We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz-Carlton Again Meets Our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Ga.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ritz-Carlton Again Meets Our Expectations”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After much discussion we settled on the Ritz-Carlton Lodge at Reynolds Plantation as the place to spend our anniversary weekend. We made an excellent choice. First, the RC staff are friendly and helpful. Next, the facilities are superb. The hotel property is wonderfully positioned on the banks of lake Oconee and adjacent to the Reynolds Plantation Golf Club. We didn't play golf but we did make use of the RC spa and we rented a pontoon boat for a relaxing afternoon ride on the lake. After dinner we found two adirondack chairs, at the edge of the lake, and just enjoyed a quiet evening of talking and getting in touch, far from the madding crowd of home. Our room and the service was just what we've some to expect from Ritz-Carlton... excellent. We Highly Recommend the Ritz-Carlton Lodge at Reynolds Plantation.

Room Tip: This hotel is on an inland lake. They have a beach and water activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InConstantPursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    198
    82
    43
    30
See reviews for
302
373
13
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sc
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This is great resort to visit with family. We took our three kids and they loved it. The pool and lake are great. We we're give an upgrade upon arrival and what an awesome upgrade it was. Thanks RC. The restaurants are great. We had dinner by the pool one night, and ate at Georgia's the other. Both were good. A big thanks to Travis at the pool, who took care of us both days. If your going to the pool, be prepared. It's a busy place on the weekends. The lake is a nice diversion. We rented a boat, and took the kids tubing which they loved. Our kids loved making their own Smore's during the evening, and playing basketball on the nearby court. Overall, a great trip. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bcw7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I have visited this location for his company's annual retreat for at several years.
The location is beautiful, overlooking a lake with a golf course and spa. The food is always good and the entertainment lively. It is kid and pet friendly. They really dress up the place with lights during the Christmas holidays.
If you are planning a stay, book your spa time before you go. The slots fill up pretty quickly.
Each room has a view of the lake with balcony. Suites are like being at home.

Room Tip: They were doing renovations of the pool area on our last visit, would request room on higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJClark34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I am a Ritz Gold Member. I have stayed at numerous Ritz Properties: Orlando Grand Lakes, Key Biscyane, Amelia Island, New York City, Los Angeles, Lake Tahoe, Naples, and Reynolds Plantation. This Property by FAR the worst run I've ever seen. It's truly a shame because it has a beautiful location. The property itself is a little aged but the location makes up for it.

I reserved a lake view suite. I was told that all suites are lake view suites. Our travel companions were told that not all suites are lake view suites. I called again and asked: are all suites lake view suites? I was told yes. I checked in and was given a suite that was not a lake view suite. It didn't even qualify as a partial lake view suite. They finally put us in a lake view suite. To add insult to injury, I was told they would give me a $150 credit on my bill. THEY NEVER DID!!!!! Really? The Ritz can't even get a $150 dollar credit on the bill right. The food at Gaby's by the lake sucks. The service is even worse. We signed up for the vacation portraits. The photographer took our pictures but couldn't even schedule a review until AFTER we left. What a joke. If you visit the area, don't stay at the Ritz. It definitely is not worth the extra money for the Ritz brand because this property doesn't and can't deliver.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jasona1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph v, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear jasona1974,

Thank you for taking my call this afternoon and while your feedback was difficult to hear, I genuinely enjoyed our conversation. Your points are well taken and I hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust over the Thanksgiving time period.

We look forward to welcoming you back, please don't hesitate to contact me at the resort if I can be of service.

Best regards,

Ralph Vick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Poor services started from very beginning and would not let up, staff doesn't seem to be well trained. Staff at Gaby's would not clear empty glasses or plates from table, they were not attentive. Plates and empty glasses seem to pile up everywhere in area around pool.

Pool area is much to small.

Bathroom was not very clean when we arrived, needed vacuumed. Hair and other debris on floor and in tub.

Bell staff was very slow. Saw a confrontation between another guest and member of bell staff that was shocking. My advice would be to carry your own luggage.

The maintenance of the property was also lacking. Weeds growing in concrete cracks by baby pool. Plenty of other examples, property just seems very worn and not well cared for.

Golf courses were in great shape.

As a Marriott Platinum member I stay in a number of hotels, but won't be back to this property. All of the other negative reviews are on target. Terrible value. I regret coming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SETrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph v, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear SETrav,

Thank you for your time this morning on the call, albeit under regretful circumstances. Let me once again apologize for your services lapses over this peak holiday weekend and know that we are working diligently to correct them for our future guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, please don't hesitate to contact me personally if I can be of service.

Best regards,

Ralph Vick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband had stayed here years ago at Christmas & loved it, but we had even more fun with the kids & Summer activities. Yes it was expensive, but service, food, & activities were top notch. We enjoyed the Yolo boards, kayaks, & wave runners on the lake. The infinity pool was refreshing. They had tons of games & activities for the kids to celebrate the 4th. We can't wait to plan our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wow! What a wonderful resort. Everyone is so friendly are the service is exceptional. This Resort also is great for children. The always have some fun activity for them to do. From Jet Skiing, to Segwaying, to Ritz Kids. The'll have a blast. The rooms are roomy and a very pretty. This Ritz Carlton is great and I highly advise you spend your vavction here!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. At night it can be noisy. If you are booked as a club level room don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelsforKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
5.0 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
7.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
64 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milledgeville
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
317 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton on Lake Oconee, GA offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz Greensboro
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing