We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way too expensive for what you get”

Kiku Japanese Steak House
Ranked #94 of 248 Restaurants in Gainesville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Way too expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I had sushi, salad, and miso. No alcohol, and my wife had some sushi as well. I will admit that I ate a lot, but not anything approaching $100 for two. The sushi was at least fresh, but some of the pieces were bland and flavorless. I can say that they were busy, but service was slow and I would be embarrassed to have that as my representation of my best offerings. I will give it a second chance someday when I have an extra couple of hundred to spend on mediocre food and service

Helpful?
Thank 9753MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prices Hiked, way too expensive now!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I had been eating here three to four times a month. But after recent price hikes our family of four can't eat here for less than $120. The servers admitted price hikes of 25% on all sushi and rolls.
Also, all hibachi meals, wine, beer were raised too. We all felt the portions were smaller also.
what was a top 5 for us is barely a top 10 any more. We now drive to Buford to save $25 to $40 per meal. Service is average, meals aren't as good as Atlanta sushi places. Oh, watch out for a $7 plate sharing charge!
They know they are it in Gainesville an until they get competition, just watch your wallet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wakesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“sushi was pretty! not flavorful and very expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

i come to gainesville on a regular basis and was excited about the possibility of finding a great sushi place to get my weekly fix. the service was really slow and i never got a smile! i ordered a mojito to start and had to send it back...the bartender forgot the simple syrup...changer to a house glass of pino and all was well. first of all i like lots of ginger...lots of ponzu sauce...lots of wasabi...and lots of seafood sauce. the ponzu was not good and the seafood sauce was bad also. i ordered two specialty rolls and they just weren't very good. Since this was my first trip I always give a second chance. but my tab after tip was 44 dollars...a little strong for me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jubileepeyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My family's favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love KIKU's. It is our favorite place to eat. No other Japanese restuarant compares. Make an appt for afternoons or you might have to wait a little bit. Very entertaining!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blogger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
162 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Plentiful food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We tried Kiku for the first time on July 4th, coming in on the tail end of a busy dinner rush. We waited about 15 min for a seating and then had several long waits for our drinks, salads and soup. The ginger dressing was not as pronounced as in other restaurants and was thinner in consistency. Our chef was talented and entertaining but did not do as much as I have seen at other restaurants (nothing fancy with shrimp or the expected "volcano". The filet mignon was much more flavorful than the sirloin and I would spend the extra money for it. The shrimp, chicken and scallops were fine and the rice was nothing special. We did have to wait a long time for the accompanying desert (vanilla ice cream) and the check. Altogether, I would say that we spent an extra 20 min at dinner due to the lack of service. Would I go back? Yes, but I would not rush to do so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottbradford1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiku Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Kiku Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing