We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation”
Review of Butterducks Winery

Butterducks Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Guyton
Attraction details
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“vacation”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a wonderful experience here. The ladies were very helpful and nice. The owner came over
and gave advice. The prices were great and also the wine. We got a bottle of wine and cheese tray and ate on the grounds. they gave us a discount. Wished we had them pin here in Virginia.
Will definite go here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosieway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent a few hours here, the ladies were very informative, friendly, and the wines are incredible. My husband and I prefer sweeter wines, and they have an extensive offering, all very reasonably price between $9 - $15, with nice discounts by the case. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandraVoelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful Southern winery in the woods of Guyton, delicious wines, wonderful place!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family and I have been to several events here, even though the winery is about 45 minutes away from our home in Savannah--to me, it's definitely worth the drive out there, and really easy to find. Set in the midst of a wooded area, surrounded by trees, with a duck pond, long driveway, outdoor picnicking spot and lots of delicious wines to try, you really shouldn't miss it! Get on their email list or check their Facebook page for monthly events! We like to go best around Valentines Day or in the autumn when the woods look so lovely, and I always take a long walk around the property, go say 'hello' to the ducks in the pond, and take plenty of photos. Their gift shop includes some really incredible gourmet delights--not a huge variety, but everything is so good! I especially like the dip mixes and the horseradish cheese. They are famous for their sweet Blackberry and the sweet Peach wines, which are not made of grapes, but fermented from the actual fruit! They also have a short tour of the winery, and sometimes hold wine-tasting events where the owner gives you info on how wine is made, what wine to have with which foods, etc. which are informative, fun and tasty! There is also the Soup and Wine Day, the Valentine's Day special, and --my favorite!--Customer Appreciation Day! Definitely take the time to shop and taste and look, and take a nice walk around the property. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable and will hlelp you with any choices of wine for your own home or for gifts!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heart_of_Imladris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah,ga
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice people”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

They take the time to educate the novice regarding the basics of wine tasting. They have a varied choice of different wines. We just enjoyed the entire experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sweetgatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice local varieties and fruit wines, too!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place is friendly, charming, and has great wine to boot. I like the dry blueberry best.
Yummy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterducks Winery also viewed

Been to Butterducks Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing