We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kathy and sisters.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
“Kathy and sisters.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I bought 2 Living Social deals for a 2 night stay for my 3 sisters and myself and our rooms had balconies and an adjoining door so we kept it open the whole time. I am sure that the landscaping if finished by now. I know it is beautiful and can't wait to come back and see what it looks like now. We had such a great experience and have recommended to alot of people and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
What an exciting time at the Helendorf during your stay with all of our river terrace and landscaping renovations! This was our first partnership with Living Social and we are so glad to say that it has brought us wonderful guests such as yourself and your sisters. Be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    184
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
189
242
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, GA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Good location & in the center of everything. We were able to walk to many of the local interest. we especially liked the bakery & the food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My best friend surprised me with a three day getaway to Helen for my Birthday. Upon check in everyone was very friendly and helpful. We had a river view room with balcony. Everything was clean and fresh. I think it's probably the best location in Helen. It was right in the middle of the main strip, so anything you could be there in minutes.Any questions we had were eagerly answered by hotel staff and regularly give ideas we hadn't considered. We took day trips to explore the wonderful wineries all in an easy drive from Helen. And what wonderful wine it was. Would absolutely stay many more times.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boatina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
It sounds like you had an exciting time in Helen and at the Helendorf during your stay. We support all of the local wineries in our eNewsleter so be sure and signup on our website and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I purchased LivingSocial deal for the Helendorf for a couple's spring break trip with my boyfriend. The Helendorf staff were very attentive and knowledgeable about the best places to eat (Nacoochee Grill and Big Daddy's!). We had a river balcony room with 2 queen beds. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean. The sight and sounds of the river were calming and refreshing. We had no problems going to sleep after a long day out in town, because the mattress and sheets were so comfortable! There was a nice flat screen TV in the room, also. Having the indoor heated pool was a great little side activity right before bed. My favorite things about the Helendorf were the beautiful white and pink cherry blossoms that decorate the courtyard and the Bavarian murals on the buildings. They really added to the theme that the Helendorf conveys! The continental breakfast was plenty. There were bagels, Poptarts, granola bars, fresh fruits, etc. The lounge has a gorgeous fireplace with a flat screen TV and Mac desktop computer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aileenjoanna26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review of the Helendorf. This was our first partnership with Living Social and we are so glad to say that it has brought us wonderful guests such as yourself. Be sure and signup for our eNewsletter and keep an eye out for our new loyalty program. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Excellent room with 2 queen beds and impeccably clean interior- house keepers are great and very friendly. Best rate in area for comfortable accommodations- on the river and walking distance tall sitea and good restaurants.
Avoid Paul's supposed best steak- had atough ribeye that cost $24.
Go to Wendell's about 3 miles out of town for inexpensive full breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for river room- if you visit with family, book a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBobAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Helendorf and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. We will soon have our new riverwall and riverfront patio completed for your additional enjoyment. Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

My fiancée and I joined several other couples on a St. Patty's Day trip to Helen, GA. Helendorf made this experience so much more fun! We were all amazed at the fact that no two rooms were exactly the same - each one had something different and special about it. Much different than chain hotel! The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating - my only complaint was that the ice machine and Coke machine were down in the 700 building, and from what I was told by regular Helendorf guests; it has been that way for a while. But, soft drinks aside, this was an excellent hotel and I will be back - I've already booked a room for Labor Day weekend!

Room Tip: 700 building does not have working soft drink or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helendorf, Owner at Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of the Helendorf and the staff is working to solve the ice machine and coke machine issue. We look forward to seeing you and your fiancee again in the near future and encourage you to try enjoy our new riverwall and riverfront patio that is almost complete for your additional enjoyment. Richard Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My mom and I spent 3 days in Helen, and selected the Helendorf because of a Living Social deal they had. I looked at the hotel on line, and was a little concerned about the rooms seeming "dated".

When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly front desk staff, who were eager to share about Helen and what to see and do, and had great suggestions on where to eat. They checked us in quickly and showed us the room. We arrived in the room - 2 queen beds, a couch, coffee table, desk, and dresser. The beds were nice and firm, and the linens were clean and fresh and quite pretty (AND a major deal to me - they used FITTED sheets on the bottom rather than a flat sheet that comes untucked). The room was IMMACULATELY clean. I am a former hotel housekeeper, so I'll give most rooms a dust test when we get in them, and this passed with FLYING colors.

Yes, this hotel is starting to show it's age a little bit, but it's clean, and I've been in MUCH worse that cost MUCH more. This hotel makes the entire town of Helen easy to walk to, and they provided wonderful service. We'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get a river side room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bblakely1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.0 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing