We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My mom, 2 children, and myself stayed here over the weekend. The room was a bit out dated but kept with the Bavarian/German theme of Helen. The room was larger than we expected and very clean!! We had a 1st floor room that opened directly onto the patio on the river. What a wonderful way to let kids play! The room had a great kitchenette with a stove, oven and fridge. The bathroom wasn't large, but had plenty of room to take care of business. The shower was great with wonderful water pressure and plenty of hot water! It is located in the middle of town for easy access to all the shopping. As for parking, the spaces are tight for larger vehicles, but there was a lower lot that would be adequate.
There was an indoor pool that appeared quite nice, however, we did not go swimming. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. There was coffee and cider provided in the lobby and a nice continental breakfast. Pricing was very surprising as it was well within our budget! It was also nice to stay in a locally owned business rather than a corporate giant. We will definately be back to visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kadensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
“Dankeschön”, Thank you! We truly appreciate such a nice review here on trip advisor. We enjoy providing our guests the best experience possible and strive to make their stay a pleasant one. “Kommen hinten schnell” (Comeback soon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    195
    62
    31
    22
See reviews for
199
257
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Garden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been staying here for over 3 years now, usually at least 2 times a year,and we are so grateful for the staff and nice place to stay.Love the location and the riverwalk and the balcony room overlooking river.The coffee and hot cider is so nice and the continental breakfeast.Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Play, SC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed this past weekend and was not impressed at all. No heat in our bathroom and the room were nice looking but musty and old smelling. Conference room was concrete floor and drafty! Ice machines were all broken in the whole building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtholbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was centrally located and had the best price. Rooms were clean, but not really big. HOWEVER, there was a HUGE awesome flat screen HDTV in the room, which more than made up for anything else since it was football season. The people were really nice. There was a continental type breakfast included. We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the middle of everything. Great theming (as well as the rest of Helen). Hotel is older and outdated but in good shape. Parking is a nightmare for a larger vehicle. Our room was clean with a balcony facing the stream, which was nice. We had a non-smoking room but we were constantly overwhelmed with smoke. There was a smoking area directly across our room and a 1/4" gap under our door, making our night extremely unpleasant. The staff were nice enough to let us check out early. We did not try the breakfast. Overall, our stay was ok, not on par with other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK4Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We always stay here and have always been happy. Quite and bed is awesome! Very clean, love to crack the door and listen to the sound of the river rolling down over the rocks ! Right downtown close to everything, sleep here then head on down to the Hayloft for some dancing and eating.

Room Tip: Get a river front room , crack your balcony door so you can listen to the flow of the river all nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Took a trip to Helen for New Years and stayed at the Helendorf. The price was extremely reasonable. Our room faced the river on the forth floor. The room had a jacuzzi tube, fireplace, 2 large flatscreen televisions, a small bar and kitchen. I was very impressed with the room and the value! It was a short walk to everything! I would recommend the Helendorf specifically the junior suites. The staff was more than welcoming and check out was really quick!

Room Tip: I recommend the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calilauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#9 of 19 in Helen
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing