We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Helendorf Inn was a great place to stay with great staff and amazing service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Helendorf Inn was a great place to stay with great staff and amazing service.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Helendorf Inn for 4 nights straight. Every day the staff would come to tidy up the room, they were very attentive and always answered any questions I had. I look forward to returning in 2014

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighwayStarJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    188
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
192
245
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a wonderful stay over Father's day weekend. We stayed in one of the Riverfront Patios and fell in love instantly. The rooms were clean and cozy, a bit outdated but that is easily overlooked. My kids spent hours playing in the river and just enjoyed sitting outside watching everyone go tubing by. My husband absolutely loved it. The location is great and we plan on staying there again the next time we find ourselves in Helen!

Room Tip: Go for the Riverfront rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is an older property, but they take great pains to keep it clean. It is in a great location. We had a balcony overlooking the river - it was very peaceful. It does look dated, it is kind of kitschy, but they keep with the Bavarian theme! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernSweetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just returned from three nights at the Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center for our wedding anniversary. Is it new? No. Could it use some updating? Yes. Will we go again? Absolutely! The rooms overlooking the river, the short walk to shopping and restaurants and the very friendly, accomadating staff are what makes this a great place to stay. However beware that the shops in Helen seem to open and close at the whim of the owners. Some never opened while we were there. Also be sure to go tubing and also check out the Old Sautee village area about 4 miles out. Also don't miss Hofer's bakery and Helen's Country Cafe for breakfast. Paul's steaks and Seafood for dinner. We had a fantastic waiter named Ryan. Also, Bodensee for German food for dinner.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river! Worth the extra/
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is the best in town. Clean, convenient, friendly and accommodating staff, family owned and run since its inception. Has the best riverside relaxation area in town. Cant say enough good things about this place. You wont be disappointed. Its Helen, GA at its best.

Room Tip: Riverfront Patio. Most expensive, but there is a reason for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

For a relaxing experience in downtown Helen Ga this is the place to stay, however if you are on a tight budget you may need to look elsewhere, that said it's like anything else in life you do get what you pay for. The staff was top notch, friendly, courteous and treated us like family. The convince to the downtown can not be matched, we parked the car and did not need it again until it was time to leave. Just outside the hotel property are several great restaurants and a short walk a crossed the bridge are several more, downtown shopping and a couple of very nice night clubs. The room we were in had a private balcony overlooking the river, we spent hours on it watching the folks tube by. It was a rather large room by hotel standards with a mini stove, fridge and microwave, very clean too I might add, the only negative thing I can think of is the large flat screen TV should have been wall mounted, however that is minor in my opinion. We are very seasoned travelers, have been literally all over the world and before we left we booked 2 rooms for our next trip and are bringing the rest of the family with us, need I say more?

Room Tip: Riverfront balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I spent several days in Helen, Georgia and stayed at the Helendorf River Inn. The room was very nice with two queen size beds, a balcony overlooking the river and a very friendly and helpful staff. The location of the parking lots and the elevators made getting to and from our room very easy. We will make it a point to say at the Helendorf River Inn on our next visit. Our room was equipped with a refridgerator and a microwave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#11 of 18 in Helen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing