We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, bad breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good, bad breakfast”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Overall I would recommend a stay at this Hilton property. Check-in was smooth and they accommodated us by giving us a room on the end of the floor (unfortunately, it was next to a stairwell and the door slammed a few times when we were sleeping but seeing as we asked for a quiet end unit, can't completely fault the hotel for this). We appreciated the fact that we could walk over to Longhorn for dinner and we liked having access to a computer & printer since we hadn't brought our laptop. The one experience we would not repeat is having breakfast at the hotel, which although it's convenient, it's completely disorganized & it was hard to find anything in the buffet that had any taste. I finally grabbed a box of Apple Jacks out of desperation. I tried everything but the bacon before I did this and even ordered an omelet, just bad. No one greeted us when we arrived and we didn't even see a person for the first 5 minutes as we tried to figure out what to do as far as ordering eggs or an omelet. When we checked in, the man stressed the fact that they had cooked to order egg items so we figured it would be passable at least. Danishes were tasteless and cold, barely thawed out. In the 30 minutes we were there, never saw a person manning the waffle station so that was out. Coffee urn was empty. Omelet was filled with overflowing unmelted orange cheese. Not sure where else you could go that's close, but it's worth asking someone. It seemed understaffed and it's a shame because the hotel lobby is quite nice and with better management (and quality food), this could be an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    132
    53
    15
    8
See reviews for
167
95
18
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is pretty clean, beds are comfortable. Breakfast is $10 which is expensive IMO but it's good. The room service food is marginal at best but the service is good. Stick with the Mobley burger. I ordered a few dinners and that was the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLALLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I stay at HGI 80% of the time?in general they are very much the same with each one with their own special thing.

This location has been upgraded recently(if the front doors have the white lines or vines on the door,you know it has been upgraded. Staff at desk were nice,room was nice as well.

The one thing that stood out were the very nice wait staff in the morning the girls wee so sweet! Now to the food.
The hot food except eggs were self serve.the cleanliness and the quality were above other locations.

Potatoes had vegetables cooked in with them (sautéed instead of fried)like most locations.

The grits,which I haven't seen at other locations had excellent flavor and texture.
Biscuits were protected so they were warm and not dried out.
Overall,great experience

Why stay here? Gainesville is a small town with local hotel/motels.
You know what you get when you stay here
Why not N/A

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Traveling to Gainesville on a regular bases I look forward to staying at the Hilton Garden Inn. The accommodations are very nice plus they have a great breakfast bar in the morning! The staff is very helpful and the internet access is free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Millswinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville has been like a trusted friend all the years that I have stayed here. You can count on friendly service in a clean professionally maintained hotel. It is the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Has all of the amenities you need and more....
Indoor/outdoor pool and a small hot tub
Exercise room and business center
Comfy beds and good size bathrooms
Clean, quiet, good place to eat too
Great convenient location
Friendly staff who are very helpful
These hilton garden inns are perfectly priced - better than average hotel styles, nicely decorated too
Join hilton honors program too - earn free nights :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Momsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel staff were superb, accomadations great, atmosphere inviting. It was an excellent hotel and food was good and plentiful. The pool is a bit small and the hot tub is very, very small...an after thought almost. Parking was good and restaurants were near hotel. Best night's sleep I have had in a long time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gainesville
1.2 mi away
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
#5 of 12 in Gainesville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Gainesville
Ramada Gainesville
#6 of 12 in Gainesville
175 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Lanier Gainesville Hotel & Suites
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flowery Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Address: 1735 Browns Bridge Rd, Gainesville, GA 30501-4723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing