We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay but HORRIBLE WI-FI & TELEVISION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home Towne Studios - Gainesville
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed February 23, 2012

First thing you should know is that the internet in my room was horrible. It went out all the time and was slow and difficult to connect to ALWAYS. The selection of television stations is just as bad. I went to another motel for two more weeks rather than live with the horrible internet provided and television stations. For what they lost just on my business, they could have paid for a better internet provider. The manager and staff admitted that the wi-fi is horrible and always is that bad. The neighborhood is sketchy, but I had no problems with parking or safety. There was noise from the road and a nearby street that could be annoying.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you like using the internet or watching television. Make sure to check the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM1470, General Manager at Home Towne Studios - Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

.
.
...AS OF NOVEMBER 8, 2012, THIS HOTEL CHANGED OWNERSHIP AND BECAME A FRANCHISED PROPERTY WITH CHOICE HOTELS. ANY PRIOR COMMENTS DO NOT APPLY...
.
.
.Scott, I so want to thank you for your comments regarding this property. Management and Staff did tell you the truth about the internet, and yes the television channels at this hotel were very limited.

Both have been upgraded. This was in process prior to our taking over this hotel. Finally... all has been completed!

The FREE wireless Internet is SLAMMING!

Television..., We now have over 100 cable channels, seven of them HBO channels!

Combine that with our fully equip kitchens, FREE local and US Long Distance calls, great rates, friendly staff, safe property, very reasonable nightly, weekly, and monthly rates, why would anyone want to stay anywhere else in Gainesville!

Scott, we thank you again for your comments and we hope that the next time you are in town or the area, that you will come back and stay with us so that you will be able to experience for yourself how much our Hotel has SO IMPROVED!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel maybe just ok for people who dont want to spend much money and know they are anyhow gone for most part of the 24 hours. But BEWARE- the hotel is NOT safe AT ALL, especially if you are staying with family. Drunk obnoxious criminal minded people knock at your door middle of the night and make lousy cheap gestures.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philytraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

i didnt like staying there because the channels sucked because there where only 17 channels and you have to pay a dollar for three tissue rolls, had to pay two dollars for bath towels and bath clothes and bed sheets, had to pay eight dollars for bed covers, didnt have housekeeping, why cant this place be like other motels when you can get bath towels and bath clothes and bed sheets and covers for free and the channels at the other motels are really good you get alot of channels and you get housekeeping. i didnt like staying there wouldnt do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This hotel served its purpose perfectly for a cheap place to stay right off the highway. We got there late one night and checked out early the next day. We had no problems whatsoever with service or the front desk, though we didn't ask for much. The rooms weren't dirty, but they were definately sparse and well worn. Though obviously made for "extended stays", I am not so sure I would be happy spending an "extended" amount of time here. The bed left a lot to be desired as far as comfort, and bring your own pillows as we had a king with only two pillows. Overall though, great cheap place to crash for the night, and nothing worth complaining about.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandonknarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

This hotel was below average. All the room were smoking which is the only extended stay hotel near gainesville that is. I should have known it wasn't too professional because everything you call the front desk no one is EVER there. When you walk into the room it is pretty small. The bed comforter is very hold and used. We went out and brought i cheap comforter which was alot better than the one that was on there. Most people there have been there for months and use the rooms as apartments. They say there is satellite tv but you only get 15 channels and the radio plays on the the tv. the wireless internet never work...oh yea, and the tv always went out.
When we tried to check out they told us we had to clean all the dishes. You would think that the the room maids would clean it.
So in my opinion if your looking for a cheap place to stay and live then this is the place for you. But if your just visiting from out of town you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank msdiva2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
0.5 mi away
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
#3 of 13 in Gainesville
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#1 of 13 in Gainesville
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ramada Gainesville
Ramada Gainesville
#6 of 13 in Gainesville
207 reviews
24.7 mi away
Crossland Studios Atlanta - Lawrenceville
Crossland Studios Atlanta - Lawr...
#10 of 11 in Lawrenceville
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 13 in Gainesville
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Towne Studios - Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Towne Studios - Gainesville

Address: 1115 Jesse Jewell Pkwy SW, Gainesville, GA 30501-6162 (Formerly Sun Suites of Gainesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $65 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Towne Studios - Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Gainesville, Georgia, Home-Towne Studios Gainesville offers affordable extended stay lodging accommodations for business and family travelers at a weekly rate. Home-Towne Studios Gainesville has 110 comfortably furnished guest rooms equipped with kitchenettes and living areas. The hotel has easy access to I-985, Lake Lanier, City of Gainesville, Olympic Rowing Venue and the Gainesville Medical Center. The hotel boasts a friendly staff and excellent customer service, for added convenience, the hotel provides free parking, Wi-Fi, and guest laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home Towne Studios - Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing