We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things are NOT as they look!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some things are NOT as they look!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The outside of the building looks fairly nice even the lobby is not bad..THAT is where it stops! Our room "one of their best" had sheets that didn't fit the beds, stained carpet,stains on the wall including what looked to be a blood stain & cracks in the popcorn ceiling. We are a family of 4...resv. was made for a family of 4 (2 adults & 2 children 16 & 14)We had to pay extra charge because our children were "Adults"! The chest of drawers (which the tv sat on) was missing part of it's front. The pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned all Summer (this is Aug.). We had to ask twice for extra towels & a blanket (which looked & felt like something that was used in the Civil War). No door sweep so there was about 3/4" gap between the floor & the bottom of our door...great entry for bugs! At one point I saw the "manager" (while on duty) sitting poolside with guest drinking a couple of bottles of wine! NO SMOKE DETECTOR!! Look at the photo's I took of this room.....Trust me...NOT Gainsville, Ga. at it's finest!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhburkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We can appreciate the fact that you were disappointed in our hotel because of some issues.

a. The new furniture to that room was in boxes and unfortunately we did not have time to replace it because of the large group checking into the hotel which was the group you traveled with.

b. We do apologize for the maintenance issues in the room during your stay, however I must state that what you said is blood on the wall is not blood, I inspected that myself and it was a scuff mark from a rubber sole.

c. I am the General Manager of the hotel and do not appreciate false accusations of drinking with customers while hanging out at the pool. When I was busy picking up breakfast supplies all three days for your group and being extremely flexible by serving the the breakfast from 4:30am to 9:30am each day for your group. When serving breakfast at 4:30am in the morning, it does not leave much time to drink in the evening and when getting off work at 7pm, I would rather be with my children rather than drinking at the pool.

I do apologize if the last paragraph sounds personal but I did not appreciate a false statement about the hotel or its staff.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    37
    23
    21
    11
See reviews for
49
23
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is clean, updated and priced right! We had an unfortunate experience at a hotel down the street and the people here went out of their way to see that they had a room available for us! We managed to make it from our unclean hotel room at s different hotel to this hotel within 30 minutes and they had already turned the air on for us and greeted us by our first names as we walked in! And to top it off they were completely booked due to a fishing tournament. We ended up with the last room! So all of this was done for us while they were busy helping the other customers too!!! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

The staff is very friendly, with pleasant and fast check in. Our room was in desperate need of a new carpet. The closest ice machine did not work and should have had a sign indicating such, and the location of the one that did work. In spite of these shortfalls, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casertast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will strive to improve in the areas of weakness. Our goal is always to improve all rooms within a short time frame so that the whole property is uplifted to a higher standard versus just one or two rooms.

Following are some of things we have done:

a. No Bed Spreads, all rooms now are free of bed spreads and are triple sheet-ed.
b. New Mattresses: 100% of our rooms are at mattresses less than 2 years old.
c. Flat Screen TV's: In progress, we have completed 25 of our 96 rooms with flat screens.
d. Carpeting: 90 of our rooms are less than 3 years old in carpeting.

Hopefully when you visit again, you will see a huge change.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

They are not many hotels within a good price range and also accepted pets, very clean room, nice location and they a lot of fast food restaurants around walking and driving distance. Room clean and big had a mriowave, refrigerator and a small blower. I was staying in a pool view and was convenient to be near it, even being in a pool view you don't hear noises so yes I would stay here again if I had to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrodrig217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel we do take a lot of pride in guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at the GuestHouse again about a month ago for two nights. It was supposed to be a week-long stay for surgery at a local hospital. When the surgery was canceled, the charge was changed to two nights so that I could leave without paying for the entire week as had been planned. Room was clean, quiet, and everything worked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great Stay for the ACRA Championship! Very hospitable employees, great rooms and close to the Lake Lanier Rowing Club. The best part was that we were able to come back and take naps during the break because of the location. We will see you next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The pictures are decepetive it's rundow and the rooms smell like cat urine. The hot tub in the photo's is gone. We were told it was "to much trouble" . The pool has the under water light literally dangling out. I'm sure this cannot be safe. The vending machine soda was 2$, and expired Jan 2011. Otherwise just a mess.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayfaringWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, Public Relations Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
We moved the guests' room after being notified of the odor and took measures to recitfy the situation. We then followed up with the guest after their move, and were told that they were satisfied with their stay and needed no further assistance. In regards to the hot tub, it was a management decision to remove the hot tub about the filming of the movie Hall Pass. We do not advertise that we have a hot tub at our property. To avoid further confusion I have uploaded a new photo of our courtyard pool that will be available for guests in the future. We do our best to ensure customer satisfaction at Guesthouse Inn & Suites, and would appreciate the opportunity to better serve you in the future. We would like to offer you a free night stay at our property if you are ever in Gainesville in the future to improve your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#1 of 12 in Gainesville
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Gainesville
Ramada Gainesville
#6 of 12 in Gainesville
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#2 of 12 in Gainesville
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Home Towne Studios - Gainesville
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Lanier Gainesville Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Lodge Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Lodge Gainesville

Property: The Guest Lodge Gainesville
Address: 520 Queen City Pkwy, Gainesville, GA 30501-6760 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Guest Lodge Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest Lodge Gainesville is conveniently located close to all Gainesville, GA attractions including the Lake Lanier Rowing Club, Road Atlanta and Chicopee Agricultural Center. We provide friendly, Southern hospitality and charm that is unique to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Guest Lodge Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hotel Gainesville
Guesthouse Inn And Suites
Days Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing