We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of being called barbeque” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of A B's Bar-B-Que

A B's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Hawkinsville
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A google search will turn up multiple listings for this restaurant including its location.
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Not worthy of being called barbeque”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Mustard & vinegar sauce was fair, not very balanced. Smoked chicken was nice with a good pink to meat, though portion was small. Ribs were tender to the point of mushiness. Perhaps boiled or covered with foil, which amounted to the same thing. Could only taste that vinegar sauce. "Brunswick Stew" was a small cup of reddish mush with no identifiable vegetables. It tasted of onions and mustard. The worse was the pulled pork. It was awash in the sauce and had many large chunks of fat and gristle in it. This restaurant clearly does not care about its product.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Owners need to spend more time at the restuarant. Food and cleanliness is not what it used to be. Totally a disappointment these days. Food quality has really suffered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hvilledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Burgers, Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I ate here a few weeks ago and eat here regularly. My wife and I usually get a burger and we love them. My kids like the chicken fingers which are very big and taste great. AB's serves crinkle cut fries which are favorites for my entire family. The only reason I can't give an excellent is that the building needs some updating in the restrooms which sometimes seem a little dirty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gacoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastman GA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Local Dive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I enjoyed it. We stopped in on the way back from a hunting trip. The place is old school, but the food is pretty good. The potions were a little on the small side and their "large" sandwich wasn't that large, but tasty none the less. I enjoyed enough to come back, but not the best I have eaten.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fried chicken, but I wish they would scrub down the place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We like Ab's. We just get it to go. The restaurant could use a really good cleaning though. Everything always feels sticky, the table, the floor and the seats.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chichi1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A B's Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to A B's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing