We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost spring” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Carter State Park

Don Carter State Park
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Georgia State Park offering camping, cottages, hiking, kayaking and fishing.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Almost spring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband led our family on another mystery tour to this gem. It's still winter but we see this is a fun park. The drive here passed some really nice homes and farms. The park has a nice visitor center and the staff was friendly and informative. There's a nice beach area with kayak and canoe rental in the warmer months.Trails galore and more on the way. There is even a paved trail for the handicapped wheelers. A nice playground with picnic tables and grills are near the beach area. The cabins are really nice for the overnight stays. We'll be back this summer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kuntrykruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach area is beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are planning a picnic this summer. The beach area has picnic tables, playground equip., restrooms. They have cabins to stay overnight or longer. A+ for this New State Park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ghsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another North Georgia Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Y'all are sooo lucky to have access to this chunk of land. Please treat it that way. I used to archery hunt this area in the Limbo days before it was a bona fide state park. It sure is pretty! Don't ruin it for yourselves.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Flex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First Day Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The US National Park Service had the "First Day Hike" today, commemorating the first day of the year. My wife and I were lucky enough to be in this group at the new Don Carter State Park in Gainesville Georgia. Located in a beautiful part of north Georgia, comprised of 1040 acres, on the north side of Lake Sidney Lanier, with rolling hills and gorgeous vistas. Matt, the assistant park manager, led us through the forest, down to the stream and around the lake. This area will eventually be a paradise for hikers and campers in north Georgia. Special thanks to Matt from Neil and Karen for giving us a wonderful time and a great tour with our group of intrepid hikers. It was a terrific way to start the New Year !!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don Carter State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Don Carter State Park is the Crown Jewel of State Parks in Georigia--there are activities for people of all ages and first class cabin accommodations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Carter State Park also viewed

 

Been to Don Carter State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing