We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the lake!”
Review of Gaby's by the Lake

Gaby's by the Lake
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dining on Lake Oconee.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lunch on the lake!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We boated up to Gaby's by the Lake at the Ritz-Carlton Lodge. You cannot miss the Ritz Carlton sign on the lodge from the water. There is little space to dock, so try to avoid the lunch crunch by going earlier than 12pm or later than 1pm. There were 8 of us and we were greeted and seated promptly. Our waitress had several tables, but that did not keep her attention away from us. We ordered drinks and an appetizer, which she brought most expediently, then proceeded to take our lunch order. We had everything from hamburgers, to salads, to turkey wraps with chips, and sweet potato fries. NONE of us walked away hungry or unsatisfied. While the price tag may have been a little stiff, (~$36 per person for lunch), we had ordered specialty drinks and appetizers. The staff were very professional, the facility was clean from the restaurant to the bar to the powder room and we would most definitely go again for lunch on the lake!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    69
    26
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, reasonable for Ritz and pretty good”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a late lunch here. The facility is very nice, great views and food is pretty good and reasonable for the quality. Very nice bar and everything is outdoors with some covered seating. We really enjoyed our visit here and we will return soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mariettajoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
536 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Lake Side Dining”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Gaby's by the Lake is located next to the pool at the Ritz Carlton Lodge on Lake Oconee at Reynolds Plantation, and is a very good choice for lunch, provided you realize you are going to pay for the view, the Ritz name, valet parking, etc. It is an outside dining restaurant. All of that is built into the price of food. Example: A BBQ sandwich and a side item is $16. A bacon cheeseburger and a side is $17. I know I can get these sandwiches about anywhere for $8-$10 bucks. Sodas (free refills) are $3.50, again about $2 bucks anywhere else. Just know you will pay for the experience, and you can eat much cheaper elsewhere....but you won't get the lake view, nor will you have your car valet parked, etc. It is also a busy place since it is next to the pool, and it is a very busy, active place. It has a nice bar area that is covered, but open to the lake.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Ritz Service or Food Quality”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

30 plus minutes to get a drink. An hour to get your food. The food wasn't up to Ritz standards. Eat in George's, the Lobby or Room Service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasona1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't miss Gaby's!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are in the area, definitely get lunch at Gaby's. The restaurant overlooks the lake on the property of the Ritz Carlton. You can sit at the bar with the tv's, or you can sit away from the bar at some tables overlooking the lake. Definitely get the home made potato chips with the dip. They are so so good! The lobster grilled cheese is amazing, along with all their other sandwiches and salads.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaby's by the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Gaby's by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing