We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Ritz We've Been To” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Central Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Ritz We've Been To”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

There is plenty to do here for everyone for 5 or 7 days if you can afford it. Spa is open to all to everyone with a room; nice touch. On Lake Oconee with plenty of water sports; beach, jet-ski, fishing, wake-board,ski and we did tubing. Infinity-pool open 24 hours viewing the lake. Lots of families, couples, little ones and preggers mommas everywhere; lots of options. Pet-friendly too.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tounderpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    165
    65
    34
    21
See reviews for
219
293
10
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned yesterday from the Ritz-Carlton on Reynolds Plantation where we stayed for our 38th anniversary. We have been fortunate to travel a lot and stay in some of the nicest resorts and hotels but none can compare with our stay here. From the moment we arrived until we loaded up to drive home we were treated like royalty. We were greeted daily by any and all staff members, asked if there was anything we needed or wanted and just catered to our every whim. Passion, the lady that freshened our room daily, Derek who brought up our luggage and got us settled in, Matt, Matt, & Brock that waited on us at Gaby's and Linger Longer Steakhouse were awesome. Never have I ever received such special, first class treatment. We were greeted by name everywhere we went around the lodge and wished happy anniversary by everyone we had contact with during our stay not to mention all the special little extras that we're added to make our weekend one to remember. What a wonderful and amazing place that makes me proud to be from Georgia!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have high expectations when I stay at a Ritz-Carlton property and the Lodge exceeded every one of them. The staff was extremely friendly led by the resort's mascot, Dooley the Chocolate Lab. We enjoyed the infinity pool and swimming in Lake Oconee. We had breakfast both mornings in Georgia's Bistro and dinner both nights at Gaby's and had great meals. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The only drawback was that the Oconee and National golf courses are closed to resurface the greens and the Landing had its greens aerified. Make sure you call the golf concierge prior to booking to know if any of the courses have planned maintenance occurring.

We have found our lake retreat for years to come at the Ritz-Carlton at Reynolds Plantation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a lake view if you can although the resort view is beautiful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed 1 night as we traveled, but could have stayed a week. Excellent service and friendly people. We felt very welcome and relaxed and enjoyed everything we did. Service and meals at the restaurant were a 10. Really nothing but positives. Looked very kid friendly as well

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wofford79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We return to Reynolds Plantation as often as possible - including this past holiday weekend. Sure the remodeled rooms are exceptional. And the setting is spectacular. But what really keeps us coming back, trip after trip, is the service. It starts from the minute the valet walks up to warmly greet you. It continues at the front desk as they immediate treat you like a long lost friend. In the restaurants, there is no request too big or small - they'll do it all with smiles on their faces. The pool staff will make sure you never want to leave for the evening...but...when you do, you can rest assured that you'll be back to enjoy that same hospitality tomorrow. And the event staff - wow - they go out of their way to make every activity a blast for the whole family.

We often debate where we should go with the family when we have some time to get away. But we generally end up drawing the same conclusion. When you can drive only 1 1/2 hours from Atlanta and be treated like royalty, why go anywhere else?

Room Tip: We enjoy ground level rooms - you can walk right out the patio door and head to the pool or the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were at the Reynolds Plantation for a large (90+) family reunion over Memorial Day weekend and had a spectacular time! The Southern hospitality was incredible and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The food was great, facilities and rooms lovely and spacious, and there was something for everyone. Between the myriad water sports, golf, tennis, walking & biking trails, this was an ideal place for our family from babies to our elderly members. The pool area was very nice and didn't ever get too crowded. Spa facilities were also great.

Room Tip: Rooms and suites overlooking the lake were really optimal for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my second visit to the Ritz Lodge and the renovation is fantastic. The common areas are quite nice and the rooms have been redone in spectacular fashion. We had a standard double room but now the rooms have two queen beds instead of doubles which is nice if you are traveling with children. Bathrooms are quite large with a separate shower and tub. The pool area is awesome and the service there is great. Plenty of waiters to cater to your every whim including towel set up and poolside lunching. A big shout out to Travis, our waiter for two days, who took great care of us. There are lots of activities including fishing (you can catch them quickly) and the hotel provides the bait albeit at a $10 surcharge. Which brings me to my only negative remarks and the reason for the 4 star review instead of 5 stars.

First, when we called to rent bikes, we were told that there was a modest fee for the rental. When I asked how much, I was told $15 per hour. For a family of four, $60.00 is not exactly modest and after paying $400-$500 for a room with no real view, you would think that fishing, kayak and bike rentals would be included with the rate. They are in a majority of resorts. Still, we wanted to bike and were told that there would be an attendant there in 5 minutes. We arrived at the bike stand 3 minutes later and waited and waited and no one showed up. We inquired at the concierge desk and were told 5 more minutes. Again, nobody came to assist with the rental. Kids were bummed.

Also, I understand that when staying at a Ritz, you are going to break out the wallet. $16 for a margarita and $17 for a cheeseburger I expect but overall, I just felt nickle and dimed after dropping almost grand for two nights on the rate alone. $10 for internet that I did not use. Also, as other reviews have pointed out, charging $20.00 for valet parking is ludicrous given the fact that this property is in a rural area with plenty of parking. It's not like parking is at a premium out there in Greene County. $5.00 would be considerably more fair.

Overall, this is a fabulous property with a lot going for it. The renovation was superb and the staff is incredible. Service is top notch and the property is beautiful. Will still definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on a low floor allow immediate access to all of the outdoor activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
4.9 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
7.6 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cuscowilla on Lake Oconee
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton on Lake Oconee, GA offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Ritz Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing