We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you get past the stink!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The pictures are decepetive it's rundow and the rooms smell like cat urine. The hot tub in the photo's is gone. We were told it was "to much trouble" . The pool has the under water light literally dangling out. I'm sure this cannot be safe. The vending machine soda was 2$, and expired Jan 2011. Otherwise just a mess.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayfaringWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, Public Relations Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

We moved the guests' room after being notified of the odor and took measures to recitfy the situation. We then followed up with the guest after their move, and were told that they were satisfied with their stay and needed no further assistance. In regards to the hot tub, it was a management decision to remove the hot tub about the filming of the movie Hall Pass. We do not advertise that we have a hot tub at our property. To avoid further confusion I have uploaded a new photo of our courtyard pool that will be available for guests in the future. We do our best to ensure customer satisfaction at Guesthouse Inn & Suites, and would appreciate the opportunity to better serve you in the future. We would like to offer you a free night stay at our property if you are ever in Gainesville in the future to improve your opinion of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

Clean, well maintained and helpful staff! I stayed here March 16th through 22nd, 2012 and it was great! Actually I was part of a whole group of 36, I am a volunteer coach and our whole team stayed here, approximately 15 rooms. We all had clean rooms and very friendly service. The entire property is kept neat and well maintained. All of our rooms were non-smoking, they had refridgerators in the rooms and everything was tidy and in working order.
We are planning to stay here next year because we had such a positive experience!

Room Tip: My room was directly on the courtyard around the pool. I had no issues with noise but I imagine it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I visited Gainesville, GA for a Marriage conference on 2/23/2012 to 2/26/2012 and chose this hotel because the reviews seemed good. With great hopes after reading many of the reviews, we were very disappointed. When we got there the desk person was VERY NICE and welcoming-however, the ROOM was HORRIBLE. It smelled of SMOKE our entire weekend. We called to get new blankets and have things changed out (which they did) but the smoke MUST have been in the carpet and walls because I would not leave. We did not check out because the hotels in the area were sold out due to the conference so we were STUCK in this room and SMELLING like SMOKE all weekend long. WHen we got home- everything reaked of smoke... I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelifeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Dear Guest, The reservation for your room came directly from third party booking engine as a smoking queen handicap room. Upon your request we were able to move the reservation to a smoking king room and there may have been error in communication. However, we were also sold out the night of the 02/24/2012 and that could not have moved the room to a non-smoking.

We would encourage you to make the reservation ahead of time since your reservation was made on the 02/21/2012 for a very busy weekend. If you are coming to Gainesville, GA in 2013 for the same event please call us directly and we will be more than happy to put you in non-smoking room and show you a true representation of our Non-Smoking Rooms. Also we will like to extend a discount of 50% on your next stay to change your experience.

We will look forward to hearing back from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Check in was slow but friendly. We didn't mind sincee they were very busy. Our room was adequate albeit very dated, worn, and in need of a good renovation. It looked clean at first but later we found dead bugs on the floor (large moths), hairs all over our sheets and a lot of "nook and cranny" built up scum and dirt. The room could use a deep cleaning. I'm not sure why this hotel has such a high rating. Our toilet constantly ran and took three flushes to work after using it. Ultimately the sheets were changed and toilet fixed, however, i find a dirty and unmaintained room unacceptable. We will not return here.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithandmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

I am sorry to hear that the guest was displeased with our rooms. Most of our rooms i.e. 75 rooms out of 98 have been renovated and due to logistics the remainder of the rooms will be upgraded by end of March 2012.

We will like to extend an offer to the guest at 50% of our Daily Rate to come and try us again and see if we can change their mind about our property.

Our people are nice because they believe in the rooms they are putting the guests in and is a reflection of the property and we will like to change your opinion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at the motel for two weeks in January of 2012 following surgery. It was a clean room and quiet other than an occasional booming from cars going thru the drive-thru at McDonalds. The rate for a week was $179 plus taxes, which is a good rate for long-term motels in Gainesville. The manager said that rate isn't available during busy periods (rowing competitions, etc.). The wi-fi worked great most of the time but did have a couple days when it didn't work so well. I don't understand why motels have such a hard time providing competent wi-fi to all rooms. It happens even at the nice places.

Room Tip: You might hear noise from the McDonalds drive-thru at night. BOOM BOOM from car stereos. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thank Your for your review! Hospital in Gainesville provides us with a lot of business, we take extra measures in making sure that any guest from the Hospital gets a downstairs room that is convenient to the lobby and access to their car!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel rooms are older but still very nice and big. The staff is amazing. They are beyond friendly, nice, and super helpful. The prices are extremely reasonable. It is a great location, seconds from Downtown. They also allow dogs which is very helpful when traveling. Each room has a mini fridge and microwave which comes in handy. If you are going to need an extended stay hotel, this hotel, since it does not have an on site work out area, has a gym memebership to REALLY nice gym right down the road that you can check out the key to. Great idea!! I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling in the Gainesville, GA area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany7564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanierInn, General Manager at The Guest Lodge Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

We will like to thank you for providing us with a great review! Our goal is to provide every customer with an experience like yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

When traveling to Gainesville, GA with pets, the Guesthouse Inn is your best bet.
Older hotel with no frills, just clean and convenient.
Jason at the desk sure makes you feel right at home. He is one of the best front desk workers I have ever come across, even compared to 5 Star rated hotels.
They have a small light breakfast that is good. The waffle mix for the waffle machine was excellent, tasted better than IHOP or Waffle House.
Made my reservation on-line and there were no surprises checking in or out so reserve with confidence.
Will stay here again when traveling with my dog.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GetYouSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#1 of 12 in Gainesville
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home Towne Studios - Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Gainesville
Ramada Gainesville
#7 of 12 in Gainesville
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gainesville
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flowery Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Lodge Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Lodge Gainesville

Address: 520 Queen City Pkwy, Gainesville, GA 30501-6760 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: $71 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Guest Lodge Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest Lodge Gainesville is conveniently located close to all Gainesville, GA attractions including the Lake Lanier Rowing Club, Road Atlanta and Chicopee Agricultural Center. We are focused on delivering true southern hospitality experience through our exceptional rooms, great service, fast WIFI, great breakfast choices, and our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Guest Lodge Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn And Suites
Guesthouse Hotel Gainesville
Days Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing