We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love the Helendorf Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
tifton, ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We love the Helendorf Inn!”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I have visited Helen, GA many times, and we've stayed at several different hotels. The Helendorf is definitely our fave. The owners are super friendly, and so are the staff members. We usually go in the winter, and the rates then are amazingly cheap. This hotel has a perfect location. Parking in Helen isn't always easy, but the Helendorf is in the heart of the village, so you can't walk everywhere.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the section closest to the "main drag."
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    190
    60
    30
    22
See reviews for
194
248
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The new wall on the river, looks amazing. I am very impressed with the results of all the hard work and planning that went into this project. The work to protect our environment is very important and The Helendorf keeps raising the standard. I like that.
I actually did not travel to Ga, but look at the facebook page with all the picutres of the work being performed.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank pjstoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have been staying at Helendorf several times now and it just gets better.Everyone is so accomadating and helpful.Love being able to walk downtown and sit on our balcony and watch the river flowing by and tubing during season.Coffee and hot cider during winter really hits the spot.The continental breakfeast is also great.Looking forward to going back and seeing the wall they are building around the grounds at the river Check it out on facebook.It is an older motel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in a small suite in early December and were pleasantly surprised at the new level of comfort and upgraded decor of the suite. Everything felt clean and fresh, the suite was big but cozy, warm and welcoming at the same time. The working fireplace, with real wood to burn provided by the hotel, was wonderful to sit in front of after exploring the town. The pretty Christmas decorations in the suite were an exceptionally thoughtful holiday gesture by the hotel, and added the perfect touch to the whole experience. The staff is always so helpful and welcoming at this hotel, and makes you feel special whenever you are there. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 841EAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Helendorf Inn was clean; atmospheric; comfortable beds; lots of warm water; great TV, fridge and microwave; great location; friendly, capable staff; nice pool and reasonable price. We and our teens had a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: The balcony room on the river was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The the hotel staff was very friendly and courteous, but I found the room to be average at best. The room's interior had a very dated, 1970s-ish feel to it, but I wasn't expecting the Ritz-Carlton, so I wasn't very surprised. Additionally, the walls were EXTREMELY thin, as we were unfortunately subjected to our noisy, drunken neighbors' conversations/partying/arguing/shouting/general idiocy the entire night. Although I was quite agitated and secretly wished to toss a grenade in their room, I was again not surprised, because this was the beer drinking, wiener schnitzel-eating town of Helen on a weekend, after all, and there is alcohol within five feet of you every which way. So, the occasional obnoxious turkey or turkeys is to be expected.

All in all, great customer service, average room with thin walls, and decent rates for what you get. However, I think it's safe to say that we will not be staying in this tourist trap town again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed in Helen after Thanksgiving. Had a wonderful trip! The Helendorf was the perfect location to stay as it is located just steps from all the shops and restaurants. I traveled with my mother and 2 little ones. Some of the reviews indicate that the hotel is dated, but everything in our room was perfect and clean. We stayed in a room with a patio. Loved the view of the river from our room and my little ones loved Rapunzel painted on the exterior wall! Overall, this is a very cute alpine village/german themed inn. Its not ritzy, but its not intended to be. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tj330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing