We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplanned "Early Departure"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband & I were looking forward to our "Annual Trip to North Ga. Mountains" .Checked in @ Helendorf Inn , (our first time to stay there), on Wed.10-17-12- @4PM, for 3 day stay. At 2AM on Thurs, 10-18-12, I became very sick, had to come home. We checked out on Thurs. my husband explained this to front desk clerk, asking about possible refund, said she would, "speak to her subervisor" We understand their policy on early departures, but aren't there exceptions?? We were there less than 24hrs.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 394Mary394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Mary, I am so sorry your visit was cut short because you were not feeling well! Of course, we do take in to account special circumstances if there is an early departure. Your credit card was refunded on October 18th for the nights you were not able to stay with us. We look forward to having you visit again when you can stay longer & enjoy our beautiful City & all of Northeast Georgia Mountains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 622 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I visit Helen every year for our anniversary and we would never stay anywhere but the Helendorf!! We absolutely love the feel of the place. And the people there are spectacular!! It's close to everything. And since they have redone the riverfront it is more beautiful then ever. The rooms are clean and some have been updated. I know more renovations are coming and I look forward to visiting those rooms!! Thank you for your hospitality!!

Room Tip: Corner with balcony was great!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oddwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We first attended Octoberfest in Helen 25 years ago and stayed at the Helendorf Inn. We had such a good time, walking everywhere downtown and sitting on our riverfront balcony. We have gone back nearly every year. We just returned and were so pleased with the updating and renovation on the premises. The riverfront walk has added so much as has the cleaning, pruning and painting. The staff (our room maid has been there for years) are courteous and accomodating. Goodwill is the dispositon to return to a place where one has been well treated, we will return.

Room Tip: Riverfront, 3rd floor. 1st floor lacks privacy due to riverwalk. 2nd floor is smoking
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For 5+ years my family and I have attended Oktoberfest in Helen. We always stay at The Helendorf. We just returned from a 4 day stay there. Nicer than ever! Heated covered pool, new widescreen televisions, wi-fi, new ice machines, fresh paint. We park on arrival and walk anywhere in Helen. The Festhalle is a one minute walk. So we can easily come and go as we want.
If you want to experience the feel of Helen, Ga. this is the place to stay.
Honestly wouldn't stay anywhere else in Helen. That is how much we enjoy the atmosphere, staff & facilities at The Helendorf.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are riverfront with balconies. Definitely get a riverfront. The view is awesome and...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Moroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been staying at the Helendorf for 7 years in a row during the Helen Oktoberfest and while my stay is always incredible, this year they went above and beyond. Specifically, Sheryl is amazing! She went above and beyond the call of duty to help me with a personal issue and really saved the day. I can't say how great the hotel and staff is there and will continue to stay there every year when I come to Helen. Thanks so much Sheryl!!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the riverside rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel rooms need a makeover badly, along with the lobby. The room I was in could use some sprucing up. They do offer continental breakfast, all though it is slim pickings. Cereal, fruit, & breakfast bars. The breakfast area is lacking adequate seating. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Helen. I wouldn't stay here again. My favorite hotel in Helen is The Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton Inn instead.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genxer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

“Danke”, Thank you for your review of the Helendorf and I regret that you did not enjoy your stay. I would though like to let you know that we be starting our next phase of renovations as soon as Oktoberfest is over and would value another look next summer after we have completed our improvements. Some of the highlights of this winters renovations will included bathrooms and some furniture. Follow us on Facebook as we post progress with our renovations over the winter. We look forward to you seeing our continued improvements in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We love staying here.Staff friendly,beautiful view and riverfront balcony and great location to downtown.Having coffee and breakfeast in lobby is great for people who don't eat a big breakfeast.We have been staying there several years and will continue in the future.Love the riverwalk and thanks for making us feel so welcomed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing