We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best and Friendliest View on the Chattahoochee River” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best and Friendliest View on the Chattahoochee River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were up there for Helen to Atlantic Hot Air Balloon Race. I have stayed there several times and like the wines made in the Helen area, this place only gets better with time. This place is American owned and has been a family operation for 2 generations and was started by an ex military guy. This owners and staff will make you feel at home if you give them the chance. While some may call the place dated, renovations are in progress and the mountain and river views more than compensate for this. Location is on the main drag through Helen and offers free parking. Downtown is a 5 minute walk across the river and other attractions such as hiking, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and tubing are close by. The place is also animal friendly. Most room have mini fridge, microwave, coffee service, and wi fi with some having small kitchenets. WI-FI is free and they also have a banquet.meeting facility on premises aling with indoor heated pool. This is a resort area with year round events so it pays to make reservations early. Fall season duing Octoberfest is especially busy for leaf watchers and good time can be had on weekend in the Festhall. Only 90 minutes from metro Atlanta visting here is an easy weekend trip.

Room Tip: Reserve early , ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Newsbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    184
    59
    30
    22
See reviews for
189
242
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Friendly service, clean rooms, and a great hiker rate.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinhatchee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

The hotel was very clean, and walking distance to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Located right on the river, it is a very pleasant place to visit. The hotel staff was very kind and courteous. We will be returning again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caretakert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I traveled here for a big event and the staff did a great job accomodating the influx of people and keeping the grounds neat. The location is ideal for someone wanting to spend time in Helen. I loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyb4973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

While hiking the Appalachian Trial, we stopped in Helen due to forecasted storms. The Helendorf was very hospital to us, even as smelly hikers! The second night of our stay the South East was hit with the most violent storms seen in over 30 years. The city's tornado alarm sounded sending us running with our packs to the basement. Through it all the staff continued to focus on our needs, bringing us food and drinks throughout the night, when they could have been huddled into a safe place. I cannot say enough about the staff here! Very Very Impressed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliastutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Love this place. I've been staying here since I was a child and now I bring my husband and children here. It feels like home. Quaint, cozy, walk to everything, fab views, my teenage son loved to fish in the river. My daughter thinks we are staying in a fairy tale!!! Something for everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensoesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

They didn't give us more then a few choices on this site. We were there last in October 2009. We have been guests of the Helendorf multiple times and have loved every stay!! We plan on going again this September for our anniversary. We were married at the Chapel next to the hotel on 9-23-06. The Hotel went out of their way to be sure that all our guests had the best rooms. The Helendorf rocks!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oddwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 19 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.0 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing