We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible - Save your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I stayed here for a second time on behalf of the General Manager. My dates were from August 30 - September 1, 2008. The first time I stayed here it is okay with some problems. I reported these problems, I was promised they would be taken care of, and was invited back at a manager rate. I decided to upgrade my rate to club level. I wanted to surprise my wife with this trip. My wife and I stayed one floor below club level and had club level access. Check-in was disastorous and I should of left right then and there. First, their were no valet waiting. I had to literally get out of my car, walk inside, and request help. Second, the valet or bellman scratched my new Acura with a suitcase (I was able to buff this mark out though). At the front desk, the clerks (3 women) were busy. When they finished, they didn't say anything - I said that I wanted to check-in. The one woman took me and said I had a rate of xx and that it was a regular room - I told her I had club level access, which she had to get her manager to override the system. The problem was fixed in 1 minute (or I thought so). Their were problems throughout the day like the waiter at the Linger Longer Steakhouse paid no attention to us during dinner - just took our order and returned a few minutes later with our bill! The club level is nothing great, the staff don't even care or recognize your even there. I saw a child take a spoon, lick it clean, and put it back in the ranch dressing bowl. When I reported this to the staff, they didn't care and let the kid keep doing it. Do not eat in the club level! I reported them to the health advisory board. When we decided to check out the last day, my bill room rate was again incorrect and again I had to argue with the front desk in fixing it. Overall, I will never stay here or at any Ritz Carlton again (please see my review for Ritz Carlton, Downtown Atlanta). Save your money, it is a different kind of crowd here and the staff does not care about your comforts or your happiness.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AcworthConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2008

It's a Ritz Carlton; what more can you say? Who would have thought that a Ritz could be a hit in the middle of Georgia on Lake Oconee? I'm convinced. The hotel is amazing. The style, the feel, the service, everything. When you stay at a Ritz you expect great food, great service, great amenities and the "My Pleasure" approach to the guest experience. The Ritz at Reynolds Plantation delivered that and more. Breakfast at "Georgia" was first class, and Gaby's by the lake was the perfect location for a bar and casual restaurant. The Ritz/Southern style was a marriage in design, but it captured the true southern charm you would expect. The grounds are perfectly manicured; the rooms and sundries are first class. Bulgari soaps, shampoo's and lotions. Who wouldn't love bathing in Italian luxury? Of course we had to experience the spa, and what a treat. Great fitness center, and the lap pool was awash in an adirondack style with vaulted ceilings and exposed beams with a stacked stone fireplace at the end. I wasn't sure if I wanted to swim laps or relax and read a book. One of the best experiences you can have in the south is roasting marshmallows over an open fire and making s'mores. Worry not, as this is an evening event that all guests can enjoy in the center courtyard area around a large bonfire surrounded by teak wood chairs and nothing between you and the moon but a wisp of smoke and the smell of the true south. Middle Georgia can be a bit warm in the summer time, but you can be sure that I will be back there during fall/winter to experience the multitude of fireplaces scattered throughout the property. I heard that golf is great in the area, and with the number of courses in the area, I would say so, but unfortunately, I didn't play. Next time I will. And, YES, there will be a next time; for sure. To say I fell in love with this property is an understatment. Samantha Brown from the Travel Channel missed this little gem. If she brings back great hotels, I encourage her to take the plunge and experience one of the best Ritz properties in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troyp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My stay at the Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation was incredible.

The hotel offers an authentic lodge feel while maintaining the wonderful Ritz-Carlton standards. The staff is very welcoming, the rooms are very spacious and the grounds are breathtaking.

The staff at Gaby's is great. One server in particular new my preferences before I even had to ask.

This resort offers not a little, but Alot for all ages. Mom, Dad, and kids will all enjoy the Ritz-Carlton Lodge experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vrod88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this RC property on August 6 to August 7, 2008. We were stopping over on our way to Charleston, SC. We decided to stay here because it would complete our full RC experience in the state of Georgia. We arrived late evening and was kindly check-in by a young lady at the front desk. BTW the grounds are beautiful and driving to the resort, which is somewhat lengthly away from main roads and I-20 W made it peaceful. We were check-in promptly and I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite located on the 2nd floor (one floor below the lobby). I do not like staying on the lower floors of a hotel, but it was quiet that night and I didn't hear anything. The room was nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. At $219 a night, which included breakfast and valet parking I wasn't about to complain about room location. The front-desk, however, booked me under the wrong package and gave me resort credit by accident under someone's elses name. This situation was quickly resolved the next morning though. A few complaints, room service is tremendously slow. We decided to have dinner in our room and I don't think it was worth the wait. Even though my salmon was good, it was still not worth waiting 2 hrs for dinner when it is 9 pm at night. I will be writing them a letter on this matter. Also their was no "comment card" left in the room for me to fill out a mail in. Lastly, their was a chocolate smear on the 2nd floor wall, near the elevator buttons. I do agree with other reviewers that the cleanliness of the room and the hotel itself is not the best and needs to be worked on. Overall, it was a nice stop over and much better than your typical highway chain hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Last weekend my husband and I stayed at this hotel for our first anniversary. We are frequent RC users and have stayed at many in the past. But this stay stood out from the others. The staff at this resort was so friendly and we felt like celebrities there since everyone knew our name and why we were there. The pool is amazing with the lake in the background. Our room was spacious and every amenity we needed was there! At turndown, our housekeeper left rose pedals on the bed! For the price, the value is very worth it! What a fabulous destination! We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lsm5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed four nights at The Ritz Carlton Lodge at Reynolds Plantation. The service was unbelievable from the time we arrived at the front door until departure. We upgraded to the club level and the food presentations were wonderful, I highly suggest the upgrade to club level.
A must is to eat at Gabbys restaurant, it's an open air restaurant and bar overlooking beautiful Lake Oconee. It's very casual, shorts and sandals are welcome. One of the best things about the hotel is being casual and relaxing! We also ate at Georgias and Linger Longer Grill, Georgias breakfast and Linger Longers steaks are both incredible and the service was fablous.
I enjoyed the world class Oconee golf course while my wife was beieng pampered at the spa, both are must do's!
I highly recommend the Lodge at Reynolds Plantation, the best way to describe our experience is WOW.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mountainsGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

I have stayed at many hotels but none compare to the Ritz Carlton Lodge. The service is impeccable. The food is DIVINE. The pool is gorgeous! Ahmed was the most attentive pool server I have ever come in contact with. The room service was timely. I could go on for days!
I wouldn't stay anywhere else and I will tell all my friends and family about the wonderful service I experienced at this Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ccrossfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
4.9 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
69 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milledgeville
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
341 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Milledgeville
Hampton Inn Milledgeville
#1 of 10 in Milledgeville
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range: $356 - $1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. Our hotel in Greensboro, Georgia offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Ritz Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing