We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“How this went from our favorite place to the worst” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How this went from our favorite place to the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I had this place at the top of our favorites as far as a getaway place to go. The property is beautiful and all of our experiences up to this point were superior! However, after our recent visit and me becoming violently ill just after consuming food on the property. We were told that the property couldn't do anything nor were they even apologetic because I didn't submit a stool sample to prove it was their food that caused the sickness. They never asked for one or said that they would need that or I would have been happy to provide one as it was clear that 30 min- 1 hour after consuming what I did, I become extremely ill and was stuck in the restroom for an entire day before starting to feel well again. I'm so disappointed in the way the situation was handled and expected so much more from the Ritz. Things like this happen but it's all in the way that it's handled that makes the difference for me.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank bucat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    165
    65
    34
    21
See reviews for
219
293
10
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a beautiful place! My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful, romantic long weekend at this resort. The setting is lovely, the accommodations are very nice, and the staff is very professional and accommodating. I highly recommend this resort, and look forward to returning !

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake! Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package to see the Masters and it included golf but no food. The property is amazing with lots of places for walking and a really great spa. We played the back 9 holes at Oconee course and thought it was one of the better 9 holes I've seen and I'd love to come back.
The hotel itself has super comfy rooms with nice bathrooms and an exceptional staff. Everyone there greets you each time you see them and wish you a great day or evening. We had trouble finding one of the restaurants and the staff member we asked for directions took us there in person.
We had breakfast both days at Gabby's and it was great both days with one proviso; my wife had asked for no onions or peppers on her breakfast the first day and it came out with them present. She informed the server, who did not take the order, and he took it back to the kitchen for a redo. Our waitress came over right away and apologized and said she had not put the order in right. Her food came out properly done and they also served a complimentary parfait with it. The food services manager also came over as he had seen one breakfast being served and wanted to make sure we were properly taken care of. He also only charged us for my breakfast and made sure my wife's was free.
We ordered the chininea dinner our second night there and even though they ask for 24 hours notice, we only ordered it that morning, they were able to accommodate us. Though it is not cheap we felt it was reasonable value and the whole dining experience on the water with the fire smoldering was great. We started with the anti-pasta platter and had the turf as our main which included one of the best steaks I have ever had. Highly recommended trying this for a romantic night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancee for little relaxation. The property is huge ...right on the water..and the infinity pool is to die for... I recommend the skinny mojito's yum! The walking trail around the resort is very scenic and peacefull as you unwind as you take it all in... the restuarant linger longer is 5 stars!! And the service is outstanding .... then walk back after dinner and enjoy a log fire while sitting the lounge listening to the piano bar....and ps... the golfing is great!

Room Tip: Corner suite facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyebigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spend a few days there during the Masters, which drove the price of the room up to skyhigh. Great hotel when you love to play golf. Rooms are oke, nothing special for $858, beds are good. Lake view is stunning. Housekeeping is knocking on the door at 8.15 am, a little bit early after a transatlantic flight! Starbucks is a nice upgrade for the hotel! Both Gaby's and Linger Longer are great restaurants. The filet mignon at the Linger Longer was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

If your planning a golf trip to the US you couldn't go far wrong by choosing to stay at the Ritz Carlton at Reynolds Plantation.It has a vast choice of some of the best courses you could wish to play all within ten minutes of the Hotel.Also if you need a bit of help with your game i would recommend you book a lesson with Charlie King at the academy,he must be one of the best instructors around and has some great video tips on you tube.
It is also a great base if your planning to go to next years Masters,it's an hours drive from Augusta but well worth it.

Room Tip: try to get a lake view and the family rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicko060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
Level Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Be prepared to be treated like a second class citizen if you elect to not valet park. The hotel price is reasonable and the rooms are nice, especially the rooms that do not have the parking lot view. They have put coffee makers back into the rooms since our last stay so that gets the property up to motel 6 amenities. Don't use the furniture in the lobby unless you don't mind getting dog hair on your clothes. Overall OK but nothing to go a long ways out of your way for.

Room Tip: Get the lake view and not the resort (parking lot) view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 04DTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
4.9 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
7.6 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cuscowilla on Lake Oconee
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton on Lake Oconee, GA offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Ritz Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing