pans, silverware or dishes - must bring your own. Older building but that is part of the appeal.
Coffee maker with a little sugar & creamer but NO tea bags. "European" cream on the shower wall supposed to be used in place of soap & shampoo in the shower/tub but we preferred to use our own shampoo and bar soap from the sink. Door opens to outside and you must walk across the lot to get to the lobby/breakfast area.

Room Tip: Riverfront balcony room has a nice view and you can hear the river outside your window. Bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyjpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
“Dankeschön”, Thank you, for taking the time to write such a nice review on the Helendorf. It is always our desire to make everyone’s stay as fulfilling as possible and we will definitely look at having tea bags available in the future. We do have pots and pans available at the office for use in our kitchenette rooms so please don’t hesitate on your next stay with us to ask the front desk and they will be delivered.
Thank you again for visiting the Helendorf!
Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our room & riverfront view were great. The continental breakfast was just right. We had a great time. We were within walking distance of the Alpine Wedding Chapel where we were married on New Year's Eve, 2013. We also walked to the Chamber of Commerce's New Year's Eve Party which was a Great Family event. Everything considered, we had a Wonderful Wedding.

Room Tip: Riverfront patio room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturelover911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
"Herzlichen Glückwunsch zu Ihrer Hochzeit!" Congratulations on your wedding! We are so excited that you were able to stay with us for your wedding and the Chamber's New Year's Eve Party!!! Please be sure to sign up for our newsletter and be sure and plan your anniversary stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

It was the best stay for us. The night clerk was friendly and was so eager to help us. The room was great and comfortable. The clock in the room was not set forward, but that is minor. I will stay at the Helendorf Inn again. By the way the Apple Cider was a perfect finish to a very cold and windy night. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
“Dankeschon”, Thank you! We truly appreciate such a nice review here on Trip Advisor and you're right, there is no other hotel in Helen that you can walk out of your room to the river. I want to thank you for the pictures you posted and I see you have some of the new furniture that installed from our last delivery. Be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program coming soon. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 19 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.0 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing