We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Convenient but overpriced during Oktoberfest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient but overpriced during Oktoberfest”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My 5 year old and I took a mother/daughter weekend to Helen. We stayed in a riverfront balcony non-smoking room on the second floor. It had two comfortable queen beds and a small minifridge/microwave combo that was convenient for storing snacks. For $187 a night, I expected a little more. The Inn is very old. The room was clean but chairs/couches had severe stains. The shower was clean but there was a large stained patched area in the shower wall and no way to plug the drain to fill the tub. The heat lamp did not work. There was one bar of facial soap and a very dirty appearing single soap dispenser in the shower. Not sure what was in it as it was not marked. The location is great on the river and the river walk from our balcony was the nicest I saw in Helen. I called to the front desk to request a 11:30 check out and I was politely told they could not do so. Average hotel, great location. Could use a little updating.

Room Tip: A patio riverfront room would have been the most convenient to enjoy the river walk and Oktoberfest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
“Danke”, Thank you for your review of the Helendorf and I would like to let you know that we are continuing our renovations as soon as Oktoberfest is over and would value another look next summer after we have this upcoming phase completed. Some of the highlights of this winters renovations will included bathrooms and some furniture. Follow us on Facebook as we post progress with our renovations over the winter. We look forward to you seeing our continued improvements in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    187
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
192
244
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

i went back to Helen, GA with my daughter to check on cabins and other pet-friendly accommodations, for a family vacation we were planning for either Thanksgiving or Christmas. I was thrilled when my daughter picked this hotel because I liked the location, on top of the fact that the place is pet-friendly.

The front desk person was warm and welcoming. We were given a room with a balcony that overlooks the river. It was very relaxing to sit on the balcony, have our dinner and listen to the sound of the water splashing through the rocks. My daughter and her dog had such fun dipping their feet on the water. The room was big enough to comfortably accommodate four people. The exposed ceiling beams was a delight and speaks positively of an older building. I like the way the bathroom was set up, small as it is. There was a sink inside and another sink outside of the bathroom. The electric stove/oven was just the right size. We were offered use of cookware, silverware and dinnerware, so we can to cook our food should we get tired of restaurant fare.

The location is excellent, being right smack on Main Street, so that we could walk to restaurants, the gift shops, other attractions, and even Dollar General. We were offered use of cookware, silverware and dinnerware, so we can to cook our food should we get tired of restaurant fare.

With all these good things, the place needs some good upgrades. Our room, while clean, reeks of old smell. There was an unfinished bookshelf on the side which seemed useless. The carpet appears to have been newly installed but somehow failed to improve the overall look and smell of the room. The balcony's cleaning must have been overlooked, because I could see several cobwebs on the ceiling and the rails were very dusty. The bed covers did not appear worn out but they give you that certain "icky" feeling. The mattresses, while not awful, needs to be upgraded. I wonder if a good wall wash and painting would improve the overall condition of the room.

To sum it up, the location is soooo great and overall staff is courteous and helpful. Be sure to bring Lysol to spray everywhere to make you feel more comfortable. If you like to be closer to the water, request for a 1st floor room. However, 2nd floor is great because you don't get bothered by others walking by your room or staying outside on the deck in front of you. Also, don't forget to bring your own toiletries (shampoo, conditioner and body wash.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0la3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
“Danke”, thank you for your review and those kind words about the Helendorf, not to mention the beautiful photo you posted from your balcony room. I would like to let you know that we have identified the issues you addressed to include the cobwebs and are working to reinforce procedures. Along with reinforcing procedures I want you to know that we are also in the middle of a renovation and will be continuing more this winter in the off-season. Please be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Loved being right on the river. The river front patio is wonderful! It is nice to sit out on the patio watching the vistor's float down and play in the river. We took our chairs down and sat in the water. The kids loved this. Super nice staff, free breakfast was good (not grits, bacon and waffles) but free so not complaining! Cereal, donuts, bagels, ect... Nice that it is right in town, but feels "away from it all". Walking distance to lots of shopping and eating. The room we stayed in wasnt that nice. It was older, musky, and could use some updating. We did stay in a pet friendly room so that could have something to do with it. Still feel they could have been nicer. Pool was nice, but on the other end of the property. Would be nice to have a pool out front and a some hot tubs!

Room Tip: Loved the river front rooms with walk out patios. Lots of patio space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmf1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
“Dankeschön”, Thank you for your review and let me just say that we can’t agree more about the new patio and are so happy you enjoyed it. I did want to let you know that we will be doing another phase of our renovations this winter during the off-season and the pet rooms are on track to have new floors and other upgrades. Follow us on Facebook as we post progress with our renovations over the winter. Then plan a trip and comeback to see the improvements in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We purchased a Groupon offer for the Helendorf and decided to use it for our 41st wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The location was excellent - by walking a short sidewalk - we were right in the center of town. We never had to move our vehicle (which saved on parking fees).
*From the first call, the employee advised that we check in and then walk around Helen - in order to save on parking fees.
*NORMAN - we loved him! He advised us of the best restaurants, he was so personable and had such an infectious smile!
*The complimentary breakfast - riveled most hotels - they really had a great offering.
*River front room - loved it! It was so relaxing to set and watch the water ripple over the rocks. Just what we needed.
I want to return with my grandchildren and will definitely stay at the Helendorf. They would love the river and I would like being so close to the town.
Great stay! Kudos and many thanks to Norman.

Room Tip: Honestly not sure if they have other rooms - but, be sure to request a waterfront room just in case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
“Glücklicher 41 Hochzeitstag”, Happy 41st wedding anniversary and thank you for this great review. This was our first time partnering with Groupon and your comments are icing on a successful venture, especially with such nice quests. I will be sure to pass you comments on the staff. Be sure and sign up for our newsletter and keep up with all the happenings at the Helendorf and in Helen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just got back from my weekend trip to Helen Ga. with a group of military buddies that I was stationed with in Augsburg Germany. This hotel was in the middle of everything. They do offer group rates and the facility is very clean. The free morning breakfast was very limited, so if you need hardy, talk a short walk down the street. The WiFi signal was very low, so don't count on it if you plan on doing any work or other forms of communications. Other than those two things it was a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, don't get the room directly over the restaurant. Music and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
“Dankeschön”, Thank you, for your kind review and service to our country along with this nice review. It is always our desire to make everyone’s stay as fulfilling as possible and we are studying ways to improve the continental breakfast to better accommodate our guests. Watch for our Veterans Day military specials so that we can see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stopped in for a couple of days at the Helendorf while visiting in Helen, Ga. Great, friendly staff. Nice clean, quaint rooms overlooking the river. Continental breakfast was as good as any. (Could use a new, faster four slice bagel toaster.) Not a luxury hotel but rather a comfy home away from home feeling. Gorgeous views and property and very well taken care of. We very much enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaykeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Response: “Kommen Sie gut auf Rücken!” Well come on back! It is always nice to here that our guests have had such a good time and I appreciate your review of the Helendorf. We will definitely take a look at the toaster and I will also let the staff know you were happy with their support. Signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program to be launched in Spring 2013. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Went there the beginning of Helen's Octoberfest. The staff were very nice and let us get into the room early. We had a Riverfront Patio room that was wonderful the patio was wide and had stairs leading to the river. There were patio chairs and a table to eat or relax from or you could leave the door open and keep the screen door shut to allow a breeze through the room. Everything was clean and kept well. The hotel is located in the middle of Helen so everything was within walking distance in the town, including the Feasthall for the festival, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Recommend the Riverfront Patio Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
“Dankeschön”, Thank you! We truly appreciate such a nice review and the nice picture you provided of our new patio on the river here on trip advisor. We enjoy providing our guests the best experience possible and strive to make their stay a pleasant one. “Kommen hinten schnell” (Comeback soon!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#11 of 18 in Helen
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing