We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great lake resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great lake resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in August 2013 for a business convention. Very Quiet, peacefull and relaxing. Food was great, service great and accomidatioons top notch. I was with my wife and left the kids at home but next time we will take them with us as it seems like a great family resort. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    165
    65
    34
    21
See reviews for
219
293
10
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice accommodations. Staff was friendly and tried to please.They tried to provide activities and the hotel was very family friendly. They had wonderful 4th of July firewords. For the location found it to be extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a great place to spend Father's Day! The staff are simply incredible. They make you feel at home the minute you arrive. Our room had just been renovated. The food, the staff and the restful atmosphere helped to bring a sense of serenity to our whole family. Thank you Ritz Carlton for your wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: Be nice and people will be nice to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laudis1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Traveled here on business. Resort has excellent service and is absolutely beautiful! Only caveat, they need to invest in fly control. Ate 3 meals at Gaby's and when the food arrived, so did the swarm of flies. Also saw flies in meeting rooms, sleeping room bathroom and public bathrooms. Too upscale and beautiful a place to not have this nuisance controlled.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Georgia's Bistro

We had our anniversary dinner here and while it was not up to the standards of other Ritz Carlton restaurants. We started with the fried green tomatoes which were sliced so thin one could barely taste them for the batter and sauce. For the main course I had the trout that was overcooked and dry. The
topping had tiny dry crayfish and to many potatoes. My husband had a steak that was cooked to the proper temp. but not very flavorful however, the sauce was good.

Sauces can add flavor but sauces will not make up for mediocrity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

For years, we have been considering a visit to the Ritz on Lake Oconee but always decided against it. We live within a short drive of the resort.

This year, while looking for a last-minute trip close to home with the kids before school starts, we took the chance on this very pricey resort. We are glad we did. In random order, here are our thoughts.

The Good:

* Many things to keep you and the kids busy (motor boat rentals, canoes, kayaks, pools, lake swimming, fishing, playground, campfires with smores at night, biking, etc.).

* Rental boats are a highlight - the boats are clean, new and high quality. Watersports equipment and fuel are included in your rate. To be able to rent this high quality of a boat and not have to maintain it as your own, the rates are worth every penny.

* Helpful staff at every turn

* Clean, beautiful property

* Beds very comfortable; bathrooms spacious

The Minor Critiques

* We don't like the fact that this hotel is pet-friendly; I don't like the idea of sleeping in a room possibly used by a flea-infested dog.

* Drinks at the lounge, bar, restaurants, etc. are VERY expensive ($12-$16 each) and we found them to be watered-down and very lacking in alcohol volume - especially at the lobby lounge.

* Wifi is $10/day per device - RIP OFF! For the rates one pays at this place, Wifi should be free.

* Lunch fare at their lakeside casual restaurant, Gaby's, was good, but not great. I expect "great" from the Ritz.

Summary: The Ritz at Reynolds Plantation is a fun place, especially for families with children. Of course, you will pay Ritz prices and can easily find yourself nickel-and-dimed into serious money if you're not careful. For people like us who enjoy great value for high rates, just be aware of the critiques mentioned above. Overall, I recommend the Ritz Carlton at Reynolds Plantation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailaway094890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This pricey 5 star luxury hotel has become "pet friendly" and allows large and small dogs to stay in the rooms. There are dogs roaming all over the property and swimming in the lake. I like dogs but I don't travel with mine and don't like to see them at a nice resort such as this one. There was even a dog in lobby that is their token dog - he lives there. Summer months are busy and there are lots of kids so if you were looking for a quiet get away, this is NOT the place. They did have nice play areas for kids. Front desk personnel were great and very professional. The doorman were courteous but not nearly as impressive as they were when I visited it a few years ago. The rooms were nice and spacious, extra comfy beds, nice bathrooms but nothing screaming "luxury". The railing on the balcony had half the paint chipped off of it and the bare metal was showing through. Food and drinks were way over priced! $16 for a margarita in a plastic cup!! No thanks. They did have a concert outside on the lawn which was very nice although they only had about 70 chairs for 150+ guests. They did have blankets available if you wanted to sit on the grass. The pool was crowded and the lounge chairs were crammed in the deck area. I noticed some of the tile and grout on the edge of the pool chipped and grungy looking. Definitely needs to be pressure washed. The tiled deck area had some moldy slimy spots which also should be cleaned. THis is a Ritz Carlton property and everything should be pristine...not the case. Breakfast was just ok - it was a little busy and we waited quite a while to be served. Food was average at best, regular sized portions - over priced. We enjoyed our visit, especially since our room was complimentary but I would not pay the high prices to stay there again. They really need to step up their game or at least hire some good maintenance workers!

Room Tip: Facing the lake is nice but facing the golf course is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
4.9 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
7.6 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cuscowilla on Lake Oconee
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton on Lake Oconee, GA offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Ritz Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing