We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food to the max”
Review of Longstreet Cafe

Longstreet Cafe
Ranked #15 of 246 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort Food to the max”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First time to the Longstreet Cafe in Gainesville, GA. My two retirement buddies had our weekly luncheon here and all three of us thoroughly enjoyed the Southern comfort food they served. If you really like down home style Southern cooking you will really enjoy eating here. They are cafeteria/buffet style with a large variety of entrees and sides as well as salads and deserts. I had chicken livers with mac & cheese and black eyed peas. All cooked and seasoned to perfection. The dining experience was inviting and comfortable. The wait staff was friendly and efficient frequently offering refills and making sure we had everything we needed. We definitely have this one on our "return to list".

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiPockets_ATLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Country Cooking done right”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Longstreet is a Gainesville institution. An extremely popular local spot for breakfast. Cafeteria style dinning. You will leave satisfied. If you've never had a "cathead" biscuit you should try Longstreet biscuits. For those unfamiliar "cathead" is the size of the biscuit. Perfectly buttered work of art. Lunch and dinner are good but breakfast is pure excellence.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Cooking”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Home cooked meals, buffet style, children are comfortable there, food is delicious. Help is jus right in their attentiveness and helpfulness. Great place for families and couples. We go often...usually with many of our local family.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great country food!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

longstreet is a great place to eat for any meal.i love the breakfast the best.everything seems to always be fresh and prices are normal for this type of quality.lots of the older folks eat here,and they know real food when they see it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such good food!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love going to Longstreet to eat! It is such good home cooking! It is buffett style. You go through, get what you want, pay, and eat. The only waiting is in line. Don't let a long line run you off.....it is so worth the wait :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longstreet Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Longstreet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing