We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs some upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but needs some upgrading”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here when it first opened a decade ago. We were surprised when we came back that there was much wear on the hotel. It felt a little Disney-ish. Staff was very nice. We went for New Years and the band was not great. They didn't even do a countdown. Missed the mark. It's more like a four star than typical five star Ritz. But they do try hard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allisoncdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    198
    83
    43
    30
See reviews for
304
374
13
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The furniture is scratched in the rooms and the couches in the lobby are looking thread bare these days. The place is looking 20 years old now and needs updating. Our bathroom was not sparking clean and the throw runs were not clean, shocking.
The location is lovely but update the place, not a good value for a Ritz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed at the Reynolds Plantation Ritz multiple times since it was built. This hotel is situated on a beautiful lake property with very cozy, comfortable rooms. But service can be very spotty and does not approach the old, traditional, pre-Marriott standard.

Issues on my recent trip included extremely long waits for the bell man to both deliver my luggage on arrival- close to one hour wait- as well as extended wait when we were leaving. Additionally, housekeeping was unreliable in showing up, except in the morning- very early on a Saturday.

A past stay included a yapping dog and very little response when I contacted the front desk.

This hotel has so much to offer, but expect service that is sub-par for many Marriott Resorts.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room with no dogs nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKGAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for a week over Christmas in one of the lodges and couldn't have hoped for a nicer stay. On arrival we were greeted by a Christmas tree in our room, the whole resort was in festive decoration and the staff radiated friendliness. The resort manages to be family- and dog friendly without any difficulties and everybody from front desk to housekeeping, concierge and restaurant staff are truly welcoming and helpful. Despite wintery weather the golf courses are just stunning and gym and spa are great facilities. The location is scenic and invites long walks with the dog, bicycling or obviously golf playing. The restaurants offer family friendly food without being overly ambituous in their menus and the food is plentiful.

Room Tip: the lodges are worth every penny: well appointed with great views of the lake and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubiquitous111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed spending the night at the Ritz for our anniversary. We were greeted with Champagne upon arrival and the service throughout our stay was excellent. The room was nicely decorated and the view of the lake beautiful. The grounds and amenities are wonderful and we really enjoyed the SPA area. SInce it was a quiet week night, we had the spa area to ourselves and it was so relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was here two nights for a seminar and a meeting beforehand. The rooms are quite luxurious and I had a beautiful lake view. The bed was superb. There were a couple of things that detracted from the experience though:

1. The weather was chilly when I was there, especially the first night. As time went on I noticed that one side of the room was hot and the other side was freezing. It turns out there is a fresh air vent in the room -- located on the opposite wall from the HVAC -- that runs all the time, not guest-controlled, and it was pumping massive amounts of FREEZING COLD AIR into the room! The heater on the other side was madly trying to keep up. I called to the desk and someone from building engineering came by. He was able to make some adjustments in the attic (he said) that raised the temperature of that airflow. So the problem was fixed, but why should anything like that be happening in the first place? It seemed to me like a design flaw rather than a random malfunction.

2. The internet service ($10/day) disconnected without warning once every hour. When I say once an hour, I mean so regularly you could almost set a clock by it.

3. There is a fine line between attentive and intrusive service, and it was crossed. I called for my car to go eat offsite and run a minor shopping errand. While I waited, one of the other valets asked me where I was going. None of your beeswax! I am OK with "Do you need directions anywhere?" but "Where are you going" is inappropriate.

4. Housekeeping was knocking on doors before 9 AM. That should not happen anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have eaten at all of the restaurants at the Ritz Carlton on Lake Oconee from the formalness of Georgia's to the lake side, outdoor atmosphere of Gaby's. We have also been at very large parties in the ballroom. Most recently was a wonderful Christmas dinner party. Even for a large crowd of 300+, the food and service were excellent. We highly recommend a stay and dining at the Ritz Carlton On Lake Oconee.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are well worth the aded cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelers31024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
5.0 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
7.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
64 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milledgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
317 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton on Lake Oconee, GA offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz Greensboro
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing