We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just do appetizers if you want to try this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Eagle and Lion Brew Pub - CLOSED

Eagle and Lion Brew Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
MILNER
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just do appetizers if you want to try this place”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have really wanted to like this little restaurant, but the food is just not that great. The last time we went, we tried the bangers and they made us sick. Tonight I tried the chef salad. No ham, no boiled egg, just lettuce, tomato, red onion and shredded American cheese. That is not an $8 salad, nor is it a chef salad, it is just a big salad. If you want to have wings or appetizers, I think it would be a better choice. My husband ordered Billy's philly with onion rings, a tiny little roast beef hoagie with 6 onion rings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shereen_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Great Time!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We took a road trip to the Eagle and Lion with high expectations for authentic British ale and were NOT disappointed! Arrived for beer and dinner at 6PM on a quiet Sunday evening. Greeted immediately by a young man and were seated at table of our choice. He took quite a bit of time explaining and describing the different house beers and introduced us to our waitress, who quickly took our drink order and kept checking back with us to make certain we had what we needed. The pub owner, who is clearly passionate about making beer, came over to talk with us as well, warmly sharing his story about bringing British ale making to Griffin. We ordered dinner - delicious and generous portions of fish and chips arrived quickly. Played some darts, drank some more beer and had a fabulous time. It is clear that the staff and the owner are serious about making authentic British beer and educating those who come in about what they serve, but are more than willing to cater to American taste as well by offering a fairly wide selection of bottled and tap beers (Harpoon and Bud Lite on tap!) We felt very much welcomed, and not like outsiders at all. We would happily return to the Eagle and Lion - just wish it wasn't so far from home!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guscat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In-house brews”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A good selection of in-house brewed been. I like them all. The food is so-so, but I have never been really disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should have been so much better”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Eagle and Lion seems like it SHOULD be a great place. Nice looking exterior and interior, plenty of room, nice bar, etc., but our experience was not a good one. Our waitress had no clue what beers were available, and when asked about some of the beers brewed on site had no input as to flavor, style, etc. This is a brew pub right? One of us finally walked to the bar to see what was on tap as it was indicated the menu may not be current. We ordered a couple of site brewed beers and they were warm, flat and really just not that good compared to other area craft brews. The food we ordered was passable at best, but overall was a little on the greasy side and disappointing given we tried some of the supposed house "specialties". To top it all off one of the members in our party got in a battle with the waitress over what was included in his meal. The menu clearly stated it came with a side which he ordered, but it did not arrive with the meal. When we asked the waitress if the side was coming she insisted it was not included. After going back and forth with her we finally asked if she would please check the menu as we knew what it said on it. She finally came back with the side item and admitted it was on the menu. This alone was fine as mistakes happen, however her sarcastic remark of "yea, you are the expert" was rude and uncalled for. This should have been a good place and we would have liked to recommend it to others searching for a brew pub experience, but that won't be happening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scottj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“local pub likes the locals”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice beer selection, limited food selection---and not that great. Cute local bar but seems lots of locals hang out there and appears they are catered to as we were left sitting at a table for many minutes before our waitress appeared. Has potential.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle and Lion Brew Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing