We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Pit Boss BBQ

Pit Boss BBQ
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Hapeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is just your everyday little BBQ restaurant. The smoked wings with sauces are to die for. Try the lemon pepper with mild sauce. The only thing is the wings are $1.00 a piece which is a bit much but they are smoked and not tiny at all so I guess that's why I keep getting them. The pulled pork sandwiches are good. I wasn't too happy with the rib tips though. They do have excellent lunch specials.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    56
    20
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

A friend suggested that we meet him there for lunch while my husband and I were in town, I am do glad that he did!!!
This location is kinda hidden behind other buildings but worth finding. This is the best BBQ that I have had in a very long time.
The BBQ pork was tender flavorful and the sauce was amazing! My husband and I also shared ribs. They were absolutely perfect!
Don't miss the home-made cakes. We took a slice with us to eat on the road... One bite and I had to finish it, not even 20 minutes out of town!
Well worth the price that was very reasonable!

Helpful?
Thank LeAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I was staying at the airport Hilton for a few days on business and wanted to try some local cuisine. The Pit boss BBQ was the best 8 minute walk I have taken!
It has a pretty basic set up, hybrid restaurant/take away but it's not about the surroundings, the food is just amazing.
I tried a mix of meats, ribs, brisket and chopped chicken. Wow!
We don't have anything like this in the UK, I really wish we did. The food was melt in the mouth perfect!
I went back for a second time and the guy I presume is Pit Boss gave me a little tour of the cooking area, it smelt incredible, a real Adam Richman moment!
If you want a man v food pig out moment with terrific food, I'd definitely recommend. The food leaves some very high end restaurants I have been to in the shade.
No pretension or B/S, just great food!
Thanks Pit Boss! The memory of that food will last a long time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glutton4Punishment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Worth the walk from the hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at one of the local hotels north of the airport on business and did a quick search for restaurants on the computer, and lo and behold, this gem showed up. Mmmmmm, good! It was only about 6-8 blocks from where I was staying and definitely the best choice for lunch and dinner. Food is great, service is fast, and very friendly. I'm from the NW and while we have great microbrews and coffee shacks, we don't have BBQ, and this place makes me think we need to figure out how to bring it over....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johncX7004KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still the best BBQ in ATL”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This place hasn't changed much over the years, but when the food is already delicious, that's a good thing! The aroma of the smoker is all over the restaurant. Don't expect 5 star conditions on the inside, but do expect a great meal filled with flavor.

Helpful?
Thank BlueBassBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pit Boss BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Pit Boss BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing