We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best there is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best there is!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been staying at the Helendorf for 7 years in a row during the Helen Oktoberfest and while my stay is always incredible, this year they went above and beyond. Specifically, Sheryl is amazing! She went above and beyond the call of duty to help me with a personal issue and really saved the day. I can't say how great the hotel and staff is there and will continue to stay there every year when I come to Helen. Thanks so much Sheryl!!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the riverside rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    195
    61
    31
    22
See reviews for
199
255
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta,GA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel rooms need a makeover badly, along with the lobby. The room I was in could use some sprucing up. They do offer continental breakfast, all though it is slim pickings. Cereal, fruit, & breakfast bars. The breakfast area is lacking adequate seating. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Helen. I wouldn't stay here again. My favorite hotel in Helen is The Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genxer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
“Danke”, Thank you for your review of the Helendorf and I regret that you did not enjoy your stay. I would though like to let you know that we be starting our next phase of renovations as soon as Oktoberfest is over and would value another look next summer after we have completed our improvements. Some of the highlights of this winters renovations will included bathrooms and some furniture. Follow us on Facebook as we post progress with our renovations over the winter. We look forward to you seeing our continued improvements in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We love staying here.Staff friendly,beautiful view and riverfront balcony and great location to downtown.Having coffee and breakfeast in lobby is great for people who don't eat a big breakfeast.We have been staying there several years and will continue in the future.Love the riverwalk and thanks for making us feel so welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I made reservations at the same time as the other 3 couples we went with...and spent the same money. There room was descent and ours was below standards. Furniture was from 70s along with everything else. Bring your own shampoo as there is none and only 1 small bar of soap. Breakfast had packaged bagels, oranges and apples along with coffee. There is a coffee maker in the room but with no creamer or sugar. Although the reason we went to Helen was to go around town I still want to spend my money wisely and this wasn't it. Shower had very little pressure and went cold often....Extremely small bathroom. The ONLY plus is it's within walking distance of almost everything. Spend a couple more bucks a night to stay somewhere else. I will not stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpcyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us but apparently your friends did. During Oktoberfest we always have a full house and unless we know in advance that you are part of a group it makes it hard to accommodate you upon your arrival. I do want to stress that if you had annotated your group at the time of your reservation it was have been easy to place you next to your friends. Please check us next time your in Helen so you can see this off-seasons renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

When we first walked into the lobby, I though "uh oh". The bench cushion by the front door was filthy and probably 25 years old or better, and the entire place just did not look or feel clean. The sitting area around the fireplace/ breakfast area looked like the basement of a 1970's single guys home. The wood around the doors, frames and every piece of furniture was scratched, nicked, and was "tired". I had a purchased a "groupon" for our balcony room and had gotten a pretty good deal, so I thought, just give the place a chance. We went up the elevator (also worn, tired and dirty) and got to our room. As soon as I walked in I smelled a very old and musty smell. And just in case Mr. Gay (owner/manager) decides to say it is new carpet smell, or cleaning product, IT WASN'T. The chair in our room had a stain in a spot that made me know that there was NO WAY I was sitting on that to put my makeup on! The bedspread and linens were clean, but in no way luxurious... very cheap quality. Since I had prepurchased the groupon, we were kind of stuck staying. We got back to our room after walking the strip, shopping and eating some great food, and the cable was out. We called the desk and was told they would send someone to our room. Within seconds it came on. The guy shows up at the door and we told him it was working, and he said he was just fiddeling with someone elses who was complaining of the same thing! We really didn't plan on watching tv anyway, but is important to mention for those of you who might. We had brought a bottle of wine and poured us a glass to have on our balcony to watch the river and enjoy the rain that had just started to come down. We sat down in the plastic chairs that were on the balcony and realized that you could not see anything because the railing and slats were in position to completely block your view! So unless you stand up and look over, no river view! We stayed 9/30/12 and the Wifi, although showing "connected" after several attempts, did not work (connection poor). I had to turn off the wifi and just use my phone... which worked ok. The beds were VERY uncomfortable, and neither my husband or I slept well. Since we were only staying one night, we didn't pack shampoo, conditioner, etc, thinking that ALL hotels and inns supply the basic essentials... right?. Well, this one didn't. There is an old contraption in the shower that has a lever that you pull that says it is shampoo/body soap, but it was empty and probably hasn't been filled since those were popular back in the 70's!! There is a little sign that says "if you have forgotten... blah blah blah.... call the desk and they will supply.... but after all of this, we just used soap for shampoo and wore hats the next day! The shower pressure was the best thing about the room. That was wonderful..... until you realized that the shower curtain was only cloth with no liner, and the floor is soaking wet when you get out! Bottom line... I would not stay here again.... not even if "groupon" (or Mr. Gay) offered it up for free!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have an ongoing renovation program that last year included construction of our new 250 foot river wall, terraces, 6000 square foot patio, 42” flat screen TV‘s, new mattresses, bedding and drapes. This years renovations are about to start again and you will definitely notice a difference starting next spring. Unfortunately the Internet has been an issue lately because Windstream, our Internet Service Provider (ISP), occasionally has trouble maintaining service for businesses in our area. Please feel free to follow our ongoing renovations along with our nearly 3,000 friends on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St petersburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Were else can you walk out of your room sit on the patio and watch the river go by not much on the amepennities this is Helen so you don't go to spend time in the Hotel The room was well equipted with microwave stove and frig

Room Tip: Riverfront patio rooms can't be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
“Vielen Dank”, thank you very much for this wonderful review and your right, there is no other hotel in Helen that you can walk out of your patio room to the river. The river is one of our biggest amenities but we are working on plans add more and would greatly appreciate any and all suggestions. Be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program to be launched in Spring 2013. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My 5 year old and I took a mother/daughter weekend to Helen. We stayed in a riverfront balcony non-smoking room on the second floor. It had two comfortable queen beds and a small minifridge/microwave combo that was convenient for storing snacks. For $187 a night, I expected a little more. The Inn is very old. The room was clean but chairs/couches had severe stains. The shower was clean but there was a large stained patched area in the shower wall and no way to plug the drain to fill the tub. The heat lamp did not work. There was one bar of facial soap and a very dirty appearing single soap dispenser in the shower. Not sure what was in it as it was not marked. The location is great on the river and the river walk from our balcony was the nicest I saw in Helen. I called to the front desk to request a 11:30 check out and I was politely told they could not do so. Average hotel, great location. Could use a little updating.

Room Tip: A patio riverfront room would have been the most convenient to enjoy the river walk and Oktoberfest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
“Danke”, Thank you for your review of the Helendorf and I would like to let you know that we are continuing our renovations as soon as Oktoberfest is over and would value another look next summer after we have this upcoming phase completed. Some of the highlights of this winters renovations will included bathrooms and some furniture. Follow us on Facebook as we post progress with our renovations over the winter. We look forward to you seeing our continued improvements in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#9 of 19 in Helen
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing