We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Front”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“River Front”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in a river front patio room. This is the first time we stated in this type of room. We had a room and walked out the back door and to the steps leading to the river. We had a patio table with four chairs and we met some nice people. We made new friends in just a few hours of sitting outside. My husband played his guitar and the people in the other rooms came to listen to him play. We love the river front patio room. I will stay in that type of room every time that I visit this hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We came in early and they let me pay and do the paperwork so that we could park in the parking lot and visit the town.

Room Tip: River Front patio room because you can walk right to the river. You can sit and enjoy the sound of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaBubblegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    192
    61
    31
    23
See reviews for
197
252
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Best still. Love the river front balcony,No Wi-Fi that was a let down but I'm positive they'll correct that, they are so attentive about their customers, need more of a selection on the breakfast but all in all always awesome and the best place to stay.

Room Tip: River from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After reading reviews, I decided not to stay at Helendorf during my recent visit. I did stop by just to compare the reviews vs hotel.
We were greeted by a very friendly staff, I asked to see a riverfront room. We were taken to a very nice room. It was clean & spacious. She apologized for the musky smell that was in the room. The smell was very bad! on top of that I could smell pet urine,,,,the room was not a pet friendly room.The attendant stated that they had been doin a lot of upgrading but she name areas like the front desk, hallways, carpet....etc. & They were getting around to the rooms a few at a time. Maybe they need to focus on the carpet in the rooms or at least cleaning the carpet.
I would consider staying at the hotel but would request a room upfront that doesn't smell musky as I have bad allergies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in a large suite. They were able to accommodate us, my family and friends with all of our rooms being close. The staff here is really dedicated to making your stay the absolute best experience. We were asked several times by the front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance if we were having a good time and if we needed anything.
Our room had a great view of the river and I really enjoyed sitting on the balcony that morning with my coffee. It is such a peaceful and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times--so far. The hotel staff has been excellent, helpful, and always friendly. The rooms are decorated to the style of the hotel and are very clean. The hotel is being renovated with nice woodwork. The pool feels cozy and private. And you can play in the river behind the hotel. Also, it is only 1-2 blocks from everything. Very nice place to visit! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobb7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake Heights, mi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family stayed at the Helendorf July 25th thru July 28th, 2013 for our family reunion. It was awesome! The only problem we experienced that I am aware of was the internet access. That just made us spend more time actually communicating!! We have already considered coming back in a few years! The staff was very attentive to our needs and I think they actually enjoyed seeing how much fun we were having!!
Tracy Pardue Smith
Venue Organizer-Pardue Family Reunion 2013

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TRacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We; the bride and I, followed by a family, have stayed with the fine folks at the Helendorf for over 20 years now. It is a fine down home experience with an excellent location adjacent to the Chattahoochee River. All of the “main” attractions in Helen are an easy walk from the hotel. The staff has always gone above-and-beyond to ensure that our special needs (i.e., kids, pet(s), multiple families/friends, etc.) are always met to ensure our satisfaction during our stay. Our only request is that we have another twenty years plus to visit our friends at the Helendorf.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing